We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem of tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property
terrace in front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
terrace in front of house
Takashak and beach front door and one of the single roof bedrooms under traditional local makuti roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
terrace in front of house
Takashak and beach
front door and one of the single roof bedrooms under traditional local makuti roof
Roof terrace overlooking Indian Ocean, due east, sunrise comes up over the ocean, as does the moon
looking out to sea from verandah
Early morning sun from bedroom on roof. Early morning swim before breakfast is 10 metres away
verandah, dining area and office if you need to catch up with anything.
view lying in bed
double bedroom on roof top at low tide
Franjipanis abundant
chill time in living room which seats 8
roof top terrace looking east over Indian Ocean
happy canine heading to main entrance
door to double bedroom
happy hour on front terrace - heaven
sunset, roof of house. To right is double bedroom, to left a single under traditional makuti thatch
beach holidays are such a drag!
the house is lit by hurricane lamps at night by the caretakers
main entrance at night, to left is dining area with glass top table, to right seating area for 8
front verandah and water features
front verandah water features
main entrance
mango for breakfast?
Caretakers William right and Nickson left
approach to house
dining table
doorway to a single room - who needs aircon?!
view from roof terrace where there are 2 bedrooms
living area
view from a single room on roof terrace
looking down over Takashak from the cliff behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Kilifi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vgreenwel...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“A little gem of tranquility”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very honest place. Full of special small details. Five days of absolute bliss
We would like to give a big THANK YOU to Nickson for his delicate service and care. We will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharine...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Takaungu is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. You really go back to basics without any electric power, but this only adds to its charm. You switch off your mobile phone and sleep on the roof looking at the stars and wake with the sun every morning; you eat fresh fish from the sea every day and wonderful fruit and veg. Safari and Jane are really helpful and keep the house spic and span so you can just relax. Couldn't recommend it more highly, we had an amazing time at this special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review Katharine, really appreciate the time you took to do it. I do hope we see you all at Takashak again for another holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain O
Lamu Island, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully-rustic beach house that really takes you back to the basics.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week over Christmas in this fantastic beach house. The biggest attraction for me was that you really do get back to the basics staying here. You can get fresh seafood from the market or from the local fisherman walking the beachfront and eat the days catch under the porch from the warm glow of the hurricane lamps at night. The place is serene and quite, you can pick oysters fresh off the rocks just 5 mins from the house, or take a short trip to Vuma cliffs to watch the sunset. Kilifi town is only 15 minute drive in case you fancy heading out from the day or to Distant Relatives for a drink in the evening. We were excellently looked after by the house caretakers Safari and Jane. And watching the sunrise every morning from the rooftop was just sublime! Whether your a traveler on a budget or family group, I would thoroughly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm glow of the hurricane lamps at night.
Liked least: Can't say I did.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Iain. Really appreciate the time you took to do it. We agree with your rating of linen and mattresses and are improving that area by buying new stuff. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magic”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

A real "get away from it all" - wonderful snorkelling, swimming and walking among the rock pools when the tide is out. The sea is on the doorstep and having evening drinks on the roof terrace with the amazing view and waking up to the sound and sight of it is magical. Takaungu village is an experience not to be missed too, particularly Mr Mohammad Ali's general store. The facilities are basic and that is part of the charm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Amanda. Really appreciate the time you took to do it. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy h
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Beach paradise”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Takashak is the ideal beach paradise. It was lovely to turns my mobile telephone off and escape from the world and live according to the rising and setting sun. Sleeping in one of the rooftop bedrooms, the waves and gentle sea breeze ensure a peaceful sleep and the sun gently wakes you up as it pokes above the horizon at the end of your bed. Safari and Jane are highly efficient and ensure the house is immaculate at all times. They will also collect essentials from the local village for you although there are vegetable and fish markets in Kilifi which is only a 20 minute drive away. The beach is great for snorkelling at low tide when lots of pools are exposed. There is also a wonderful marine reserve, 20 minutes south called Kiriwatu where you can expect to see turtles. Takashak is pure escapism and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Tim. Really appreciate the time you took to do it. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaysher...
dubai
1 review
“Heavenly beach”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2013

More than adequate facilities for a shack in paradise. Takaungu village catered for all our shopping needs.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thanks for your great review Nick. Really appreciate the time you took to do it. Look forward to seeing you again in August. Best, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Takashack is a great place to stay if you like the simple life, no frills, it is serene and private.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Takashack was wonderful and we were looked after well by Safari and Jane, the care takers. Safari went to the village each morning with a cold box to collect our ice so we could keep our food fresh and our drinks cold. We dined outside under the shade of the trees and at night with candles and lanterns it was beautiful and the little hermit crabs were entertaining! Most of us slept up on the roof top enjoying the breeze from the Indian Ocean. The bedrooms downstairs were also comfortable with a gentle breeze from the windows. The beach was quiet and the local people friendly and respectful, and the fishermen came to sell us fish straight out of the sea in front of the house. There is also a small fish market at the end of the beach each morning. Simple basic food items can be bought in the village and there is a good supermarket with everything in Kilifi about 25 minutes by car. There are lovely walks round the coral heads to Takaungu creek where you can also hire a boat to take you up the creek at high tide and the views and bird life are stunning. All in all it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had and we will definitely be back to Takashack!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The casual relaxed friendly atmosphere, serenity, privacy, views and walks.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review Christine. Really appreciate the time you took to do it. We agree with your rating of linen and mattresses and are improving that area by buying new stuff. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again at Christmas. Best, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing