We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novemeber 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay will definately be returning. Charles and his team were excellent in making our stay memorable. Meal times were most enjoyable with Charles and his knowledgeable banter. Many thanks..I look forward to our next visit...Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 215 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just want to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Rorke`s Drift Hotel, and were impressed by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff and guides. We had an awesome horseback ride, which is the best way to experience the scenery and get to know the people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rider C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After years of watching Zulu this was number one on my to do list when visiting SA. The gotel is well positioned although the dirt road to get there after it had rained heavily was "interesting". The hotel is beautiful, well designed with very good views and the rooms were roomy and well designed. Charles is an excellent host and the staff were friendly. My only criticism was that the food service was somewhat haphazard particularly at breakfast and among the four of us we also found the food itself rather variable. I loved going round the battlefield with our Zulu guide. The hotel does not have a large number of rooms so it all felt very cosy and unrushed.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After many years of watching the film Zulu and wanting to visit Rorke's Drift my dream has finally come true. I was lucky enough to stumble over the Rorke's Drift Hotel via a link sent to me from a friend in South Africa and have to say thanks. From the moment I arrived I was made to feel like a welcomed and valued customer and was fortunate enough that Charles arrived back from the UK the same day as me. His staff were friendly and knowledgeable with nothing to much trouble when asked for something. My room overlooked the Buffalo River and was the perfect seting for my three day stay, wish it could have been longer. The hotel arranged for m to have a guideed trip of the battlefields and the gentleman that took me around being one of the local Zulu people was full of knowledge and only to pleased to tell me about the history of the area. I recomend this hotel highly to anyone who wishes to visit the area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful hotel, taking a double and a single room. It is perfectly placed for visiting the incredible battlefields in the area and provides a very comfortable and welcoming base for travelling around.
The rooms are spacious and well fitted, the staff are always on hand when needed, the food is good, the views are spectacular and there is a walk or a visit for every mood.
I would thouroughly recommend a few days in this haven.
History and legends from Charles, over coffee, was just one of the highlights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Rorke's Drift Hotel is only a year or so old, yet with its zulu roundhouse style it settles unobtrusively alongside the Buffalo River as if it has always been a part of the place's atmospheric history. Charles, the owner, is an ex-army officer, historian and talented gentle raconteur who sat with us at breakfast and enthused us all (aged 8 to 60s) for the day ahead with stories of events of 1879 which took place just outside the window.

Visiting the battlefields is a full-on experience which can only be enhanced by staying on the spot rather than 25 miles of dirt-roads away. You pay for the location - breakfasts were communal, dinners were variable and we would have preferred more choice, but the rooms were big and comfortable and the charm of the host, his staff and the beauty of the surrounds wins you over. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here, Charles was great, very friendly in that unique upper class English way. He was keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and helped us book our battlefields tour with a local guide, Dalton. I would urge anyone staying in this area who wants the tour to book with local Zulu guides as they give you a real sense of what happened by telling the story in an African manner. Our room (Byrne) unfortunately was still in a state of un-readyness when we arrived but was soon put right. Each room give a fantastic view of the Buffalo river and was large and comfortable. Dinner was good with all the guests encouraged to sit together with Charles, but if you want to be by yourself that was fine. Loved the walk down by the river with Charle's dogs Wag & Tail joining us uninvited, great company! Definately recommend this hotel, you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Book the King Shaka room if you want the best one available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongeypongey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
266 reviews
7.6 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
219 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
144 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range: $209 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Quiet relaxation is assured by our scenic pool, the library, the Kwa Jimu Bar and the dining and lounge areas overlooking the river. Our architectural design is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures with rooms located in two accommodation 'Forts' beside the main building. Our rates are half board and you can work off the chef's accomplishments with gentle walks or ambitious hikes in the open countryside. Rorke's Drift Battlefield is just 12 minute walk and Isandlwana 20 minutes away. We are the heart of the battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke's Drift Hotel South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing