We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superlative base for exploring Zulu war battlefields and breathtaking scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for three nights to explore Rorke's Drift and the other Zulu war sites. Beforehand we worried about what we might find in such a remote area. This hotel dispelled all our concerns; it was absolutely excellent! The five star directions prevented any navigating errors getting there. The view form the pool, the veranda and from our two storey rooms (huge bathroom down our own spiral staircase) was breathtaking. Gareth and Christine and their great staff looked after us royally - we even had our dinner specially organised for us in front of the roaring log fire in the sitting room one evening! The honesty bar typified the feeling of trust and homeliness. The Zulu guide, Tulani, was outstanding and set the war in its historical context as well as showing us all the key locations. His tour was booked very straightforwardly by Gareth after we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Rorke's Drift Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Lodge is beautiful and very tastefully furnished. It has magnificent views and the atmosphere and surroundings are serene and tranquil. It is very intimate and we felt very special. The excellent service from Gareth and Thuli was never intrusive though. It has so many special touches eg the Honesty Bar, the horses, the roaring wood fires, the snack for the road and it catered for all our needs. All meals are included in the price which makes it excellent value. The food was traditional South African and we loved it.

I went with my 2 teenaged daughters and they loved it too which says it all. We went on a guided tour of the Battlefields with Paul, which was outstanding and my first horseride the next day. Two nights were too short and we will definitely be back - perhaps in the green season next time.

Room Tip: Our room could sleep 4 (family room) and was part of the main lodge.The other 2 rooms are for couple...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. It is our best accolade when guests return to see us time and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Visiting the" Zulu War" battlefields with a local guide is a must do in South Africa. The lodge is in a beautiful setting but need 4x4 to access. Food outstanding; homely environment and deserve their 4* rating. Lots of activities including horse riding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for the valued review. We would just like to point out that a 4 x 4 is not a necessity but it certainly makes travel to our Lodge more comfortable. A 2 x 4 vehicle does just as well and smaller cars can be used but must have good tyres and have good clearance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

From the second we journeyed off the main road and started following your green signs we knew we were in for an exciting adventure.

The food was absolutely exquisite and the hospitality of Rorke's Drifts staff was fantastic.

The time spent with the horses really was the cherry on top of the weekend. Gareth's extensive equine knowledge and kind reassurance really allowed me to do something I have wanted to do for a very long time. And that was ride through the African bush on horse back.

Overlooking the lodge from the top of the hills side on Sunday really was breath taking. "A little bit of Heaven" it truly is.

I look forward to returningto Rorke's Drift again soon and will definitely point anyone who is looking for somewhere amazing to go to on holiday in their direction.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you - we can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Rorke's Drift Lodge, the staff and surroundings made us feel at ease and "at home". I found the service at the lodge to be impeccable, the landscape breathtaking, and the staff members delightful. The food was also delectable, and beautifully laid out. With the horses grazing around you, while you enjoy a sundowner on the deck overlooking the gorgeous mountain range, the peaceful atmosphere takes hold, and one cannot help but let go of the city hustle and bustle, and fall into deep relaxation. The horse trails were definitely the highlight of my stay, presenting awe-inspiring views and an exciting selection of trails fit for those from advanced riders to total beginners. This is most definitely the place to go for any horse-enthusiast, as well as anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longtitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

The setting at Rorke's Drift Lodge definitely sets it apart from other Lodges. We endeavour to keep our grounds so that our guests can experience a full sense of being in Africa. Thank you for highlighting the getaway feel of the Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Staff were above and beyond the call of duty, and Christy's suggestion to use Thulani as our guide of the Battlefields was inspired. An amazing day, after having not been there for 26 years with a completely different point of view from a Zulu. What a character!

The rooms were fabulous, the view from the dining room and lounge out into Zululand was amazing, with Isandlwana prominent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjbcarmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for your great review. Our views over Zululand are probably our best feature - thank you for highlighting this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our holiday, and we couldn't have wished for a better end.
We stayed in a room in the main building & it was beautifully done out, more like an apartment. The food & service were great, particularly the breakfasts.
Gareth took the 3 of us house riding and even though it was our first time on horse back we felt completely at ease. Coming back at sunset was one of the highlights of our holiday.
I notice that the last review mentioned no internet service, but we were able to use the computer in reception with no problems.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridgefamily62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rorkesdriftlodge, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

We are privileged to have had such pleasant guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
208 reviews
9.5 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
136 reviews
7.1 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
22.7 mi away
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $67 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Rorke's Drift Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing