We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the first stop on our 17 day adventure.”
Review of Ikweta Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ikweta Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the first stop on our 17 day adventure.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ikweta was our first stop on our 17 day safari .it was a long drive from Nairobi but I had chosen the itinerary and we had decided to go the bumpy road around the east side of mount Kenya loads of sleeping policemen ,but nice to see all the town and little villages on the way .
Our driver did get a bit lost on the way and we did get a puncture but all part of the adventure.
the camp is really well set out we had a tent called hippo all the tents are covered by a roof and have a lovely porch not much view but look out for the little birds on the grasses and plants and Susan the owner said there is also naked moles didn't see them though.
The room is lovely with a comfortable double bed and a very modern sink and bathroom.
You are woken in the morning with coffee and biscuits before your game drive and when you return there's a full English breakfast on the patio.
There is a large room that serves as TV room lounge and restaurant .
The camp has a very warm pool which we used even though Susan was very worried we would burn in the midday sun.
luckily for us there wasn't many other guests when we were there in January so it was like having our own lodge, Susan and John came for a chat each evening and were pleased with what we had seen in the park .they are a lovely couple and have worked hard to get the property to the standard it is and the staff were really happy and helpful.
The park gate is 2 minutes from the camp and I think we were the only people in there the one day.
I would definitely go again we had 3 nights and it was lovely having time to relax as well as do the park properly. The park has a rhino sanctuary and we spotted just about everything there are grevy zebras, loads of giraffes and elephants and we watched 3 lions watching the giraffes. Really Excellent Park.

Susan if you read this we had a fantastic safari and we did manage to find all the other 6 lodges. Though some were a challenge especially in laikipia We wish you good luck for the lodge and hope to see you in near future sure it won’t be long before were looking for route plans again.
Julie, Karl, Adrienne and David (travelling with Gilbert from glorious safaris)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliekarl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Julie & Karl, Adrienne & David, appreciate your review! It was great to welcome you at Ikweta Safari Camp, we so enjoyed your stay with us! We are already looking forward to your next Safari to Kenya (please Karl!). And thanks Glorious Safaris for bringing these delightful Safari-goers to Ikweta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
59
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just 30 minutes before arriving, we were told that unfortunately we had been "double- booked". and that the family were to seek out alternative accommodation. The security guard at the the gate, would not let us in. Without any water, food or supplies, this pretty much ruined our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethRobertsKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikweta, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We regret that we were unable to accommodate this Reviewer and his family on 1 January 2013. Ikweta Safari Camp was fully booked during this past Christmas and New Year period. Majority of bookings for this holiday period were confirmed months in advance. The terms and conditions of our Reservation Policy (as stipulated on our Website) include a 50% deposit to confirm a booking. The Reviewer contacted the Camp on the morning of 1 January 2013 for accommodation that very night for his family. No advance deposit was made hence there was no reservation or 'double booking". We tried our best recommending our sister property - Ikweta Country Inn - in Maua Town some 30 minutes away from Ikweta Safari Camp on a tarmac road. We even arranged another accommodation at Meru National Park for the Reviewer. We would certainly welcome the Reviewer and his family to Ikweta Safari Camp another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ikweta Lodge

A very short drive from Meru National Park Gate is Ikweta Lodge. It is very new and very nice. I was immediately impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and things continued to get better and better. It is a tented camp with elegant and comfortable accommodations including a bathroom (toilet and shower) inside the tent. The decorations are very interesting and carefully chosen. The food was delicious and served to one's taste (medium rare etc.) and the presentation was elegant. There is a large swimming pool that looked very inviting, but I did not have time to try it. Next time I will.

It was quiet with spectacular stars at night, good birding in the morning, and some very interesting fossorial mammals nearby. Susan and John the owners were helpful, knowledgeable and delightful to talk with.

Best of all is the value for the price. In my opinion this is much more interesting and intimate than most of the lodges in parks, and for less than half the price one gets personalized service, scrumptious food and better acommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Milsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ikweta is superb! conviniently located near Meru National park, loads of birds around, great service and I enjoyed their meals. Did I mention its pocket friendly too! yes it is.
The camps location also favors those who wish to mingle with the locals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenyasafariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Ikweta Safari Camp is a camp which is very convenient in terms of; Location and accessibility. Just at the entrance of Meru National Park, Murera gate, this camp is an ideal place to relax after days activity in the Park.

There's alot of activity within the park and around the community. The big five, plant life, birdlife and culture are the major activity here.

I found this place with an excellent environment which is very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

After looking for three weeks for a reasonably priced safari, we found Ikweta, run by a couple who have worked in development (they also have Ikweta Inn in Maua, and Lakeview studios in Nairobi - all reasonably priced).

Lovely site, beautifully appointed tents and bathrooms, but no unneccessary 'holiday' frills, which you normally pay for. Great. Food was fast and delicious, staff proactive and well trained and everything was just perfect. The cost - a third of any other listed safari place and just outside one of the least visited wildlife gems in Kenya. We saw no cats but that is never a given, though with better 'tracking' and observation skills the right guide could have had more luck, as other visitors did see leopard and lion. Trackers/guides can excite visitors by showing them pug marks, other animal signs and have some knowledge of alarm calls, other interesting behavioural activity (vultures circling, symbiosis between animals) and be more respectful of the animals.

I would suggest that the camp have a bird list published, a list of recent sightings and even photos of different species to aid recognition, and keep their own naturalist to take visitors into the park, as the guy we were given was a worker in Meru NP and had no real natural history experience. He was also unaware of the dangers and tried taking us into the middle of a herd of around 300 elephants with calves! I stopped him, fortunately or we would have been goners. He knew notning of the birds or behaviour of various animals. The NP have some responsibility here also for recommending him at Ksh 1500 per trip. I would prefer a qualified ranger who charges more. The NP needs to give a map to visitors in their own vehicle, and a full briefing and an emergency phone number in case of breakdown inside. Their briefing must include the driver on do's and don'ts', and emergency escape procedures.

Room Tip: Away from the ponds and the frogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pugmarks46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Meru is one of my favourite parks in Kenya. The problem was always that there was only basic or 5* accommodation. Ikweta Safari Camp fills the gap with a very nice tented camp just outside the main gate. Very nice tents, good food and friendly staff and excellent location. The tents are brand new with well equipped bathrooms. Other facilities include a big swimming pool and a la carte restaurant. I prefer to stay in camps that are located outside the park. Most imprtant it helps to protect the environment but also outside the parks it is possible to offer a variety of activities like , walks that cannot be offered inside. Meru park can compete with any other park in Kenya and Tanzania. The wildlife is excellent and the scenery is fascinating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
10.2 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
231 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikweta Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikweta Safari Camp

Property: Ikweta Safari Camp
Address: Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ikweta Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iKWETA Safari Camp is by choice a small owner-operated intimate camp offering personalized service and safari luxury accommodation. Located just 2 km from the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, iKWETA is a year-round destination and a convenient base for exploring both Meru and Kora, two of Kenya's national parks to offer a complete wilderness safari experience. We are a ***Star-rated establishment in the Kenya East African Community classification of Tourism Enterprises (Category: Tented Camps, in accordance with the Tourism Act, 2011, Tourism Regulatory Authority Regulations, 2014 (Kenya Gazette, Notice No. 6111, Vol. CXVIII No. 87, 5th August 2016). iKWETA Safari Camp is proud to be among the very few star-rated establishments in the Mount Kenya region. iKWETA offers ten spacious canvas tents on elevated permanent foundations with thatch roof overlay of doum palm (Hyphaene thebaica) indigenous to the area. Tents are tastefully decorated in safari-style with high quality furnishings. Each tent is designed with an airy-by-day and cozy-by-night bedroom area separated by a natural stone wall from the bathroom en-suite, with walk-in shower and toilet. There is a writing table and safe box in every tent. All tents face East for guests to enjoy the spectacular sunrise over Meru National Park from the comfort of their beds. Each tent has a private verandah. You can sip your early morning steamy hot Kenya coffee or Kenya tea on your private veranda while watching the sun rise over Meru National Park. Tents are amply fitted with electric power sockets for guests to be able to power their laptops or charge their electronic devices and camera batteries. Our large Swimming Pool is delightfully warmed year round by glorious sunshine. Our "Two Zebras Restaurant" serves all meals to order using fresh produce grown in the Camp's own Greenhouse and on iKWETA Farms. We offer international and vegetarian cuisines as well as children's menus. No night time blackouts or '10:00 o'clock night-curfews": There is mains electricity backed-up by a high-capacity generator. If you are awaked by the sounds of nature you can snuggle under your duvet and read or watch movies on your iPad or DVD. We have improved accessibility for guests who are wheelchair users and for those with reduced mobility. Your main attraction will be spectacular game drives through Meru National Park, one of Kenya's most beautiful and truly pristine national parks and the land of the "Big-Five" - elephant, rhino, lion, buffalo and leopard. With over 400 bird species reported, the park is also a birdwatchers' paradise. There are also interesting places in the vicinity of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area. Nature walks to the Gatwe ("Skull") Hill for panoramic and spectacular views of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area and the Nyambene Hills. Accommodations are on Full-Board basis (all meals included as well applicable taxes). Since opening for business in October 2011, iKWETA Safari Camp has hosted many foreign and domestic film crews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ikweta Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing