We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here at the end of February for a couple of nights and had a fantastic stay , two nights was not enough to soak up the atmosphere of the area . Charles is an excellent mine of information on the local history and an excellent host . His staff are very efficient and welcoming . Even though on my second night there an incredible storm knocked out
all the power they still came up trumps and fed us a hearty meal washed down with
some great Cape wines .
I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel to
other travellers

Cheers to Charles and his staff

Steve Nye

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
98
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Because we wanted to visit the battlefields, we found this lovely place on the internet. What a find! Charles was a superb host. The food was delicious and the room large and spacious. Rorke's Drift Hotel is built on the spot where the English army crossed into Zululand. Other battlefields are relatively close with Isandlwanda only a few minutes drive away. There is so much history that it would be best to have either a Zulu guide, arranged by the hotel or historical guide (as we did) to tell the history behind the battles fought over this land.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greytraveller_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having always wanted to visit the Zulu battlefields, I chose the Rorke's Drift Hotel from the internet. Overlooking the exact spot where Lord Chelmsford's army crossed in to Zululand in January 1879 and five minutes away from the famous Rorke's Drift battlefield, this hotel is an emotive and historic spot. Charles, the owner, is a great host and a walking, talking encyclopedia of knowledge, and one can listen to him for hours over a leisurely dinner. About 20 minutes away is the other famous battlefield of Isandlwana, and a day spent walking around the various mementos of the battle is a truly moving - and slightly spooky - experience. Food, staff and rooms are all excellent. Definitely a must visit for anyone with even a slight interest in the Zulu Wars!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1774Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

An absolute must if you want to visit the battlefields. Beautiful rooms, excellent food, a charming knowledgeable host and stunning views of the Buffalo River. The pool and sun loungers were a welcome treat after a hot day sight seeing. A warm welcoming stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river with their own balcony leading off a small courtyard with a fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a lovely two days here, Charles found us an excellent Zulu guide for the battlefields tour. Good food and service and wonderful views. Charles was a very good host and we enjoyed talking to him about his work to build up this new hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicegwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A wonderful hotel in a stunning location with friendly staff and great food. The owner Charles is a gentleman and a great host. I went for a weekend trip to view the battlefields of Rorkes Drift and Isandlwana. These heroic sites are a must see, to witness first hand the bravery on both sides of the conflict. The hotel views looking out over the Buffalo river and the stunning landscape, make this a must see for all. The hotel is a hiden gem. i recommend the climb up the mountains to view the san people bush paintings. Also, five mins away at fugitives drift is a nature reserve with plenty of animals to view. I wish i could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Myself, my father and uncle stayed for two nights. Charles and his team were the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.
The Hotel is exceptional, its position and ambience adds a wonderful feel to the trip with the Buffalo River literally within throwing distance and the location is right in the thick of the action from all those years ago.
Cant recommend staying hear enough.
Wish we had booked a couple more days!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
22.7 mi away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
85.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
5.8 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Property: Rorke's Drift Hotel
Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Phase One of the construction is now complete with 7 double and four single en-suite rooms. Phase Two will raise the capacity to 30 rooms so that coach touring parties can be accommodated, for the recommended two night stay. The hotel provides an affordable destination at this historic location. Visitors will be stunned by its position overlooking the Buffalo River and with its open views towards Isandlwana, and by its architectural design that is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke's Drift Hotel South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing