We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect get away for relaxation with quality food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ndali Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ndali Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect get away for relaxation with quality food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Another excellent stay at Ndali Lodge. We have visited this gorgeous place several times since 2008: It is about the time to write a review.

A couple with a child, we want the best from our brief holidays. Ndali is a child-friendly lodge with trampolines and games, yet not a traditional family get away. It is small and exclusive with accommodating capacity for less than 20 guests, all treated as if they were royalty. We find it an extraordinary place to rest, eat and relax around Fort Portal; perhaps the best speciality lodging in the country.

The completion of Kyeninga Lodge two years ago, has brought competition to Fort Portal and Kabarole districts over the top end accommodation and quality dining. We think that whereas the lake and Rwenzori mountain views from, and the scenery around both Lodges is breathtaking and the logwood design of the Kyeninga cottages is awesome, the Ndali has the outstanding personal touch when it comes to overall ambience, rustic colonial cottage design, memorable candle lit dinners hosted by the owner couple, and feeling of 'home'.

If you didn't come to western Uganda for a game of tennis or croquet, but instead wanted a beautiful setting with quality private accommodation, effective and discreet service, great food and cocktails, walks in the forest and around the lake, and the luxury of swim, massage and authentic Finnish sauna... Ndali is what you look for.

Enough said. We will come again. And again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theusualvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
88
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ndali Lodge is definitely one of Uganda's best kept secrets. It is a breath taking marvel I must say! The staff are very polite and Aubrey (the owner) personally ensures that you well catered for.
It's a very homely place with excellent food and friendly staff.
Ndali is the perfect get away for the perfect experience! I enjoyed my stay to the full and hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onabright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Ndali Lodge for a few days whilst enjoying our first visit to Uganda, and found it to be a perfect choice. This Lodge looks out over the crater lake, Lake Nyinambuga, and is set in tropical gardens which are full of gorgeous plants and every type of colourful bird imaginable.
Robert was a friendly and helpful host, and our cottage was well serviced and very comfortable.
The highlight of our stay was a visit to Kibale Forest, and its Bigodi Wetland Sanctuary. The Sanctuary provided us with a two hour walk amongst all sorts of primates and other local wildlife, with a guide who was very well briefed about every aspect of it. It is a beautiful part of Uganda, and one which we were pleased to have visited.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cricketmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Positives: Great view, delicious food, great service from our host Robert, lovely cottages, cute pool, really nice service
Negatives: no outlets in the room. To charge your electronics you have to bring them to Robert's office and you are in competition with the other guests for the five charging stations. Anyway, this was minor within the context of an overall great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a lovely place! We really enjoyed our two nights here. Great views. Great food. Great staff. We thoroughly recommend staying here. Breakfast on the verandah - could it get any better? Drop dead gorgeous views. I was looking forward to taking advantage of the free wifi but that was a bust. Not too much of a surprise. Everything else lived up to, and exceeded, our expectations. Aubrey is a delightful host and his staff is great. Stay here-you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2TOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Ndali and from there we were able to 2 chimpanzees tracking in Kibale Forest National Park. This place is amazing, very well managed and offers stunning views of the lakes that surrounds this place. It is especially noticeable that Ndali is a real ecolodge, meaning that it runs on very low power consumption (lights are a little too low, so bring your own night lamp if you want to read but there is always hot water). The service, food were remarkable, the staff very helpful. The rooms are comfy although we found the beds a little strange (quite high and for 1 and a half person but not 2). It's a pleasure to walk from the lodge to the main lake (no crocs nor hippos there), and the dogs of Ndali are really liking to follow you during your explorations. Don't miss the visit (or walk) to the Vanilla factory, it is very instructive. The little minor issue I would need to mention is that the lodge is about 1 hour away from the Kibale NP so this has to be taken into account (it looks like the lodges that are closer to the park are not as good as Ndali though).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

on our trip through Uganda we also spent one night in Ndali. It wasn´t the most luxury stay compared with some other lodges we have been, but it was the warmest welcome and the best service we had. You immediately feel like a member of the family and that was great. The food was also excellent and the guided tour to the vanilla factory was stunning. We as doglovers enjoyed the dogs from the lodge and they always follow you, like you´ve stayed already for month.
All in all it was one of our best accomondations. If we do Uganda again we´ll stay for longer to enjoy more of the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afrizola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Portal
13.4 mi away
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
Mountains of the Moon Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fort Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Primate Lodge Kibale
Primate Lodge Kibale
#3 of 8 in Kibale National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 34 in Fort Portal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndali Lodge

Property: Ndali Lodge
Address: Ruwenzori Mountains | 25 minutes from Fort Portal, Fort Portal, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Fort Portal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Portal
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndali was recently voted 'Best Lodge in Uganda' by the Association of Driver/Guides in Uganda!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndali Hotel Fort Portal
Ndali Lodge Uganda/Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing