We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

After a 5 hour car trip from Jo'burg, and the last 5 kms on the farm track rather bumpy, this was just heaven! So peaceful and such an amazing view. We spent 3 nights there and were looked after extraordinarily well; all the staff (it's small so there were not that many) were very nice indeed and the hostess was first class, as was the food. All in all I would strongly recommend this Lodge as compared with the more famous and more commercial joint up the road.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms; go for one of the separate buildings rather than those in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    44
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
123
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

What a fabulous experience! Food, room and everyone at the Lodge made this a wonderful place for exploring the battlefields and horseback riding.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamBDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Rorke's Drift Lodge as a base to visit the local battlefield sites. The access track from the highway was a bit of an adventure and we were glad to be travelling in a vehicle with reasonable ground clearance. However, the remote location of the lodge is ideallic with tremendous views of the surrounding countryside. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation comfortable and clean. The meals deserve a special mention being based on local dishes but prepared with a touch of haute cuisine - delicious. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My son (21) and I spend two nights at Rorke's Drift Lodge. We drove from Johannesburg airport and arrived after a 5 hour drive at the lodge without any problems (the acess track is bumpy and higher clearance certainly helpful).

The lodge grounds are very well kept and provide a tranquil oasis with great views in a remote part of KwaZulu-Natal. Christine and her team are very friendly and helpful in every respect. Food (and wine) are very good, prepared with care and attention to detail.

We went on an extended battlefield tour with Paul Garner the next morning - cooperation between the lodge team and guide well organised (although packed lunch could have been somewhat lighter fare).

Best experience was having evening drinks on the terrace with a view of the Isandlwana battlefield in the distance. A very nice touch was the open fire lit in front of the terrace. The lodge also has small but well sorted library, dedicated primarily to history of Zululand and South Africa.

Why does Rorke's Drift Lodge not get an "Excellent" rating from me ? Our room was certainly acceptable in such a remote part of the country, but did not live up to the standard of the rest of the lodge (and the price level). It was dark, view of the back of the parking lot, sanitary installations somewhat run down and strange (toilet placed in front of the large window).

We would definitely like to return, but would certainly be more diligent in the choice of room next time.

There are essen

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austrian_Traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

With friends and family - a superb location to find a special part of South Africa. Not difficult to get to - just a little effort with dramatic and worthwhile results. Accomodation was excellent,food outstanding and creative and the staff a pleasure. Set on the side of a mountain remote enough to feel extra special and exclusive. Views from the Lodge are never to be forgotten .

Room Tip: All but one room has a view of the valley and the battlefields. All very quiet and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in November as the base to see Rorke's Drift (the film Zulu with Michael Caine).

I will start with a quick word of caution, this hotel is 3 miles up a very bumpy track, you may find this difficult in a medium or large saloon car. Whilst you don't need 4wd drive the ground clearance is useful or a short wheel based car is ok, which the owners drive.

However, don't let this put you off because it is worth it when you get there and for a nominal charge the hotel can ferry you up and down the track and leave your car at the bottom.

We received a warm welcome on arrival from the owners daughter who now runs the lodge with some help from her husband, a former game park ranger.

This was a recurring theme with nothing being too much trouble, from dealing with left items at our previous hotel to giving us fuel for the car because we had run out. Someone was always there and willing to help.

Our party had two rooms, one a single story self contained lodge separate from the main lodge. The room was clean and tastefully furnished with separate bathroom and outside terrace. The view from the bathroom (and terrace) were amazing overlooking the Buffalo river valley and Isandlwana in the distance plus they were East facing for great sunrises.

The second room was also separate from the main lodge and was built on two levels. There was a short stairway up to the door with a small outside terrace also looking out Eastwards. The bathroom in this room was downstairs down a tight and steep spiral staircase, if you are slightly immobile or need numerous bathroom trips I wouldn't recommend this room but otherwise it was again clean and well furnished.

Dinner is included (it's a long way to anywhere from here), if you are expecting fine dining then you will be disappointed. What you do get is proper South African food and recipes cooked by local people. The dinners were tasteful, extremely well cooked and beautifully presented.

We really enjoyed our short stay here, it is such a beautiful and tranquil location with great views complimented by wonderful hosts.

If you want to visit the area I can definitely recommend Rorke's Drift Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Booked on a recommendation and we were delighted with every aspect (well the radio in the Kitchen was a bit loud and omni-present, but hey-ho). Our Room (Kubili) was fabulous, stylish and beatifully appointed, but not for anyone with mobility issues - stairs to bathroom downstairs are very steep. Food excellent. Decore and furnishings clearly reveal a degree of taste not encountered to often in Lodges - an Artist lurks in these parts, and a very good one at that. Setting - gorgeous. Sadly at 37C and a bit hazy at this time of year the view was slightly impaired. A few storm clouds threatened and on one day, we had some very very low cloud - sat on Isandlwana Battlefield shivering !! Super walks birding (lost track of how many Species we saw and heard within the grounds) and one early stroll up the hill behind the Lodge. Fascinating stories of Blood River, and Battles of Isandlwana & Rorke's Drift - lost of myths exposed (Pay the money and take a Private Guide - far better value and more personal and interesting). Most enlightening too. 3 Dogs are omnipresent, but soft, playful and very friendly - 2 joined us for our walk. The drive is both long (almost 5 kms) and wickedly rough - you don't need a 4WD or a 2x4, as we had a Toyota Camry (awful thing), but with care it did not come to any harm. Strongly commend arrival is during daylight, besides sunset is quite stunning. We drove for miles to get here (from Pilgrim's Rest in Draks) and at 500+ kms, it really was far too far (my fault). Beware the N 11 has some significant roadworks (20 min delays waiting for the lights to change ie), so allow extra time, particularly North of Newcastle, Volkrust up to Carolina. I would expect this to be a pertinent observation, based on the extent of the works, for about 2 years.

Room Tip: Kubili - IF you're a fit, mobile and a romantic couple, who like peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
83.2 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Property: Rorke's Drift Lodge
Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing