We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rorke's Drift Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rorke's Drift Hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This place is a real gem. The accommodation is superb, the food is fantastic and John and Heather instantly made me feel welcome. Everything about the place just made me feel at home - and what a home! This is affordable luxury on a big scale.
Right next door to Rorke's Drift mission and on the Buffalo River. Just a short hop to Isandalwana. But not just for historians - the countryside is beautiful and John and Heather will organise riverside walks were there's lots of wildlife.
This place deserves 5 stars ... and I've been to lots of 5 stars so I know.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdsnestbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
98
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. John, Heather and Charles are 3 of the warmest hosts we have come across.

We thoroughly recommend the full day tour of the battle field and Ianda (not sure if that is how he spells his name) brought the story to life through his passion and knowledge.

We would put ourselves down for longer than 2 nights next time as there is so much to see and do.

John's river walk was great and the pre breakfast breakfast to see us through it was appreciated greatly.

All in all a place to relax, explore and feel as if you are amongst friends that you have known for years.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had a wonderful drive from Thula Thula and arrived to a wonderful welcome and astounding views.

Charles, along with John and Heather and staff made us feel very much at home and we appreciated the time they spent with us, guiding us, with their vast knowledge of this historic place.
Thulani was our guide to the battlefields and his passion and expert knowledge made for a very lively and engaging day. (I must admit from a woman's point of view I was not as interested as my husband before we booked but from the minute we arrived I was enthralled by the landscape, history and the whole atmosphere it created which made for an unforgettable few days).

King Shaka's suite was wonderful with fantastic views over the Buffalo River which changed every morning
Food, Drinks and hospitality were excellent and you would go a long way to get the friendly,personal service we received during our stay.
Charles - good luck with the future expansion - You certainly have a recipe for succes which you rightly deserve.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INACentralHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

You've braved the dirt roads to get here, unpacked, showered and are now sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine, looking at the sun setting over the Buffalo River - it's just stunning!

The hotel consists of two doughnut-shaped 'forts', one for accommodation, the other is the bar, lounge and dining room. Every window has magnificent views, mainly concentrating on the river. After drinks on the veranda, dining to the accompaniment of an inevitable thunderstorm just adds to the atmosphere.

We spent three nights here so that we could visit some of the battlefield locations - Rorke's Drift is minutes away, Isandlwana is 20 km. We were able to visit both with a local Zulu guide arranged by the hotel who brings it all to life. We also did a conducted walk along the river - a contrasting experience to the battlefields.

Note that the hotel has only been opened a short time and some of the local staff are still finding their way - but this adds to the sense of being made to feel welcome here, you feel as though you are involved in the project.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

It has been a long-held dream to visit the Zulu battlefields and we could not have picked a more wonderful spot to stay. The hotel is brilliant, quirky, characterful (certainly not your bland could-be-anywhere type of place!). Heather, John and Charles were so friendly and helpful and knowledgeable, they made our stay a pleasure. The location of the hotel and the views of the Buffalo River and beyond are fabulous - a treat to wake up to each morning. The food was excellent, lovely breakfast and cordon bleu evening meals - especially the fillet steak! We had a wonderful Zulu guide, booked through the hotel, who took us to Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift and really brought the battles to life. Incredibly dramatic and engaging, he was so knowledgeable. Thanks Thulani! We would love to go back again to stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Our greatest reward is having appreciative guests and when they are as interested and as interesting as you were, it is only a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here while visiting the Battlefields, the hosting was wonderfull with great local and historic knowledge and nothing was to much trouble.

Worth noting the Hotel has only been open a few months so some of the staff are still being trained and there is evidence of building around but the main lodge is an excellent place and the rooms are full of character a good size with very comfy beds,

If you are planing to travel to this area you'll struggle to find a nicer hotel, and it's cheap!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
168 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Rorkes Drift Hotel is set on the banks of the Buffalo River and it is just a two minute drive or short walk to the Rorkes Drift Battlefield. Do not be put off by the approach to the hotel - the building materials, the unpaved car parking area, the camouflaged shipping container - the grounds and gardens need some further development. The welcome is very warm indeed and the room which we had in the 'fort' was very well appointed and spacious and had fantastic views over the Buffalo River and surrounding countryside. The room has a fridge which you can stock and which contains complimentary bottled water. Tea and coffee making facilities are also in the room. Breakfast is a leisurely affair and set us up for the day with juice, cereals and the choice of bacon, eggs, sausage, tomato, mushrooms etc. Dinner was around 7.30pm and was mainly self service. The food was excellent with lots of choice and for us the best fillet steak we have had for some time. The hotel is well placed to visit Islandhwana and many other battlefield site and offers walks and tours. Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. A great place to stay. Watch the films Zulu Dawn and Zulu before you come!

Room Tip: A view of the Buffalo River is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
4.9 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
239 reviews
7.6 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sneezewood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rorke's Drift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Hotel

Property: Rorke's Drift Hotel
Address: Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rorke's Drift on the Buffalo River the new Rorke’s Drift Hotel stands the slopes of Shiyane Mountain (The Oscarberg), in the rolling hills of Zululand. The historic crossing that gives the area its name is within its grounds and the comfortable modern facilities are priced to meet the needs of the discerning traveller. The visitor will enjoy peaceful relaxation in the rural landscape, surrounded by iconic history and natural countryside. Phase One of the construction is now complete with 7 double and four single en-suite rooms. Phase Two will raise the capacity to 30 rooms so that coach touring parties can be accommodated, for the recommended two night stay. The hotel provides an affordable destination at this historic location. Visitors will be stunned by its position overlooking the Buffalo River and with its open views towards Isandlwana, and by its architectural design that is a modern amalgam of Zulu and Victorian cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke's Drift Hotel South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing