We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Enough of the other reviews cover all the best parts of Distant Relatives. The environment and eco-lodge style couple with the friendly, fun, and laid-back staff make this an incredible place to stay. Not to mention the movie nights, amazing bar and common area, pool, and 2 minute walk to the beach. If you're in Mombasa, grab a Matatu for 45 mins and spend some days at Distant Relatives in Kilifi, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a great trip to visit the team at Distant Relatives Ecolodge. Everyone there was super accommodating and provided a great coastal experience. Thank you! Can't wait to get back there again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Africa is still pretty untouched in terms of backpacker trails but that then leaves room for little pockets of paradise like Distant Relatives to spring up. Friendly staff, an eco environment (with compost toilets and showers set into bamboo), communal meals if you fancy (of food you haven't had in a while if you've been travelling through Kenya - gnocchi or pizza anyone?), and then a pool and a beach just down the hillside if you fancy some relaxing in the sun.

A real change from the other either overpriced or underdeveloped hotels down the coast, you won't regret coming here.

Room Tip: We had a private room which was beautiful inside!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Finally a budget accommodation in Kenya that meets high standards of cleanness, amusement, good vibes, great people. It is simple, but great. The cook is an amazing lady from Kilifi that prepares delicious food. The owners are just fantastic. Great place to travel by yourself because wether you want it or not, you'll make new friends in a matter of minutes.
I truly appreciated the fact that it is an Ecolodge. The "downside" is that all toilets are in common because they are compost toilets, which was no problem for me, but it is better if people know that in advance.

Definitely one of my top 5 places in Kenya!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlaminiaDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As a resident of Kilifi, Kenya I go to Backpackers at least once a week if not more. They have created the newest social hub of Kilifi and displaced other hangouts like Members' or Mnarani Club. The vibe is laid back, the food scrumptious, the friends welcoming, and the fun engaging and creative. They've introduced yoga classes, a book club, buffet dinners, jazz nights, dhow cruises, and movie nights to name a few of the opportunities for socializing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank psgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is unlike anywhere I have ever been in my life. Anything I write about it simply will not do it justice. Distant Relatives is a little piece of paradise tucked into an already beautiful coastal town. When you arrive you immediately feel at home.. from the amazing people that work there, the cutest dogs that follow you around and the ability to hang out with people or sneak away by yourself just to think. These guys think about the big picture, and it is really reflected in what they have done... it is super inspiring. I have never been anywhere where I was just so content and happy. When I left after an amazing weekend it was way too hard... after one day I've already made plans to spend a weekend there in a few weeks. It's that good. Thanks guys!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is simply the hidden treasure on the Kenyan coast. There is no word to describe fully how beautiful, charming and perfect this lodge is. The beauty of the place, the people and the nature is mesmerizing. The only bad side of this place is how difficult it is to leave this awesome universe.
People usually say "there is no place like home", I would say: "there is no place like Distant Relatives".

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoanMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilifi hotels
1.6 mi away
Mnarani Club & Spa
Mnarani Club & Spa
#1 of 6 in Kilifi
538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#4 of 6 in Kilifi
29 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kilifi Maghreb
Kilifi Maghreb
#6 of 12 in Kilifi
3 reviews
4.1 mi away
Silver Palm Spa and Resort
1.4 mi away
Baobab Sea Lodge
Baobab Sea Lodge
#6 of 6 in Kilifi
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers

Address: Seahorse Road | After crossing the Kilifi bridge, you'll drive past Tusky's supermarket on your right. Further down the road, turn left when you see the sign "Makuti Villas" as well our sign “Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers”. Follow the signs from there - we are located about 2.5km down this dirt road., Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Kilifi
Price Range: $27 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Giriama village of Fumbini and the beautiful emerald waters of Kilifi Creek, Distant Relatives is both a message of optimism and an experimental model of environmentally and socially conscious living. Adventurers from around the world gather here to share tales of the road, mingle with the local community, and enjoy the beautiful ocean views and sunsets that Kenya has to offer. In just one hour's drive from either Mombasa or Malindi you could be joining us for reef snorkeling trips, moonlit dhow sailing, village walks and beach bonfires, wild cliff adventures, and various live music events. Distant Relatives is a new and unique ecolodge, hostel and backpackers, and an exceptional budget-friendly alternative to the classic hotels and resorts of the Kenyan Coast. Our accommodation options include camping, dormitories, safari tents, private rooms and beautifully designed ensuite bandas with their own charming private courtyards. Our kitchen serves some of the most delicious, mouth-watering and reasonably priced food on the coast. Wake up to the smell of local Kenyan coffee and go to bed after a full plate of fresh seafood pasta, grilled seasonal vegetables, or some of our signature Friday all-you-can-eat pizzas and free oysters! At Distant Relatives, our philosophy has always been to work around nature, rather than making nature work around us. For us, caring for the environment and supporting our community will always be a priority and a passion, and we are happy that such efforts have led to our recent certification by Ecotourism Kenya. Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers is staffed by a few travellers and a lot of locals ready with the best advice for your East African trip. In the spirit of Kenya's tradition of generous hospitality, we look forward to welcoming you to our humble coastal shamba and making your stay in Kilifi the most memorable time you've had in East Africa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing