We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikweta Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
JAPS Guest House(Meru Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
136
61
6
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
61
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssusan and johnaffordable luxurymeru nptwo nightsnational parksoupmain gatesafari campdelicious foodlet them knowlong drivehot waterfresh fruitlarge swimming poolpastagame parka lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 210 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were met by the friendly and staff and served with a delicious drink consisting of sparkling water and grape juice. The place is designed to evoke the feeling of being in the wild. Our walk to the dining/ lounge area and also to our tented rooms was thrilling because one almost expected a lion to jump out of the tall grasses. Safety is assured though I could hear small animals rustling through the bushes. We dined on an exotic salad though the veggies are grown in the camp's own garden. The delectable pork was 'fall off the bone' tender and it was paired with well seasoned couscous. The meal was simply a delight for my palate. I felt that the staff were quite knowledgeable and efficient. If you are one who enjoys an authentic camping experience, albeit with a few modern amenities, check out Ikweta and let the sounds of the wild lull you to sleep :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kagwiria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have just returned to Nairobi after having spent the weekend at Ikweta safari camp.
What a lovely relaxing time that we had,the accommodation was excellent, the staff friendly and attentive,food fabulous.drinks fairly priced and not set to abuse the guests that are staying at the camp.
They even phoned to see if we were ok when on safari as we didn't turn up for lunch when we had arranged to do so.
On the Saturday evening they arranged a birthday cake,champagne and sang happy birthday to my husband! This was their idea and not something that I had requested. I will be recommending this Ikweta safari park to my friends as it is absolutely fabulous, friendly and has the homely touch to make you feel very welcome and care for you as an individual and not because you are putting money into their till. Fabulous fabulous fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

1oth July 2013. We arrived at Ikweta Safari Camp and was greeted warmly with a ice cold face cloth, which was very refreshing, followed by a cocktail of fruit juices. We were a group of 14 and really pleased and pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. Meals were lovely, and we enjoyed the warm pool, despite the cool overcast day. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were a group of charity workers who had been building houses, working on a farm and visiting schools in the Tharaka area, for the past 10 days. We had been sleeping in tents, on school floors etc, so this was a little treat...a little bit of heaven. I would definitely recommend Ikweta Safari Camp.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We shopped for a while before settling for this great place. Everything was just awesome...and we were the only guests in the camp for the weekend and hence we got the full attention of everyone.

The camp is clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and welcoming (Leah and Co.) The food was good...there is room for improvement though. The ambience is just awesome. Our best place was the tent...relaxing, clean and just gave us the calmness we were yearning for.

Would I recommend it...YES.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gichini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for one night, friendly attentive service, lovely clean tents, good food and plenty of it and very close proximity to the park gate. The pool was clean but you would need to keep an eye on children as there is no lifeguard on duty. You get woken on a Sunday morning by the singing from the local church but that just meant we were awake for a morning game drive!
Highly recommended and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireroyston2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews