We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Mnarani Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mnarani Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We spent two weeks at the Mnarani after reading many good reviews of the place. We were not disappointed.
The location is stunning and the continual on shore breeze keeps the temperature pleasant under the fierce sun.
The management and staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was any bother for them.
Our room was simple but always kept clean, tidy and bug free by Nixon, our cheerful house keeper.
We were on half board and we found the buffet food plentiful and of good quality, however I would have preferred more local food choices. The one meal we were disappointed with came off the al a carte menu. The restaurant and bar staff were attentive and prompt. The evening entertainment was average, we enjoyed the Masai dancers and acrobats but gave the bingo and disco a miss.
We found the small pool in the garden a good place to relax, until it was closed for a few days for maintenance. The main pool was great but due to its popularity getting a pool side lounger was not always easy. The beach was a bit of a walk but we preferred it as we had it, its staff, bar and water sports mostly to ourselves for our last week.
Highlights of our stay were insightful visits to the local village, school and ruins and a fabulous day out sailing, snorkeling, swimming and eating fresh seafood on a beach with Captain Issa and his entertaining crew.
After a few days chilling out at the Mnanari we went on a two night safari trip in the Masai Mara which we booked through the First Choice representative Julius. It was a brilliant trip but arriving back at the Mnarani was like coming home to friends.
We highly recommend the Mnarani and we are looking forward to returning in the future.
If anyone is interested in helping to provide an education for local children by donating pencils, pens, rubbers, exercise books etc please contact John Jira at the Animation desk who can distribute the above to those in need.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianandcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    113
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
122
248
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
s.wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

couldn't believe this was a three star hotel. we had a five star service in five star surroundings. we stayed in a garden view and did miss having a fridge and tea making facilieties but as the staff are so accomadating it didn't make too much difference. i would like to thank every one who made our stay so special but would like to give a special mention to a few who made our stay a very pleasurable one. they are dida, julius and james the pool attendants. lawrence and kassiwa the animators and nimrod, harry and julius/manuel the waiters to name but a few. the food was excellant and the choices available for two fussy teenagers was outstanding. if you are thinking of visiting this hotel and i strongly recommend you do, the local schools always appreciate donations of excercise books, pens etc and also porridge and maize for the little primary school in mnarani village. the children there love to perform a few songs for you. the safari with jamos tours was also a fantastic experience. can't wait to go back. my only critisicm is that two weeks is not enough.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank choochS_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed at Mnarani for two weeks in Feb to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. We were going to another hotel nearby until we read the reviews on tripadvisor, which were awful. We then saw the great reviews for Mnarani Hotel, and chose this instead. How lucky we were. From the moment we walked through reception and got our first sight of the fantastic pool overlooking the sea, to the last morning when we had to tear ourselves away we were in heaven. Above all, it's the friendly staff who made our stay so good. We went on a wonderful 2 day safari with JT Safaris, and on our return everyone said 'nice to see you again' and it was like coming home. One of our best days out was a snorkelling trip with Capt Issa on his dhow. We had a long snorkel in the lagoon, then we were taken ashore on Bofa beach's wonderful white sand, and while we swam and beach combed, they cooked us a delicious meal of fish, chicken and lobster with coconut rice, and fruit, all served in beach style. Fabulous!
The beach at the hotel is not the best but better than most in the UK, and snorkelling from here is pretty good too.
I could go on for ages about our stay here, but suffice to say that everything was near perfact, and we would recommend it to anyone, except for people after a busy night life.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devon_decoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

A truely wonderful hotel. I spent a special birthday and our wedding anniversary there and the staff made both lovely memorable occasions. We had a very special meal on the beach for our anniversary, at "Nimrod's restaurant " under the stars, we shall remember it forever. All the staff were wonderful, the laundry we had done was immaculate, our room was kept spotless by Hamisi & Gideon. The gardeners worked really hard to keep the gardens looking lovely in the hot Kenya sun. Our walks and aquarobics with the animation team were most enjoyable. We did a wonderful safari and saw everything except the elusive Rhino. We met some wonderful friends, that's the beauty of this hotel, being "small" & friendly enables you to meet people so easily. We certainly hope to return here sometime soon. Babsie & Hein, the managers, run a wonderful hotel which is a credit to them and all their staff. Thank you all for a great first holiday in Kenya. x

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenFitz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Fantastic Hotel,well looked after,great food and wonderfull setting.This was our third trip to Kenya and found this hotel to be very warm and friendly,will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestLondonSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We've just returned from Mnarani Club and had an amazing holiday there. A beautiful 3* hotel which should be 4*! The infinity pool is wonderful and the hotel grounds are lovely. The staff are excellent and couldn't do enough for us. Plenty of activities on offer if you want them but they aren't 'in your face' which is nice if all you want is a relaxing holiday. The rooms are basic but clean with mosqito nets which hang like curtains around the bed, rather than from a hook in the ceiling, which means you don't feel claustrophobic. The hotel has an excellent bar which is great because local nightlife is few and far between - Kilifi isn't a busy tourist location. The bar is big enough that in the evenings you are able to enjoy a quiet drink, or watch / participate in the entertainment provided. While we were there we watched shows by acrobats and Massai Warriors which were excellent but the bingo night and in house disco nights we'rent great so we gave those a miss. We would love to return to this great hotel in the future and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnateDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Ssssh, don't tell everyone they will all want to come and spoil the peace and quiet and the exclusive feel of the place. If you want a night life and lots of touristy things to do this is not the hotel for you. If you want excellent service from friendly, helpful staff, peace and quiet with no pestering to do things (though there are things to do if you would like to) this is the place for you. Take pounds/dollars not cheques as it is easier to book safari with these. We went with Martin Jamos and we booked there saving lots of money and had a faultless safari - beyond what we imagined. If you want details em me - acb3125@aol.com - Can say no more than the other reviewers have already said apart from we will be back next year and we, in fact, were in a minority at the hotel as most guests had been multiple times!
Went with First Choice and they were excellent. All in all a great holiday. Go there yourself and see.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACB3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
0.4 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#5 of 7 in Kilifi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
24.3 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Club & Spa

Property: Mnarani Club & Spa
Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mnarani Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mnarani Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing