We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Penryn B&B(Dundee)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
210
55
7
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
55
7
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringspiral staircasehonesty barhorse ridingfarm trackaccess roaddirt trackbattlefield tourpre orderconverted water towervw poloapproach roadwe loved our staybeautiful locationfriendly dogslow slungfell in love
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 276 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

With friends and family - a superb location to find a special part of South Africa. Not difficult to get to - just a little effort with dramatic and worthwhile results. Accomodation was excellent,food outstanding and creative and the staff a pleasure. Set on the side of a mountain remote enough to feel extra special and exclusive. Views from the Lodge are never to be forgotten .

Room Tip: All but one room has a view of the valley and the battlefields. All very quiet and secluded
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in November as the base to see Rorke's Drift (the film Zulu with Michael Caine).

I will start with a quick word of caution, this hotel is 3 miles up a very bumpy track, you may find this difficult in a medium or large saloon car. Whilst you don't need 4wd drive the ground clearance is useful or a short wheel based car is ok, which the owners drive.

However, don't let this put you off because it is worth it when you get there and for a nominal charge the hotel can ferry you up and down the track and leave your car at the bottom.

We received a warm welcome on arrival from the owners daughter who now runs the lodge with some help from her husband, a former game park ranger.

This was a recurring theme with nothing being too much trouble, from dealing with left items at our previous hotel to giving us fuel for the car because we had run out. Someone was always there and willing to help.

Our party had two rooms, one a single story self contained lodge separate from the main lodge. The room was clean and tastefully furnished with separate bathroom and outside terrace. The view from the bathroom (and terrace) were amazing overlooking the Buffalo river valley and Isandlwana in the distance plus they were East facing for great sunrises.

The second room was also separate from the main lodge and was built on two levels. There was a short stairway up to the door with a small outside terrace also looking out Eastwards. The bathroom in this room was downstairs down a tight and steep spiral staircase, if you are slightly immobile or need numerous bathroom trips I wouldn't recommend this room but otherwise it was again clean and well furnished.

Dinner is included (it's a long way to anywhere from here), if you are expecting fine dining then you will be disappointed. What you do get is proper South African food and recipes cooked by local people. The dinners were tasteful, extremely well cooked and beautifully presented.

We really enjoyed our short stay here, it is such a beautiful and tranquil location with great views complimented by wonderful hosts.

If you want to visit the area I can definitely recommend Rorke's Drift Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Booked on a recommendation and we were delighted with every aspect (well the radio in the Kitchen was a bit loud and omni-present, but hey-ho). Our Room (Kubili) was fabulous, stylish and beatifully appointed, but not for anyone with mobility issues - stairs to bathroom downstairs are very steep. Food excellent. Decore and furnishings clearly reveal a degree of taste not encountered to often in Lodges - an Artist lurks in these parts, and a very good one at that. Setting - gorgeous. Sadly at 37C and a bit hazy at this time of year the view was slightly impaired. A few storm clouds threatened and on one day, we had some very very low cloud - sat on Isandlwana Battlefield shivering !! Super walks birding (lost track of how many Species we saw and heard within the grounds) and one early stroll up the hill behind the Lodge. Fascinating stories of Blood River, and Battles of Isandlwana & Rorke's Drift - lost of myths exposed (Pay the money and take a Private Guide - far better value and more personal and interesting). Most enlightening too. 3 Dogs are omnipresent, but soft, playful and very friendly - 2 joined us for our walk. The drive is both long (almost 5 kms) and wickedly rough - you don't need a 4WD or a 2x4, as we had a Toyota Camry (awful thing), but with care it did not come to any harm. Strongly commend arrival is during daylight, besides sunset is quite stunning. We drove for miles to get here (from Pilgrim's Rest in Draks) and at 500+ kms, it really was far too far (my fault). Beware the N 11 has some significant roadworks (20 min delays waiting for the lights to change ie), so allow extra time, particularly North of Newcastle, Volkrust up to Carolina. I would expect this to be a pertinent observation, based on the extent of the works, for about 2 years.

Room Tip: Kubili - IF you're a fit, mobile and a romantic couple, who like peace and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

A really lovely lodge - both the suite for my wife and I (within the main lodge) and the suite our friends stayed in (separate from the main Lodge) were quite excellent. The food was outstanding, innovative, beautifully cooked and presented - a real treat, especially as it contained some traditional South African dishes - so difficult to find in so many hotels and restaurants these days.

The drive to the Lodge is a bit daunting at times and, as the Notice says, noplace for low-slung vehicles, so leave Ferraris and Porsches at the Gate! Our hire car managed well enough, so the drive up from Rorke's Drift is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Talk to Christine, but what we saw were all good.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IvantheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was a weekend stop-over on a business trip to South Africa. It was quite superb. I had always wanted to go to Rorkes Drift after seeing Zulu as a boy. I was not disappointed with the trip. The accommodation is in a former farm, up a long rough track. 4WD is advisible. Once there the surroundings are beautiful with a great vista over Natal towards Rorkes Drift and the rock of Isandlwana in the distance. The accommodation first class. It is like a house party. Everyone there during my visit was there for one reason - to realise a childhood dream to see the Zulu War battlefields, so this made for common interest. Meals are served together round a large table. Excellent food, great wine available from the bar and the other guests made this genuinely enjoyable. The bedroom suite I had was supremely comfortable.

I had no time for horse riding but did take advantage of a guided early morning walk around the estate. This was well-worth doing. The highlight of the trip was the trip out to Isandlwana and Rorkes Drift with Paul Garner. He is recommended by the lodge and although more expensive at face value than other guides, he charges by the trip so we spread the cost across all those going with him that day in his vehicle. There were 7 of us from the lodge that day. He is a natural raconteur and highly knowledgeable. He'd be worth paying the cost if you were on your own. On a second day I went with Anthony Coleman to Blood River, and included the site where the Prince Imperial died. A different kind of trip but highly recommended.

Take advantage of the offer of a packed lunch. You won't find much opportunity to buy food anywhere else locally.

Room Tip: I was booking soon before arrival and only a suite was available. This was extremely comfortable but the standards are high throughout the lodge.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews