We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the great”
Review of Mnarani Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mnarani Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best of the great”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our sixth visit to this wonderfully run hotel. On this visit my wife and I were accompanied by my sister and her husband, she is not 100% mobile but the management and staff made her stay nothing less than trouble free. Everything was done to make her holiday a comfortable and memorable experience. A big thank you to all the staff (in my view there is none better) who were superbly managed by the dynamic Sean, this man works non stop to ensure your holiday is as trouble free and enjoyable as he can possibly make it. Even in our second week when 60 new guests came for a wedding the attention from all the staff remained top notch, Another truly great holiday...

Room Tip: Although the garden rooms are reportedly very good we have always stayed in the creek rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feathers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    113
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
122
248
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is a must for any couple wanting to experience a relaxing holiday with great food and great people. From the moment you arrive the main concern is that you have the best time you could possibly have whilst you are in the hotel!. Thank you to Shaun for the ever present smiles and asking is everything ok. To the pool guys Julius, Paul and Kennedy- Thank you for the ever present smiles and moving the sunbeds and umbrella's! Now to animation ... Roger ( the international observer!) - we salute you ! you and all the team are great at what you do..x to the waiters - you were ever present to take drink orders and tables constantly looked after... Nimrod ...we miss you! The chefs are always present.. food excellent good choices and varied, to Gilbert makes the best bread ever. The spa is very reasonable and of very high standard in treatments- a big thank you to Maria in the spa who is very good. Grace in the shop who always has a welcome and very helpful if wanting to send postcards! Esther on reception who will settle if you are settled! The Thomson rep Victor is very good . The view over the infinity pool is amazing. The hotel amazing . Go see!!!

Room Tip: We had a creek top floor room with views overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FenellaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed with friends in Kilifi and visited the Mnarani on two occasions during our two week vacation (I also visited here last year). Hotel has stunning views of Kilifi Creek and the Indian Ocean. It was 1200 Kenyan shillings to visit for the day (this goes up and down with the season) - this included the use of pool, sunbed (towels included) and an 'all you can eat' buffet lunch. The food has been outstanding on every visit and the staff are very friendly (as are all of the Kenyan people) and make you so welcome. Fantastic choice of food from soup, salads, fish, meats, pastas, potatoes, vegetables and desserts. A 'must visit' or better still a 'must stay' if you are going to Kilifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We travelled to Kenya with Thomson's and stayed in the Mnarani Hotel Kilifi which is around 45 mins from Mombasa. We booked a garden room for two nights before going on the taste of Kenya safari for four days. Our driver picked us up very early on Monday morning and we drove up to tsavo East to the first lodge, then amasoli next to Kilimanjiro, then tsavo west. Despite long tiring days, early starts and bumpy roads it was an amazing experience.
Back to the Hotel we had a creek view room for the rest of the holiday, I think it's worth the extra money as rooms are larger and more airy with bigger bathrooms and terrace or balcony.
Staff are very friendly and obliging, food is exelent and property was well maintained and clean.There was some evening entertainment including snake show, dancers, acrobats and beach bbq. This small and freindly hotel lived up to previous reviews and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Creek rooms are bigger and brighter than garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GraemePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I arrived and was warmly welcomed by the reception staff. To book in I was shown into a comfortably furnished, air-conditioned room beside the reception area and during this process I was given a clear outline of all of the facilities offered at the hotel. I was shown to my room on the second floor overlooking the Indian Ocean with a panoramic view that was breathtakingly beautiful!

The well-furnished room was very good and the layout left lots of space to move around and get some work done. The room steward could not have been more helpful and anything I requested was attended to forthwith. Coffee making facilities in the room with a supply of coffee and bottled water was really helpful. The poolside is large and lots of sun loungers with clean towels on request.

The dinner was good but not excellent but the breakfast selection was really good catering for all tastes and especially the freshly cooked omelettes with whatever filling one chose. Throughout the day there is a wide range of food available from the bar and this has variety and quality. Our beef burgers came with a large chunk of beef, not minced and were really good (and reassuring). Check out the catch of the day - the red snapper with chips is really good.

There are a large number of in house activities including games in the pool and various exercise classes. Each morning there is a guided bicycle ride which normally lasts one hour but regardless of what they tell you it is not for the faint-hearted! Nevertheless, it does give one a view of parts of Kilifi that you will not normally visit. Each evening there is a Swahili class for beginners and I would highly recommend this. I will pay tribute to Roger who on evening number two persevered with many of my mispronunciations! He was a good a patient teacher – thanks Roger.

The hotel is situated at Kilifi Bridge and there is a little village in this area. It is about one mile from Kilifi town and there are lots of motor bikes and tuktuks at the hotel entrance all anxious for business. It should not cost more than 100KES in a tuktuk. You get a better view from a motor bike and the driver will drive slowly for you. In any event, you should at least once walk over Kilifi Bridge for the stunning views.

This hotel’s greatest assets are their warm and friendly staff, who are very helpful and genuinely friendly. Security at the entrance and throughout is tight and this is reassuring.

Travelling to the hotel from Mombasa airport should take under two hours with the most time taken going through Mombasa. I use taxi drivers from Kilifi and therefore I know exactly what is will cost – they are friendly and reliable. They are Justus 00254723002405 and for a larger vehicle Eric 00254720351662. Jimmy is located close to the Mombasa airport and is on 00254720383799.

One bit of helpful advice for visitors to Kenya is that if you are using WIFI on your laptop, on your arrival purchase a Safaricom dongle with 2 GB of data and it should cost around 3000KES and you can top it up as necessary. Make sure that you register it with the shop so that you have no problems in the future.

I hope you enjoy the Mnarani Club as much as I did!

Room Tip: From what I could see all of the rooms are great. However, if you want to avoid a long walk to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Whilst stil with Neilson with the waters ports had a fantastic time. Cycling in the mornings some quitE challenging to the rather boisterous waterpolo in the beatifully placed pool . Staff couldn't do enough for you even tHe gardeners always wanted to chat. visit the local school. Take some education gifts ensure you see smiling faces

Room Tip: We paid extra for the rooms along by the river looking out to sea. Wonderful views of fishermen goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Where do I start, other than I could not fault the place. Had the best time ever. The setting is just beautiful, on a clifftop overlooking the beautiful creek/Indian Ocean. The place is kept very clean. The food was, what I could only describe, as TOO good. There was so much to choose from and evrything cooked superbly. The chefs are superb. And if there is something you specifically would like, they will go out of their way to cook it for you if they can.
We went deep sea fishing and brought back the tail end of a huge Sail Fish that we caught and they cooked it for us and brought it out especially to us for the following lunch. It was cooked to perfection.
The staff are all so very friendly and helpful. They always had a smile for you. Shaun, the food and beverages manager was lovely. He organised a birthday cake for me and my sister, and then for our friend on her birthday. Not one member of staff were rude, as previous posts have suggested. As for the animation team, they are such fun. I never usually interact with animation teams, but these guys were fantastic. If you didnt want to do anything they weren't at all pushy. But they were great fun to do water aerobics with and the guided tours. We did the bike ride into the local town. The bikes aren't the best and there is a killer of a hill, but it was very interesting and worth doing. We also did a beach walk to the bat cave. Also worth doing even though it's hard to spot the bats. So a huge thank you to Lawrence, Rodgers and Michael especially.
So many names of the staff we could mention who were so very helpful and friendly.
We had a creek view room. The air conditioning didn't keep us awake and was much needed. And I am a light sleeper. The rooms are kept clean. Even the beds and pillows are comfortable, which is highly unusual in hotels abroad.
The staff down on the beach are great too. We took the kayaks out. No charge. We also did the sunset cruise, well worth doing, you will see some beatuful scenery and birds.
A most wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twosisters2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
0.9 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#5 of 6 in Kilifi
28 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
22.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
4.0 mi away
Silver Palm Spa and Resort
1.4 mi away
Baobab Sea Lodge
Baobab Sea Lodge
#4 of 6 in Kilifi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Club & Spa

Property: Mnarani Club & Spa
Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mnarani Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mnarani Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing