We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great accomodation, very good food and an overwhelming hospitality. Man thanks to Werner who made us feel like a friend not like a guest !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beaverK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

Great tour given with a lot of gusto - well described with a lot of enthusiasm and interest in and knowledge of the subject as well as general South African history. Travel from historic site to historic site was set at just the right tempo and conveyed the sense of a great historic event unfolding. Also a lot of broad sweeping and breathtaking landscape taken in during the tour.

The lodge itself is very well appointed and looked after with a great deal of care. Despite it's apparent isolation it has surprisingly good amenities. Rooms were very clean and decorated in a contemporary and welcoming manner. Meals served were imaginative, well prepared and service was faultless.

The hosts were very friendly, approachable and made the whole stay pleasurable and are obviously very enthusiastic about the history and also the landscape and people of that area.

It was a welcome interlude from the World Cup mayhem during the rest of our stay in South Africa! Just a shame that the Brazil Portugal match in Durban was a bit flat later!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for us. We are very pleased that our staff have made your stay a memorable one. We hope we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Rorke's Drift Lodge was the first place I stayed for my 10 day tour of South Africa and set the standard in which I compared the rest of the places I stayed to. I was welcomed by the dogs and Allison. My battlefields tour with Paul was excellent. The food was incrediable and I loved how how the guests were seated at a communal table. The conversation was great. Allison was attentive, but never intrusive. The room were I stayed (the tower) was beautiful and the electric blanket on the bed was definately used. When I come back to South Africa I will be staying at Rorke's Drift Lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmk077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

It is always gratifying to discover that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that they are willing to let us know! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Superb facilities, we had a very enjoyable stay. The Battlefield Tour was very informative & the Guide was excellant

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fox348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for letting us know! We hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Beautiful location, very frindly, caring and accommodating staff. Great facilities. Great rooms. Great food. Very quiet, tranquil and beautiful setting. The horse riding was great fun and the battlefield tour was amazing and truely an essential part of the visit. The guide was just brilliant and I learned a lot.
I will definately be coming back with family and friends in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireman_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

We are so pleased that you are willing to spread the word. Our staff are always trying to make our guests stay as memorable as possible and this feedback gives them the assurance that they are on the right track. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This lodge is situated five kilometres down a challenging dirt track which is punctuated by encouraging signs, assuring you that your car can do it! When we arrived, there was nothing not to like. The house is set on a terrace with beautiful views beyond the horse corral whic is situated at the end of the rolling lawn. The welcoming two-tone fruit drink, the plunge pool set into the stone terrace and the opulence of our accommodation had us ooohing and aaahing. The comfortable beds, the finest bed-linen and the electric blankets ensured an excellent (and cosy) night's sleep. The following morning my daughter, Caoimhe(an experienced rider), went for an early moring horse ride with Werner through the bush on the estate. She said that the horse was one of the nicest she had ever ridden and that she saw lots of wildlife identified and pointed out by the experienced and knowledgeable Werner. After breakfast, Werner took us on a tour of the
battlefields which was fascinating and sad in equal measure. The two members of staff with whom we dealt were Werner and Rika who were attentive in an unobstrusive way. Dining is at a communal table and the food was excellent, particularly the homemade soup. We were sorry that we weren't staying a second night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aifric10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for sharing this with the world. We hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

What a fantastic lodge! The rooms, the views, the food, the atmosphere and the staff are all first rate. We didn't have any problems navigating the dirt road to the lodge and we had a small rental car. The dogs and Rika greeted us. The dogs with affection and Rika with a lovely smile and wonderful fruit drinks. Our tour of the battlefields with Paul was harrowing and quite memorable. Rika is simply fantastic in every way. She is a fine cook, her soups and desserts were divine! Her kindness, professionalism and helpfulness were great! We loved our stay at this lodge so much that we know we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Thank you for this review! We hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
214 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
141 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing