We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fugitive's drift”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fugitive's Drift

Fugitive's Drift
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fugitive's drift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Difficult place to find if you don't have a guide. Our Guide was informative and quite knowledgeable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rorke's Drift Battle Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Battle Site is small but well presented. Their is a small museum and a self-tour guide that tells the story as you wander around the site. Recommend you watch the movie, which sets the scene! Also visit the nearby and related Isandlwana Battle Site where the British Army were defeated by the Zulus (20 minutes drive).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangattock
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rorke's Drift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The experience of the proximity to a battlefield that has a wonderful and emotional story to tell. Combine this with someone who can tell a great story and you have the makings of something special.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“More History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

More of the fascinating story of the Zulu war. Loved the way the history is approached with honesty about the bravery and dignity on both sides.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank margret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderfully unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I recently spent some time at Fugitives Drift and was pleasantly suprised at the entire experience. I have never entertained the idea of doing a battlefield tour and happened to go there with a group of people on business. Andrew Rattray's story telling abilities are world class and he is able to take you back in time to relive the amazing story of the Rorke's Drift battle. He was captivating and his detailed account of what happened was moving. This was truly a unique experience and definately a "bucket list item". David Rattray would be proud to see how his family have kept his passion alive.
Meanwhile back at the restuarant - we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and actually called for the chef to come out so that we could compliment her - well done Maureen.

A lovely place to enjoy some peace and time out.

I plan to take my family back there to share this life experience with them.
Paul C

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fugitive's Drift also viewed

 
Rorke's Drift, KwaZulu-Natal
South Africa, Africa
 

Been to Fugitive's Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing