We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Dishes that are superb”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nautilus-restaurant-kilifi/128164030653813
Craigavon
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fish Dishes that are superb”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Nautilus and just like our first visit we found the food exciting and innovative. While we both had the hot prawn starters that are highly recommendable I stuck with the fish of the day while my friend sampled the steak - both cooked to perfection and served with an interesting and tasty selection of side orders. This place must surely feature on on the list of places to eat for those who visit Kilifi

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    28
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sensational setting and fabulous food!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wow what a raffle prize to win!. We travelled from Watamu with friends and weren't we glad we did. The restaurant is built out into the Creek with stunning views. The menu has an excellent choice of fish dishes and also caters for other tastes too. Between us we sampled fish platters, catch of the day, soup and pasta and a delicious mix of ice-creams. Pietro introduced us to his cartoon characters who adorn the tables amongst the stunning displays of gorgeous flowers.
The ambiance is delightful the service excellent and the food outstanding. A hidden gem which you should try if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crampmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delectable food and brilliant setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I think this is the best restaurant in kilifi by far. The food is fresh and cooked by the owner himself. Great personal touch. Not much choice for vegetarians but it is good nonetheless. We had some vongles for starters, apple flame crab, and grilled prawns. My 3yr old had some chicken skewers which she devoured. Our vegetarian friends and some freshly cooked tortellini which was yum. For dessert we had homemade icecream! Divine.

Helpful?
1 Thank neelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really romantic setting, with top quality food and service.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived at Nautilus after a sunset cruise on a dhow and were in a beautifully relaxed mood, ready to enjoy Pietro's local fare. There are parallels with Louie's Back Yard in Key West, in terms of ambience, with no apparent risk of variable service and at about a third of the price. We had a really great experience, with plenty of personal service and anecdotes from Pietro. It's a long trip from London but for anyone who can get there, you really should go. They even take pictures of you and e-mail them to you afterwards, except that we had our camera with us, so Pietro took some for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My getaway, & Amazing food... Perfection!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I live in Mombasa & somehow/luckily found this restaurant, run by a very special couple and very genuine staff. The setting is just what I personally need to get away from a busy business, as it's set on the beach, an entrance to swim or get lost in your thoughts, as well as a place I take my guests (I run Backpackers Nirvana in Nyali) to experience very high standard service and beautiful food... Even if I'm not there, this place is one of my top recommendations to any visitors and expats. If you're in the coast of Kenya, then treat yourself to this experience and get to know the staff and owners...You both have a perfect gem :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley_kenyabeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 
Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 
Kilifi, Coast Province
Mtwapa, Coast Province
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing