We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rorkes Drift Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spend one night at Rorkes Drift Lodge - far too short! My husband, my son and myself visited the Battlefields and needed a place to stay overnight. The accommodation at Rorkes Drift Lodge is absolutely fantastic. The setting and the ambience is wonderful. The accommodation is really top class, modern appliances in the self-catering chalets - I am very impressed. The decor and paintings are brilliant. Sitting on our private verandah looking out at the view was great. Sunsets and sunrise with birds all around - what a gem!! The owners are very accommodating and friendly. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and felt at home. The rates for accommodation is very reasonable for what you are getting - very affordable. What an amazing place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TanyaStone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's hard to find fault with this unique lodge which enjoys stunning views over the South African landscape. We used it as our base to visit the battlefields of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift - ideal as far as we were concerned, as we spent the evenings on our private terrace - time to reflect on what we'd seen whilst enjoying the magnificent scenery and wonderful home-cooking. Don't let th challenging 5km drive up the 'farm track' put you off - it's well worth it! It was amazing value too. Why stay anywhere else? Many thanks to Christine, Shane and the team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Indeed we are isolated and we love to highlight the fact that this is a get-away-from-it-all type of destination. Somewhere we the sould can find some peace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The welcome and the accommodation were wonderful. Dinner/breakfast is served in the accommodation and were excellent. After a long drive the road was a bit of a shock, the last couple of km in particular, very very uneven we had a Qashqai fortunately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Rorkes Drift Lodge and it was a truly exceptional experience.
We loved the fact that the Lodge is secluded and yet not that far from the battlefields.
The staff were efficient and friendly without being intrusive,and it really makes you feel that you are the only people at the Lodge.
The Food is first class, the views are absolutely stunning. (the Isandlwana mountain can be seen from the lodge)
The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable with all the facilities to make your stay comfortable.
I would happily recommend the lodge to anyone.

Room Tip: either of the two units will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Rorkes drift lodge and the only negative thing we can say is that it was way too short!
The accommodation is simply fabulous and attention to detail is high. Nothing was too much trouble and certainly recommend that you have all meals at the lodge. These are delivered to your own unit by lovely staff and everything is home made ( I trained as a chef so know good food).
A few comments have been made about the track up..... please be aware the track is quite an adventure but as long as you negotiate this at the recommended speed on 20kmh then you will have no trouble. There are great little signs en route to encourage you on ;-).
Please don't attempt in a low base car as you will wreck it! We hired a small car and it was fine... just go easy! The owners do make you very aware of the track so please don't give them a hard time when you arrive as it is sooooo worth it when you get there.
The owners do have the most adorable dogs, but please don't worry if you are not dog lovers as they adapt to all guests and will keep them away if you have concerns.
Chris and I can't fault the running of RORKES DRIFT LODGE in any way and will definitely be booking again but for longer this time. Thank you so much for the most amazing time, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

One of the best eastablishment I have been fortunate enough to spend a couple of nights in.
Top class food! Both in quality & presentation.
Superb views and very tranquil. Just ther spot for a breakaway.
My only word of advice is not to travel the road to the lodge after dark. It can be a bit daunting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorke's L, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Indeed we agree about travelling in the area after dark. No street lights to guide you and very little in the way of help should you get into trouble. We agree with you wholeheartedly and emphasize to any guest wanting to visit that this advice is very sound indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here as we wished to visit the battlefields. We stayed in self catering,which was very well equipped , with spacious bedroom, large walk in shower with views which are hard to beat.
Whilst it's a bit of the beaten track, this should not put you off and would recommend Rorkes Drift lodge to anyone.
The staff are attentive without being overbearing and offer menus if you wish to have meals cooked for you and delivered to your lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Blackisle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
214 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
141 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing