We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lodge! beware of the prices of the wine!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ndali Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndali Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Nice lodge! beware of the prices of the wine!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights here. The setting is very beautiful! The cottages are nice. There is a nice pool with a view of the crater lakes.
Dinner was served in the dining room with candellights. The food was good.
It is beautiful to sit in the garden and watch the birds and monkeys in the trees.
The chimp walk in kibale forest was very nice. We saw a lot of chimps and they were screaming and surrounding us.
The only negative thing was the drinks. When we ordered wine we got wonderful glasses of wine. On the bill at the check out we saw the prices and they were high for Uganda standards and the prices were different for every time we drank wine, while this information was not given to us when we ordered the wine. One time we askes for 3 glasses and we got a whole bottle. When we askes the waiter, he did not understand the question (because his English was not so good) and we got tired of discussing so did nothing with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
88
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

last year my husband, son and I stopped overnight at Ndali on our way to Bwindi to see the Gorilla's and really loved it. We returned this year for 4 nights and made it our destination for a long week-end get away. It couldn't have been more delightful! We were so well taken care of! The food was absolutely magnificent (they should do a cookbook!!) Joanne, George, Stephen and the rest of the staff (including Polly and Sybil, the dogs) took loving tender care of us. It was absolute heaven. We had coffee each morning in our cottage before amazing breakfasts at the main house, and then spent the day doing guiding walks through their forests, to see the chimps, or the vanilla factory or the near by schools and villages. Lunch and dinner each night was a marvel of tastes. We will return again next year - it is a wonderful destination in Uganda. Pure heaven on earth. Thank you! Thank you - Looking for a wonderful Ugandan experience, this is it!
Oh, one more thing - the staff have recently been trained to do massage, and we had two in our cottage - excellent!

Room Tip: There are 8 cottages, with wonderful views, a sauna. The staff have recently been trained to do mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tansyliverwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been here twice for wonderful meals, and love the atmosphere and have always enjoyed fantastic service. Thus I was very excited to come back to stay as part of a longer motorcycle trip with my boyfriend and dad. I was really disappointed to find that the standard of service just wasnt as high, I suspect as the owner wasnt in town.

We arrived after a long motorcycle ride from Kampala and were absolutely soaked through our rain gear. We were literally dripping on the floor and shivering as the staff member on hand insisted that our triple room was not only not arranged (though they had the booking noted), but was impossible and that we would have to take two rooms. He also insisted on reading us all the prices for (including "if you came through a tour company..."), before showing us to the room, which we found (to his surprise) to already be set up for a triple. We enjoyed fantastic meals, but were disappointed that the staff refused to light the fire in the lodge building for us to dry our extremely wet gear, which made the onward ride the next day much less comfortable. By email we received a quote which had given us a reduction for leaving before lunch, this wasn't extended to another guest who overheard until he insisted.

The room was gorgeous and the food fantastic, it was really unfortunate that all the excellent work was let down by the welcome on this occasion. That said, Id still recommend the place to anyone that asks - just try to show up warm!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMayersohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali Rwanda
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just took the family after hearing rave reviews for years. Quite simply, it's a spectacular setting with gourmet meals and first-class accommodations. The vanilla plantation tour is a highlight and we think the trail around the lake is a must-do as well (it's 6 kilometers and took us 40 minutes at a brisk pace). Although you might not think of it as a social enterprise, it's a massive generator of income for the entire surrounding community. It's a mere 2 hours from Queen Elizabeth park and therefore presents some very interesting options for a western Ugandan circuit (Lake Bunyoni, Mihingo Lodge, QE...)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
248 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Aubrey could not be more charming and welcoming. We loved it there from the first moment of his greeting and his telling the story of how he came to own this marvelous place. And each time we returned, we got a "welcome back" from the staff. The view is amazing, the grounds beautiful. And yes, the dogs are popular. The room was everything you could want. I did choose to relax in the big tub next to the window just for the experience after the chimpanzee trek. The shower is also fine. Aubrey was great about charging up our cameras since there is no electricity in the room. There are lanterns. The food was delicious, and they were careful to cater to individual needs. Eating by candlelight at night was wonderful, but lunch the next day on the veranda overlooking the lake was even better. A very colorful lizard visited on the wall next to us.

The service by all the staff was exceptional; there is even free laundry service.

The only drawback is the roads getting to it, but there is nothing to be done about that. Our guides decided to take "shortcuts" from the area sights, and the roads were miserable.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

First of all the bad thing. I stayed only one night at Ndali Lodge. If I would have known about the beauty of this place I would have booked 3 nights there. But enough would could.

I arrived after an approx. 8 - 9 hours trip at Ndali. I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the location. After a warm welcome I enjoyed the welcome drink and then a warm shower.

As a new man ;-) I then discovered a little bit the environment - just fantastic. I spotted Bea eaters, Falcon and a lot of other birds.

Later on I had some drinks at the bar. Georg the waiter works since ages @ Ndali and he can tell you a lot of stories.

Dinner was served in the dining room. It was a real candle light.

After a good sleep I left for the chimps tracking. Because Ndali was not fully booked, I was allowed to check out late. So after the tracking I was able to have an other shower and enjoyed lunch with a beautiful view to the lake.

After my 14 days in Uganda - Ndali is for me really the Nr. 1 Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

First the welcome after a long day's travel by jeep is wonderful and the freshly prepared ginger tea is so welcome. The individual rooms are spacious with a good sized bathroom with a bath. There is a safe for valuables and no keys for doors. However the owner has 5 dogs and this no doubt discourages any unwelcome intrusion. One dog even slept under the table on our verandah. The whole property is beautifully kept with lovely grounds and an attractive swimming pool area. The views over crater lakes to both sides are stunning. The public areas - sitting and bar area, dining room etc - are furnished in colonial style. Service is attentive. Guests are encouraged to eat together at one big table. Food is excellent. Breakfast is very good as are the packed lunches. We stayed for 2 nights and I really wish we could have had longer at this wonderful place with the kindly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Portal
13.4 mi away
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fort Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Primate Lodge Kibale
Primate Lodge Kibale
#3 of 8 in Kibale National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndali Lodge

Property: Ndali Lodge
Address: Ruwenzori Mountains | 25 minutes from Fort Portal, Fort Portal, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Fort Portal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Portal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndali was recently voted 'Best Lodge in Uganda' by the Association of Driver/Guides in Uganda!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndali Hotel Fort Portal
Ndali Lodge Uganda/Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing