We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable.”
Review of Fugitive's Drift

Fugitive's Drift
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unmissable.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the place to stay if you are visiting Rourke's Drift.
We had an unforgettable time. Everything was perfect. Tours both wonderful and emotional at the battlefields.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour - brought alive by excellent guide”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our guide Dalton brought the battlefields alive as he recounted how the battle was fought where so many lost theor lives . His Great Gradfather was one of the Zulu warriors The piles of white stones to mark the graves and the various memorials were moving . There is a museum at Rorkes Drift which details the events there . A most interesting tour in a stunning landscape.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing tours, amazing experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

These tours to Iswandlana and Rorke's Drift have been established by the late David Rattray, an expert on the Zulu battles. They are now expertly, and emotionally delivered by guides - including David's son Andrew, who make the Battles come alive. What was particularly poignant was how we came away really understanding both the British and Zulu perspectives. My husband had chosen this part of our one month trip but I was surprised to discover that I was as captivated by these tours, as he was. An experience neither of us will forget. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Apart from being a great place to stay and relax, this is one special place. We had too fabulously informative tours of the battlefield at Islandwana and Rorke's Drift from the superbly informative and knowlegeable Alaistair.

Thanks too to Willem for a horseback ride that took us right up to giraffes and zebras.

Biggest thanks to Grace for her lovely singing in the evening, your smile is worth travelling many thousand miles for :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBookwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trail trial”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

How, even without the scrub, Melvill and Coghill managed to escape so far while chased by the Zulus, it begs to believe! Just when they thought they had managed, they were killed on the other side of the Buffalo River.
The trail was walked quickly on a pleasant day - but I could imagine how hot it might be in high summer. The river was also low, and you have to imagine it in full spate. The Lodge picked us up after a well-deserved beer and brought us back the last half mile. Would go back for this again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walkeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fugitive's Drift also viewed

Rorke's Drift, KwaZulu-Natal
 
South Africa, Africa
Isandlwana, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fugitive's Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing