We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost 5 stars”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Fugitive's Drift Lodge in February, at the suggestion of friends. We went to experience something of the history of South Africa, about which we know little. The battlefield tours were outstanding, the one of Isandlwana all the more so for having a Zulu guide. Our room was very comfortable and the food was mostly of a high standard. All meals are taken round large tables with guests dining together. This can be a mixed blessing, depending who your fellow guests happen to be! Lunch is on balcony of the library, set up the hill slightly away from the Lodge, which has absolutely stunning views across the valley and river. The communal parts of the Lodge were a mixed bag. We arrived just after a major electrical storm during which lightening had apparently struck the swimming pool. This had made the water very murky and uninviting, to the point that we didn't see anyone in the pool during the whole of our stay - surprising given that the temperature was in the mid 30s Centigrade!! We never quite got to the bottom of why the water in the pool had not simply been replaced. At the height of a South African summer, this was a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the Lodge rather than the Guest House if you want to have all the facilities to han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJR285, Owner at Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear CMG

Thank you for your comments and your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed the tours and your stay at Fugitives' Drift.

We do apologise for the pool not being up to its usual standard of clarity. Although the water was cloudy, it was clean and swimmable but not as clear as usual due to unusual climatic conditions. The reason we did not empty and refill it is that this is a water scarce country and area, as such it would have been irresponsible and environmentally unfriendly to simply throw away over 50 000 litres of water when with a little time and treatment we could and did restore the clarity.

Yours sincerely

Nicky Rattray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    36
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
226
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in the Guest house. Superb location with fantastic views. The tours of the Battlefields were excellent with very knowledgeable presenters. Friendly greeting by English gap year students.The food at lunchtimes was excellent, but the dinners were not of the same standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay was in February for 2 nights in the Guest House.
The location is remote after travelling 25+ kilometres on dirt roads but with dramatic scenery!
Check in was excellent with a welcome letter for each couple issued at the main gate " see you in 10 mintutes at the Guest House".
A chalet with small veranda overlooking a well tended lawn garden with colourful shrubs within easy walk of the main dining room/guest lounge.

Accomodation is on full board basis with additional charge for the main battlefield tours to Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana which is a must.Mphiwe was our guide for Isandlwana whereas Charl took us to Rorke's Drift.

There is also a complementary walk to the graves of Lt Melvill and Lt Coghill which was well led during our stay by James ( a Lt in 2nd Battalion Welsh Guards - on secondment for 3 weeks to keep the history alive for the regiment )

Charl was our host at the Guest House which seemed better suited to our needs.The team here were excellent.

Pre- dinner drinks are taken around a log fire outside the veranda with like minded guests before elegant dining for the 10-12 guests. The quality of the food was excellent with efficient service from front of house lady who also served us.

I can only echo the very positive reports of this wonderful establishment - WOW - a lifetime experience.

No one would be dissappointed at this venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Three generations of our family (aged between 6 and 88) stayed at Fugitives Drift and we had one of the most memorable times together. The lodge is well appointed and comfortable, the food delicious and the service is great - especially from lovely Grace. The story-telling by the guides that brings this piece of history to life was absolutely outstanding.

Although children under 12 aren't usually allowed on the battlefield tours, we organised (and paid additionally for) a private tour so that we could all enjoy the tour together. The guides cleverly oriented the stories for wider appeal, and all of us could not have enjoyed it more - our 8 year old son particularly was transfixed and got so much out of it, it was really worth doing.

A couple of words to families travelling with kids: The lodge offers a "mini battlefield tour" for kids which our kids also did and really enjoyed, but it's on the property - it's a nice, safe, adventurous babysitting type scenario - it's particularly good for younger kids while mum and dad are out on the more lengthy battlefield tour. Secondly, dinner is on one big table at 8pm which was too late for both the youngest and oldest members of our party, but the lodge kindly arranged that we ate at 7pm. Also worthy of note is that if you stay at the Cottage at the Lodge (1 double, 1 twin), the charge is same amount for adults and kids alike (ie there is no concessionary rate for children).

Room Tip: If you are a family, book the cottage at the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge- the views across the valley are amazing- you can just imagine it has not changed for hundreds of years. The staff were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable - lodge memorabilia was interesting too. We stayted 3 nights which is the right time to absorb the history - very moving. Lovely pool to lie round in-between tours too. Take a guided walk from the Lodge too- plenty of wildlife to see.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseBerkshire99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had heard about Fugitive's Drift ..forever! And so we decided to visit. WE were not disappointed. We stayed at The Guest House, just nearby The Lodge..and having visited the Lodge I preferred the openness of the Guest House. The rooms have their own verandas and look out across country towards Isandlwana. The host here is Charl. A charming man who puts you at your ease, the meals are eaten around a big table and they are WONDERFUL! The best cooking we had during our stay.Everyone conncted with Fugitive's Drift is steeped in the local history, the photos on the walls echo the Anglo Zulu wars, the artifacts decorate the rooms and fit in with the ambience. The tours are excellent. We had Andrew Rattray tell us the story at Rorkes Drift. He was so clear and held us all spellbound. The small size of the actual ground 135 men defended was extra ordinary..speaking as someone who only has Michael Caine's version to go on! We had the added joy of meeting 3 students on a gap year working and learning the ropes of Fugitives Drift. One youngman led a walk in the evening that took us to the spot where the fugitives from Isandlwana escaped towards Rorkes Drift and the graves of the two soldiers who tried to save the Queens Colours. Isandlwana is quite a different story, a wide and open battlefield, with white cairns denoting mass graves.
We throughly enjoyed our stay here, from the early morning tea, to the beautiful breakfasts, the succulent lunches and the sumptious candlelit dinners. Fabulous memories and easy to reach from Nambiti Game reserve where we had just come from. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTEFRACT
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The lodge is set in an amazing location very close to the 2 great battlefields. The memorabilia in the lodge is fascinating and staff warm and welcoming.
Charl was our guide at Rorke's drift and his passion for the history of the 2 great battles fought here was impressive, he is a superb historian and the visit was totally captivating.
The food at dinner was really good and we simply couldn't manage all 5 courses.
We had wanted to visit this area for many years and our expectations were exceeded.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
5.1 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
208 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
240 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#5 of 9 in Dundee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House

Property: Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
Address: Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rorke's Drift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fugitives' Drift Lodge, established by David and Nicky Rattray 26 years ago, now run by Nicky and her sons Andrew and Douglas, has become world famous for the passionate stories, delivered by our resident lecturers, given on the battlefields of the Anglo-Zulu War. Our flagship tours, conducted daily, are to the battlefields of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana. The Lodge and Guest House both feature luxury accommodation with pools, horse riding and fantastic game walks through this remarkable terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fugitive`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Fugitive's Drift Lodge And Guest House South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing