We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel experience in Morocco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Errachidia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison d'Hotes Sahara
Ranked #2 of 17 Errachidia B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This wonderful B&B or inn is quite new, located on the edge of a palm oasis between Errachidia and Erfoud, on the way to the dunes in Merzouga. It's one of a few houses scattered along the small road, and at night is very peaceful with a great view of the stars from the roof. The host family lives here and raises the food they serve, and offers many diversions: cooking classes, a tour of the oasis with explanation of oasis agriculture, weaving lessons, description of local customs, trying on wedding outfits, and henna 'tatoos' on hands or feet...and a trip to the Merzouga dunes for a camel ride if you wish. Your hostess is Kheira, a lovely young woman who speaks fluent English. I lead small group tours to Morocco and we often stop for lunch here; last spring the group begged to stay overnight, and I plan to do so on future tours. I've stayed myself and found it a wonderful restful oasis, actual and virtual, in Morocco. You won't find another place like it, for the peace and quiet, natural beauty, and hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor [no elevators] give you great access to the stars from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CultureTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We took a chance on this hotel, not knowing much about it when we booked. We were very pleasantly surprised by almost every aspect of our stay here. This hotel is located in a small, charming (and friendly) village several kilometers south of Errachidia. The rooms were spotless. The food was excellent. Hospitality here is unmatched. The family who owns and runs this small hotel looked after every detail of our stay without being overbearing. They showed us around the village and explained local customs. There were 4 children under 4 in our group and the staff was extremely accommodating of them. They happily helped watch and entertain our kids during the down times, giving the adults the ability to relax a bit. We wish we could have rearranged our schedule to stay here another night. If you are planning to camp in the desert, I recommend launching your trip to Merzouga from this point rather than spending every night at hotels on the dunes.

Room Tip: There are 3-4 rooms on the roof (3rd/top floor) that share a large patio. It's a great spot if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My friends and I spent a night here recently. Full disclosure, we are friends with Said, the nephew of Khaira the owner of Maison d'Hotes Sahara.

I have lived in Morocco for two years and have heard about this hotel nearly the whole time. Another friend and roommate of mine spent Fall 2010-Spring 2011 in teaching in Errachidia and would visit Said and his family almost every weekend. His praise for the place couldn't prepare me for its incredible beauty. It's hard to express how breathtaking the Ziz Valley is. After driving for hours in the desert, the last thing you expect to encounter is a lush, green oasis.

The Hotel is perfectly situated to take in the Ziz Valley's beauty. The family who owns it is great and the food there is really excellent. I live in Fes and have dined with many Moroccan families and the food at the hotel rivaled some of the best meals I've had.

The best part of the trip was having Said guide us around the palmerie and up to the top of the canyon to watch the sunset. We swam in the river, which was cold and muddy but brought back memories of the swimming hole back home.

All in all it was a really great stay and a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were coming back from a wonderful trip to the Sahara Desert in Merzouga, and prior to taking the bus in Errachadia, we decided to stay in this place in the Ziz River Valley. It's a bit out of the way, but to have access to some of the most beautiful scenery in the world makes the trek absolutely worth it.

The rooms are simple, but clean and the staff is very friendly. The food was some of the best food I've eaten in Morocco, and most of it is grown in the local palmery. The views—both from the hotel itself and the vista from the cliffs that surround the Ziz Valley give spectacular views of the scenery.

I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay, and while it's not extravagant, you will be well taken care of in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon_Endean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Maison d’Hotes Sahara is the perfect base for exploring the desert south of Morocco. We loved the camel trek through the sands dunes of the Sahara!

We had booked a one-night stay, a place to stop between other destinations. We ended up staying several days and using it as our headquarters to explore the local area and our planned destinations. We were welcomed to a brand-new, family-operated guest house. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable with handmade carpets and large windows. Each room has a private bath. The views are spectacular, overlooking the oasis from a high vantage point.

The manager is a bright, outgoing woman named Kheira. She is fluent in English and several other languages. She was concerned about our ability to find the village and guest house, so she met us at an intersection on the highway from Er Rachidia to guide us. She is one of the most helpful people I have ever met.

We learned the customs and culture of the area from Kheira, her family and several people in the village. The family assisted us in organizing activities – the camel trek, local markets, the oasis, the nearby spring, carpet weaving, village crafts and music. We were part of a cultural experience far beyond normal tourism; we felt we were part of the family.

The food was great; most of it was grown on the property. The quantities served were plentiful and the menus were varied. We participated in the on-site Moroccan cooking class, which was another highlight of the trip – almost as much fun as the camel trek.

Our visit to Maison d'Hotes Sahara was the highlight of a month-long trip to Morocco and Spain. Of all the times I have traveled to Morocco, the days spent at the Sahara were the most memorable. I rank this experience in the “Top Ten” of all my travels throughout the world. During our time in Morocco we stayed in a wide range of hotels and guest houses, including five-star hotels in Fez and Casablanca. Our stay at the Sahara was the time we treasured the most and the place we recommend to friends. We would return there in an instant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gwmark4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peça para ficar nos quartos torre! Você vai entender porque!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer um com vista para o vale e as palmeiras
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuillerBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Errachidia hotels
75.2 mi away
Riad Nomad
Riad Nomad
#1 of 4 in Errachidia
32 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Le Riad
Hotel Le Riad
#2 of 4 in Errachidia
90 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kenzi Rissani Hotel
Kenzi Rissani Hotel
#3 of 4 in Errachidia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 mi away
Auberge Amellagou
Auberge Amellagou
#1 of 17 in Errachidia
70 reviews
64.2 mi away
Itrane Sahara
Itrane Sahara
#3 of 17 in Errachidia
61 reviews
13.8 mi away
Auberge Tinit
Auberge Tinit
#5 of 17 in Errachidia
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Hotes Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Hotes Sahara

Address: Zaouiat Amelkis, Aoufous, Errachidia 52000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Errachidia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Errachidia
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless, luxurious respite where traditional elegance meets modern amenities in an exotic setting. Quiet and private, the guest house is surrounded by spectacular scenery including red rock formation, a palmeraie (palm forest) and a lovely river area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing