We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven in the heart of Meru National Park”
Review of Ikweta Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ikweta Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nyeri, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haven in the heart of Meru National Park”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Ikweta Safari Camp is the place to be if one wants to have a relaxed and comfortable place away from the hustle of the city. I was there for one single night but it's a memory I won't forget.

The hospitality of the people there, the cool and quiet atmosphere defines what an excellent camp site should be. This is haven at the heart of Meru National park and I have no reason why I should not be there again and again.

Thanks all good people running the Ikweta Safari Camp.

Yours,

Charles Obaye

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    47
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
57
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights from 22nd September, as part of a homecoming trip 60 years after leaving Kenya where we were born. It was an absolute delight; the staff are welcoming, charming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The tents are very comfortable and classy, and the swimming pool was most welcome after a long hot day in Meru NP. The park is marvellous; totally unspoilt and not at all crowded. The highlight of our visit was turning a corner in the road to find six lionnesses relaxing under a tree next to the road. Quite amazing! John and Suzan have made a wonderful place to stay, and most definitely offer 'affordable luxury'. The restaurant and gardens are lovely, and the noises of the bullfrog in the pond and the antics of the bats were atmospheric and fun. Definitely be back if we can. Highly recommended for all types of travellers.

Room Tip: All the tents are thoughtfully placed allowing almost complete privacy, and the sense that you reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a great place to end our holiday through Kenya. Very friendly staff, nice food and nice comfortable admospheric safari tents. Suzan, the owner, and her husband gave us a very welcome feeling. Also Meru is a wonderful parc where you finally have the feeling that wilderness still exists in Kenya. As mentioned in other reviews, hot water is a small issue but the showers never got really cold :-). We'll surely come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Ikweta safari camp was one of my fav in my 12 days trip in Kenya.

the highlight would have to be ther service. it truly made a difference.

This is our first accomodation in Kenya which made the camp exprience even more memorable.

we arrived around 11pm due to vehicle problem. the hotel stuff waited for us till 11pm, still surved us full freshly cooked 3 courses meals.

the tent was tastefully decorated, even include slippers which none of other camp or hotel i stayed have that personal touch.

the only small issue was they just uppgrade to solar power when we stayed, so there was hot water issue on the night we stayed. i trust it already fixed now.

all meals are quite tasty. the camp owner made us feel truly welcome anx relax. this place def suit people who like boutique and unique accomodation and doesny feel comercial.

most tent can see sunrise just outside ur tent.

the morning call here was quite lovely -the staff will come knock on ur tent with morning coffee!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Ikweta safari camp. The service was great being done by qualified staff. The food was also great and nutritious. Though its along drive ...it's the place to be...
Many thanks to Susan and John. God bless you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenMwende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was the first stop on our 16 day Safari. So after over 40 hours traveling to get there it was a welcome relief to arrive. Imagine our surprise to find we were the only guests for the night - in the peak season! At first we thought what is wrong with this place with no other guests there but soon discovered it was perfect place to stay. The reason no other guest were there was they had some no-shows because of the fire at Nairobi Airport.
We arrived in the late afternoon but the staff were more than willing to make us lunch.
Everything was excellent - the staff, our tented room and the food. We hope more people stay at Ikweta as it gets more well-known but until then it is a wonderful retreat away from the crowds.
Meru National Park and Ikweta a good start to our safari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I truly enjoyed my trip to Meru and specifically my stay at Ikweta Safari Camp. The food was great especially the soup I had as an appetizer at dinner. I also particularly loved my tea and omelette at breakfast. The service was excellent, the staff friendly, polite and attentive to detail. I loved the way the frogs sang their lullaby as I fell asleep.The natural looking, wild environment, and the thatched roofing made me long for my childhood home. A great escape from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi city. I certainly did not miss the smog, the crowds and the hectic lifestyle. It felt very peaceful there and i would recommend it to everyone I know who would appreciate a uniquely beautiful experience.

Room Tip: The rooms provide exceptional privacy. It looks like one may have to rough it from the outside, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia Kagendo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
10.2 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
8.7 mi away
Leopard Rock Lodge
Leopard Rock Lodge
#5 of 6 in Meru National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikweta Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikweta Safari Camp

Property: Ikweta Safari Camp
Address: Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ikweta Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iKWETA Safari Camp is by choice a small owner-operated intimate camp offering personalized service and safari luxury accommodation. Located just 2 km from the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, iKWETA is a year-round destination and a convenient base for exploring both Meru and Kora, two of Kenya's national parks to offer a complete wilderness safari experience. We are a ***Star-rated establishment in the Kenya East African Community classification of Tourism Enterprises (Category: Tented Camps, in accordance with the Tourism Act, 2011, Tourism Regulatory Authority Regulations, 2014 (Kenya Gazette, Notice No. 6111, Vol. CXVIII No. 87, 5th August 2016). iKWETA Safari Camp is proud to be among the very few star-rated establishments in the Mount Kenya region. iKWETA offers ten spacious canvas tents on elevated permanent foundations with thatch roof overlay of doum palm (Hyphaene thebaica) indigenous to the area. Tents are tastefully decorated in safari-style with high quality furnishings. Each tent is designed with an airy-by-day and cozy-by-night bedroom area separated by a natural stone wall from the bathroom en-suite, with walk-in shower and toilet. There is a writing table and safe box in every tent. All tents face East for guests to enjoy the spectacular sunrise over Meru National Park from the comfort of their beds. Each tent has a private verandah. You can sip your early morning steamy hot Kenya coffee or Kenya tea on your private veranda while watching the sun rise over Meru National Park. Tents are amply fitted with electric power sockets for guests to be able to power their laptops or charge their electronic devices and camera batteries. Our large Swimming Pool is delightfully warmed year round by glorious sunshine. Our "Two Zebras Restaurant" serves all meals to order using fresh produce grown in the Camp's own Greenhouse and on iKWETA Farms. We offer international and vegetarian cuisines as well as children's menus. No night time blackouts or '10:00 o'clock night-curfews": There is mains electricity backed-up by a high-capacity generator. If you are awaked by the sounds of nature you can snuggle under your duvet and read or watch movies on your iPad or DVD. We have improved accessibility for guests who are wheelchair users and for those with reduced mobility. Your main attraction will be spectacular game drives through Meru National Park, one of Kenya's most beautiful and truly pristine national parks and the land of the "Big-Five" - elephant, rhino, lion, buffalo and leopard. With over 400 bird species reported, the park is also a birdwatchers' paradise. There are also interesting places in the vicinity of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area. Nature walks to the Gatwe ("Skull") Hill for panoramic and spectacular views of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area and the Nyambene Hills. Accommodations are on Full-Board basis (all meals included as well applicable taxes). Since opening for business in October 2011, iKWETA Safari Camp has hosted many foreign and domestic film crews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ikweta Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing