We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical experience”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nautilus-restaurant-kilifi/128164030653813
northampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magical experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rarely does a place that 'everyone is talking about' match expectations - in my experience. Nautilus is an exception, I'm glad to say. The food is excellent, heavily influenced by the Swiss Italian palate of Pietro and executed to a very high standard by his excellent Kenyan team. Good choice of wine and of course the location is so very special, right on the Creek, so arriving by boat is not a problem - we did exactly that one lunchtime. Dining at night, however, is a different matter. Walking out to our table on the deck we crossed the glass viewing window inset into the floor (watch the fish below) and were just in time to watch the sun drop completely behind the distant hills and the rise of the brilliant moon bowing to a myriad of stars. As if nature's light show were not enough, Nautilus is beautifully decorated with colourful lights which add to the warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff are so attentive and helpful and Pietro is a marvellous host who will guide you through the menu and ensure you are happy. We were a very lively table of six and celebrating our friends' marriage blessing. Pietro knew we wanted a night to remember and he made sure it was along with his excellent staff. It was truly a most wonderful evening. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandianNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    28
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill on sea
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic places on earth to dine”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were completely bowled over by this beautiful restaurant in Kilifi. Run by a wonderful couple (Swiss/American) the food was to die for. We sat out on the jetty, under a full moon with the waters of Kilifi Creek gently lapping beneath our feet. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated with pretty twinkly lights and interesting pieces of artwork. The cost of the meal including tip and being picked up and taken back to our hotel was 7000 KES (Roughly £56) which we thought was excellent value for money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank christinebayliss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upavon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a very special place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

many thanks to pietro and lesley and their lovely team for a memorable night
beautiful setting fabulous food and great service would recommend it to anyone
a definite must!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UpavonPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilifi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always delightful!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We run Distant Relatives Ecolodge & Backpackers just down the road from Nautilus and send any guests who ask us where they can have a nice dinner! The feedback is always excellent and we always answer the same when they come back: 'I told you it'd be amazing!!'.

Leslie, Pietro and the rest of the staff are lovely! Food is always delicious - always a treat to visit! We'll see again sometime this week hopefully!

Don't hesitate to visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DistantRelatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you for a day in paradise, Pietro and Leslye!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent entire day in their beuatiful restaurant. Food, drinks, settting, water, music, staff... everything is splendid!
It is evident that these people do it out of their hearts, for themselves and not their pockets. For the given service and enjoyment, prices are very acceptable. It is a MUST stop, even if you are only in Mombasa, it is worth a drive and spending a day in Kilifi and Nautilus.
Best from Mia, Croatia

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaOsijek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 
Kilifi, Coast Province
Kilifi, Coast Province
 
Kilifi, Coast Province
Mtwapa, Coast Province
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing