We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From the Heights of Tabelkoukt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Tabelkoukt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kasbah Tabelkoukt
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mirleft
Certificate of Excellence
Santander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the Heights of Tabelkoukt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Kasbah Tabelkoukt is a tucked away gem that reveals itself to those world-wearied wanderers that should happen to stumble by it in their search of the unknown. Madame Arboussett’s love of Morocco in all its splendor inhabits the kasbah. From its dramatic setting atop a cliff overlooking my favorite beach, la Plage Sauvage, to its Marrakchi-French-pop-inspired decor, Tabelkoukt lives in a world all its own. Madame Nicole has managed to build her very own oasis in this tribal and primitive setting, where you will find fishermen living in caves as well as colorfully-attired Amazigh women tending their livestock. The bohemian, the Italian opera director, the London businessman, the French family, the rich and famous as well as the simple traveler will all find solace in the neo-primitivo refuge of Tabelkoukt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonioguapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    20
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
24
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Travelling by car south of Agadir my husband and I came across an imposing kasbah type building overlooking the Atlantic beach. The Kasbah Tabelkoukt. We were warmly received by Charles, the owner's son. It is built in traditional Moroccan style sourrounded by a garden with cactus, palms and bougainvilleas. We used it as a base for short trips south and to the interior. The Fassia bedroom was enormous with an exotic domed bathroom, giving on to the infinity pool and the Atlantic beyond. We climbed down a steep path to the sandy beach below and paddled there and swam in pool above. Meals were great with home-made pastries and real fresh orange juice for breakfast and marvellous fresh fish in the evening with the inimitable Salade Marocaine. The girls in the kitchen were really nice. Pricey but worth it.
Maria

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marpir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

It was very hard to leave Tabelkoukt.

My girlfriend and I stayed for five nights in early April and arrived after four days of rain travelling from Essaouira via Agadir. The former locations - and the weather plus a bit of irresponsible pre-rain sun burn and to top it off, a dash of flu - had us arrive in need of something to rescue our holiday from disaster.

We were meant to be staying in one of the Stone Houses, however I think the rare amount of rain for this region had made them damp, so as we stepped out of the taxi we were greeted with an upgrade to the Fassia room. We later checked out the Stone Houses, and really wouldnt have minded staying there. RIght beside the house, they have their own little terraces with table and chairs. There are fire places on the inside, and the whole setting meant that you had a great deal of privacy. The room section was a little dark, but I have no doubt that in the evenings, if you did not want the main light on, they would come and light candles for you and make a fire.

Our room (Fassia) was very very large, with a door out onto the pool. The bed was extremely comfortable. The pool is cleaned early each morning and there are ample deck chairs by the side of it. Breakfast was served from 8 typically, but they were more than accommodating on the time. Jams, a large flask of coffee, break, eggs, excellent orange juice, and a view overview the sea with the breeze blowing it - great start to our days.

Its worth dwelling on the food. Whilst breakfast was what you would expect in most nice Moroccan places, lunch and dinner were an experience. We were initially thrown by the price of the food being 250dhs for a three course dinner, and lunch roughly half of that depending if you wanted something small or large. By the end of the week we were glad we made the investment in our stomachs. The food is Moroccan with French influence. My girlfriend, a vegetarian, was completely looked after. The cook went out of their way, and of note were some of the soups they had, and the fish they served - a different type of fish for me each night. Try the Domain Sahari Reserve 2007, a reasonably priced but impressive display of Moroccan wine. Charles, the proprietor, introduced some Moroccan rose to us after we asked about the country's wine, and not being a rose drinker I would it were it available at home.

So food - delicious and a little bit special, accommodation - like staying in a friend's mini-palace on the coast. Which leads me to the service. Charles was very welcoming, and made sure our stay was what we wanted without being imposing in any way. Hassan, who felt somewhat like the house butler, gave us great service, advice on haggling, and all in all added to the pleasure of the lovely surroundings of the house. The housekeeping staff were absolute characters, and one of them, Aisha, has a smile that would wipe away any upset. Really, all of the staff added to our stay, including the kitchen staff, and the gardner who managed an impressive space of beautiful plants and cactii.

The area for the Kasbah is very well chosen. Far from the road the only noise you hear from outside is the sea, and you can barely see a building from the grounds. There is a beach within a few minutes walk down a little slope, which feels private, despite there having been people there most days when we visited - evening strolls are recommended, when its empty.

Other things to note are fires being made for you on request. Charles organised a car for us on last minute request and seemed to negotiate one for us at a good price when the hire company claimed they had no vehicles. You are able to have a Hammam there as well, however we did not try this.

The Kasbah remains a little bit of paradise captured in pictures on my phone, to look at when days in the office get a bit much. If you're thinking about it, and you can, then don't hesitate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Ly0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

After roughing it a little bit in the desert, we decided to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxury. We found the perfect place to get spoiled for a couple of days. The situation of this modern Kasbah is unique and so are its architecture, décor, succulent garden and swimming pool.
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed ours with its direct access to the garden and the spectacular swimming pool.
A delicious breakfast is served on the terrace, or, if it’s windy, in the morning sun in front of the house. The evening meal is varied and prepared with the best ingredients and much care. A touch of French know-how takes the traditional Moroccan dishes to another place and makes them unforgettable.
Owner and staff were attentive to the smallest of our needs and desires. They made us feel special.
The ambiance is friendly and welcoming. There is a perfect balance of privacy and, if desired, casual contact with the few other visitors for the happy hour or after supper in front of the fireplace.
At any time of the day, it’s a pleasure for the eye to take in this breathtaking scenery perched high above the ocean, and just to hear the crashing waves and the gulls.
Besides offering the possibility to unwind and resource yourself during some quiet days for a truly relaxing holiday, Kasbah Tablekoukt can also be a worthwhile destination for more active guests. It is possible to take long walks along the beaches and rugged coastline. The beautiful hills of the interior are waiting to be explored. The beaches seem to invite surfers. There is s a riding stable not far, who might be worth to be discovered… We are grateful for the 5 days we spent there and are willing to come back any time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is an out-of-the-way place, but it's worth the effort to get there, particularly if you want peace and quiet or good surfing! The views from the Kasbah are fabulous - our room looked right out onto the sea - but swimming a length of the infinity pool is the best way to view the ocean. Amazing. Best of all, I think, was the WONDERFUL food - breakfast, lunch and dinner are all delicious and perfectly cooked.

Not the place to come if you're looking for nightlife or lots to do, but definitely the place to be for relaxation. It's very quiet!

ps - it's windy on the coast!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I spent a heavenly week relaxing, reading, paddling in the sea in the most elegant of boutique hotels. The views are superb - the Atlantic, the infinity pool and the cliffs. We walked down to the sandy beach and paddled and splashed. Cool at this time of year but always sunny. Don't go for the action/clubbing/shopping. It's about beauty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gormar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We visited Kasbah Tabelkoukt at low season and found sunshine, peace and excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble for the Manager or his staff. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Each evening a log fire was lit for us. The surf beach below was beautiful with pounding waves and a few hardy surfers. A hire car is needed if you wish to explore the area. We loved the food, the decor and the isolation. There was litter on the beach but I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirleft
1.0 mi away
Dar Najmat
Dar Najmat
#3 of 14 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
7.2 mi away
Un The au bout du Monde
Un The au bout du Monde
#1 of 14 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aftas Beach Guest House
Aftas Beach Guest House
#5 of 14 in Mirleft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Safa
Hotel Safa
#8 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dar Saada
Dar Saada
#6 of 14 in Mirleft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
14.2 mi away
Maison D'hotes Tiwaline
Maison D'hotes Tiwaline
#4 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tabelkoukt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tabelkoukt

Property: Kasbah Tabelkoukt
Address: 4 km After Mirleft, On the Way To Sidi Ifni, Mirleft 85352, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Mirleft
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mirleft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah Tabelkoukt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kasbah Tabelkoukt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing