We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

OPPS.....My first visit to Kenya with my wife.it is my dream be came true.
we enjoyed in Kenya per three weeks.it is fantastic time.when we have a time we will be back to this lovely country.
but we are never forgot the kilifi bay beach resort.in our final week we were stayed at kilifi bay beach resort.what is the beautiful peoples and lovely beach.lovely location.
we were celebrated the 2013 was there.beautiful arrangement.excellent food.lovely service...
what ever we wanna from a hotel?they were done more...more...more....
whole of the week we got extremely tasty foods.chefs are much friendly.always we had a warm and active cooking foods.my best food in Kenya by kilifi.
end of the year party was never forgotten.
thanks kilifi bay all.we will be back next year.
we recommended to all, this is the good and beautiful place to enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trendtit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    20
    9
    15
See reviews for
26
43
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

the setting of the hotel is on one of the loveliest beaches on the coast of Kilifi. the ocean view though is obscured by the trees but once you get to the outside bar.......the view is beautiful!!!! the food is great, the service is wonderful and the experience one that shall not be forgotten. once there on a hot sunny afternoon you never want to leave!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here as a single traveller. The standard of the accommodation is not quite up to some other resorts further North but the advantage of that is the peace and quiet. Walk on the beach for miles without being pestered.
Generally the whole place could do with a bit of a face lift but the food was good and as I said the tranquility of the location was the biggest draw for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCursedVagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Me and my husband recently got married here at the beach bar.....the setting is the most beautiful spot and the beaches next to the hotel unspoilt. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and provided excellent service for all. We got ready in one of the rooms which was nice, if a little dark but would have happily stayed there, my 2 bridesmaids did in fact book in for a night post safari! A couple of days before the wedding I had spent the day at the beach bar and pools and found them excellent, quiet, clean and very friendly staff. The Wifi is good if a little expensive but good connection!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you look hotel where you can really relax and enjoy - this is your choice. There is not much to do in Kilifi, so you will spent your days on pool on strolling on the beach. There was few, maybe 3 or 4 beach boys waiting outside but they were friendly and polite. Hotel is not high standard but staff is extremely friendly and you feel that they really care you. Book all-inclusive as closest restaurant is about 5 km from hotel...

Room Tip: Sea front had stunning view from terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delfiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Perhaps this is your situation. You booked a two-week trip to the Kenyan coast through a travel agent in our home country. You didn't want to spend too much and were pointed to a "great deal". The photos looked ok and you figure, "We are going to spend most of our time by the beach".

Maybe you are from Sweden, or Denmark or Poland(most of the people we met were from these places). You don't speak English as your first language and when things go wrong(as they often will)this makes it hard to complain about things. In fact, it is unlikely you even filled out the feedback form you were handed at reception when you checked out.

Now, you find yourself trapped at Kilifi Bay Beach Resort. Not just for five days. But for two. Long. Weeks. Yikes! What can you do?

First, don't panic. Make the best of your situation. You need to believe in the power of positive thinking. The glass is not half-empty. It is half-full. Don't dwell on the negatives. Focus on the positives. Afterall, you are in Africa. Just because you made a mistake on selecting Kilifi, don't ruin your vacation.

Second, make friends with a fellow guest. Companions make a difficult situation easier to bear. When you are able to share(and hopefully laugh) about all the defects, you will find release and feel less bitter. It also helps you realize you are not suffering alone. Your fellow guests will be able to share their stories. You will cry, cringe and shudder. Then hopefully you will enjoy a good laugh. It could always be worse, right? If you are able to make a friend who can speak english fluently, all the better. They can help you to lodge your complaints and to assist with filling out the feedback form.

Third, do not take an excursion through the hotel. Did you get that? As of December 2011, excursions are offered without a fixed price. Perhaps this will change. It should change or guests leave with a negative impression of Mada Hotels. The individual who is selling them to you is making tonnes of cash. If there were fixed prices, the other staff would raise alarms and the prices would be much lower. Book your excursions through the beach boys(David is one who is found on the beach to the right of the hotel) and you will save money and probably get a better experience.

Fourth, spend as much time as possible on the beach. Go for a long walk. Baobab Sea Resort is a safe, three kilometre walk to the right. You probably will not be told this by the hotel(we were told by one of our fellow guests) but you can use Baobab's facilities and take drinks/food there. Both hotels are owned by Mada. If you don't feel like walking back, the hotel has a free shuttle. We enjoyed the ocean as much as possible during our stay because the lower pool was filthy. Maybe we have high standards. If you call seeing water beetles the size of a silver dollar swimming alongside of you high standards. Or, not being able to see your feet while walking in the murky shallow end. Apparently, the pump was not working. For the whole five days we were there.

Finally, some small pointers. The name of the manager is Peter. He is a good guy. He is easy to spot because he is the one with the smile on his face. Get to know him. Tell him how your day is going. Try some of Boniface's pizza. He makes his thin-crust pies for lunch or for a pre-dinner snack. Enjoy the free massages. Maria is more systematic and methodical than Edna. Edna has stronger hands(although they are sometimes gritty with sand). Book a table in advance on the outside patio of the Fisherman's Restaurant. Eating indoors is hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Request a pool-side or sea-facing room. Apparently renovations are in progress but these units have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilifi hotels

r22ld22l
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Kilifi Bay Beach Resort is an excellent place to make your tours from. A little bit away from Mombassa it's more quiet and relaxed. Also good for safaris. Jorim Tours on the opposite of the road took us to Tsavo and Amboselli. Great, Joseph (the owner) and his driver do their utmost to show you the big 5.

The then hotel/; good food, nice staff, cool drinks. A lot of people don't leave the premises, but if you love Africa there's enough to explore in little villages along the roads to Momboassa or Malindi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
3.1 mi away
Mnarani Club & Spa
Mnarani Club & Spa
#1 of 6 in Kilifi
509 reviews
3.0 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#5 of 6 in Kilifi
27 reviews
21.2 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.9 mi away
Baobab Sea Lodge
Baobab Sea Lodge
#4 of 6 in Kilifi
46 reviews
3.5 mi away
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilifi Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilifi Bay Beach Resort

Property: Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Address: Bofa Road, Kilifi 537, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilifi Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kilifi Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilifi Bay Beach Hotel Kilifi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing