We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”
Review of Elsa's Kopje

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elsa's Kopje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is an experience that we had long waited for and I can only describe this place as Kenya wrapped up like heaven. We were met at the airstrip by our guide for the next three and half days, George Kimaru. His beaming face and enthusiasm for this reserve was very apparent in the first hour of our game drive to Elsa's. On arriving we were shown to our room built simpathetically into the rock. This certainly was a room with a view, 180 degrees panaramic view out over the Savanna with George Adamsons camp directly below. The amenities were also superb. Everyone that we came into contact with were so happy and professionally helpful. We started every day with the sound of feet coming over the rope bridge and then a beamimg smile as we were delivered our morning cuppa and biscuits. Then up and off for an adventure. George showed us everything that Meru had to offer and we soon saw that it was not all just about Elsa, the reserve had far more to offer and he was thrilled to show it all to us. On returning we were always met by the Managers, Phil and Charlie, whom would eagerly listen to our adventures of the day . The meals were something else and we fed like Royalty , whether it was a Bush breakfast, a Lunch over looking the wonderful Infinity pool, or a candle lit dinner looking up at the stars. Whatever the ocassion Phil and Charlie were around ensuring we were thoroughly spoilt. Each day we shared in special surprises but I will not spoil it for you as you just need to go and experience it for yourselves, then you will understand our enthusiasm for this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joysebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2010

Arrived to Elsa’s with much expectation as I had heard many wonderful things about this lodge. The rooms are brilliantly designed and the décor throughout is stylish and elegant, all with breathtaking views. The food is very good, and it was no effort for them to accommodate an earlier meal for our children (who really enjoyed the food).
As self-drive clients we were given use of a radio so we could contact the lodge in case of difficulties on our drive. Water was provided for all on our drives and they even arranged a hamper so we could give the children a bush dinner whilst my husband and I enjoyed a sundowner.
Dinner under the stars was a real treat, as was swimming in a pool overlooking the vast expanse of African bush below.
The staff are excellent; responding to and anticipating whatever we may need. The manageress tops off the service with friendliness, professionalism and style. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We arrived at Elsa’s Kopje after 36 hours of traveling from Toronto, Canada, over the Amsterdam and after all night catching up with friends in Nairobi (read no sleep in 2.5 days) before driving to Meru region. Drive from the park entrance to Elsa’s Kopje was a game drive on its own and we were welcomed by netting giraffes, gazelles, elephants, baboons, jackals, buffaloes etc… so right away rejuvenated by the stunning scenery!
As soon as we pulled up at Elsa’s Kopje reception area, we were greeted by calm and suiting Charlie and smiling Phillip! Charlie had the pre-ordered safari hat ready right away! Phil suggested we ensure our driver runs over it few times in the African red soil for authenticity! LOL Both provided us with friendly orientation and shortly thereafter we were settled in cabin #1. The bridge is a lot of fun every and each time we crossed!!!! :)
We stayed 4 days and had an experience of a lifetime! There was no shortage of game; including hippos, white rhinos (in their protective area), wonderful birds, two cheetah brothers and beautiful animals residing only in this region.
Every morning, coffee and cookies were brought to the room as a “wake up call” and the cabin was cleaned/checked every time we were out! One day I returned to the room mid afternoon, as I realized shortly after relaxing around the pool, that I’ve forgotten something and noticed that the room was checked and cleaned yet again (even though cleaned in the morning during our game drive) as the garbage basket with one tissue was empty and the towels were white clean!
During our second night stay, around 2 am, we were woken up by the “love call” of the leopard right under our “window” (remember netting only) but with Philip’s immediate response to our radio call, guard was in our cabin within seconds. All part of the real safari experience @ Elsa’s!! Afterall, we are in their home!
All the staff, including really cute, friendly and sun loving hyrax, made sure we had a wonderful stay. Evening cocktails, before dinner being announced and guests seated at their table, was a great opportunity to chat with other guests from around the world! Hey Yasmina and Diago from Brazil!! Food was amazing, regardless if it was dinning under the stars or prepared breakfast in the bush or G&T sundowners with little bites, post afternoon game drive.

Should you wish to drive from Nairobi, we recommend Pheonix Safaris, ask for driver John. Make sure you stop at the equator and/of Trout Tree restaurant...a must!

We definitely recommend Elsa’s Kopje!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPNDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

What a fantastic place to stay.Accomadation out of this world, we even had an outside bath.
The views are phenomenal, even from your bed.The game were plentiful and our driver George tried so hard to find Leopard.
Our hosts, Charley and Philiph could not do enough for your and were so warm and friendly.
Food was good, but for non garlic lover , a bit too Italian, but when mentioned, other food provided.Would recommend to anyone , old or young, who wants a Safari with plenty to see and so quiet ( only saw two other vechiles in 3 days) and so many memories of George Adamson.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Elsa's and we could not have asked for a more wonderful start to our trip. The accommodation was excellent, the staff absolutely delightful and the food delicious. Our guide, Richard, did a great job and we saw far more than we ever expected to including four lion cubs on our first drive. Breakfast out in the bush was a special treat and the scenery was breathtaking. You could drive for miles and not see another person which made it all the more special. Our only regret was not staying there longer. Thank you to Sue and all the staff for making our honeymoon so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyLyddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We started our Safari at Elsa's and had little perspective on just how special the experience was. From the knowledgeable staff to the beautiful accommodations there was no disappointments. You can feel the historical significance of the property and the owners have preserved the surroundings so well that you actually feel as if Elsa's is luxury in nature. Food was amazing, the vegetables were truly the best we've ever had world wide. Probably because they're grown in the rich African soil on the property...The only downside to the experience was the lack of a quality house red wine. With the rest of the package I happily purchased some of their finer selection with a smile. I would highly recommend the experience. We have already discussed our return in 2011 with our travel agent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

what should i say except 'wow'? this was our first stop of our safari and we have been really blown away. The rooms are very luxurious, huge and have an amazing view over the Meru reserve where you can easily spot animals. When we have been there, another couple even saw a lion kill from their private terrace! i liked the open windows which makes a very special atmosphere.
Every room is different, but we really loved how it's build in the rock. Amazing architecture!
the food is fresh and superb. Service is great as well and shows real attention to detail.

Our guide was excellent. Gave us great game drives and tried to tailor-made the drives to our wishes. The park itself is dream. it's secluded and except same park rangers we haven't seen any other cars there. What a difference to some of the other tourist packed other national parks!

Can't really say anything negative. The whole stay was so enjoyable, can't tell. Plan for sure going back and can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pompeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
7.3 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
146 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
187 reviews
15.2 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Elsa's Kopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa's Kopje

Address: Mughwango Hill, Meru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range: $625 - $1,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elsa's Kopje 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsa’s Kopje is almost invisible to the eye as you approach its home on Mughwango Hill. It blends into the rocky crags of the "kopje" (small hill), built above the site of George Adamson's original campsite. Every cottage is the ultimate 'room-with-a-view,' uniquely designed and crafted, incorporating the natural features of the rocky hillside. There is also an open bar, lounge and dining room with an exceptionally inviting infinity pool overlooking the Meru plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Elsa's Kopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsa`s Kopje Hotel Meru National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing