We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg , South Africa
1 review
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a wonderful two nights here. The accommodation was comfortable and the views very good, friendly dogs and horses roaming free allows one to connect with the surroundings. A great place to get away from the hustle-and-bustle

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StephenGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    44
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
123
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Do not be put off by the long, windy, bumpy entrance to the lodge. Once there you relax in comfortable, clean, large, stylish rooms and soak up the 180 degrees views over the garden and a wonderful valley. Guests can self cater. We enjoyed the home made meals served outside around a brazier generating enough warmth 2 mornings & evenings this June. Besides visiting the historical sites in the area, we did several good walks from the lodge.

Room Tip: if you do not like stairs do not take the round room up in the converted water tank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Holidaying in South Africa and visiting Rorke's Drift we had the good fortune to book 2 nights at R.D Lodge. We enjoyed luxury accommodation in a one bedroom unit and our travelling companions in the apartment with kitchen facilities, where we gathered for breakfast and BBQ (brai) evening cook-ups! Very well setup kitchen for self catering with the option for meals provided from the main house. Fabulous views from the units. Our host Christy was charming and very helpful, managing to get us into one of the guided tours of the battlefields next morning which we had forgotten to pre-book! Try to get on the tours run by Paul Garner, he will keep you spellbound all day explaining the battlefields around Rorke's Drift.
The road experience added to "the authentic African experience"!!!
We wished we had a week to stay, relax unwind and just look at the view!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the self catering apartment-great setup
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patcol55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a stunning location, amazing rooms surrounded by the most amazing open countryside in all directions. The staff were friendly, efficient and always with a smile on their faces, they simply couldn't do enough to make you feel more welcome. The food was delicious and plentiful, freshly cooked, served at a time of your choosing with a different and varied menu each day. Go for a horse ride too, I'm certainly no John Wayne but Christine (the guide) was great, informative and made it all very easy. Don't let the road's put you off either, we did the drive there in a vw polo with no problems. Rorke's Drirft is at the end of the road and Isandlwana is an hour(ish) away. Both well worth a visit and the countryside is beautiful. The only grumble I'd have is that they only have three stars above the door to reception - it simply isn't enough!!

Room Tip: Go for the converted water tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve and assess what our guests like. We are very pleased to have shared a little bit of our heavenly experience with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We wanted to visit the famous battlefields of the Anglo-Zulu War and it turned out that Rorke's Drift Lodge is ideally situated to visit the two most famous sites namely Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift. We were captivated by the stories of local guide Paul Garner. Our chalet was very clean and comfortable, the setting and views beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My children loved the dogs. All in all we thought it excellent value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We value your input and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at RDL at very short notice, and was really impressed with everything I saw. The units have clearly been a labour of love, and are not only clean and well maintained but have character also. The reception was great and I really felt as if the owners were bending over backwards to look after me. The farm track to get there is interesting, but easily accessible for most cars (I did it in a Ford Figo).

Would definitely recommend the tour guide Thulani. He has an excellent relationship with RDL and delivers the batlefield history with a lot of passion (especially good for the oft-ignored Zulu perspective). A great stay all-round.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Once you get over the 4.8 km of dirt track to get there; it really is a little gem. The owners have thought of everything, all the small touches that make a stay enjoyable and in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
83.2 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Property: Rorke's Drift Lodge
Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing