We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Safari Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhino River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhino River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Safari Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Rhino River Camp is a great new addition to the many good places to go on safari in Kenya. It is beautifully located by a waterfall. It is small, intimate and the owner, Andrea Moggi intends to keep it that way. The "tents" are first class, comfortable and well-appointed, with excellent bathrooms and showers, yet still feel fully part of the bush. You sleep to the sounds of the river and the animals. Service is superb -- unobtrusive but always there when you need it. Chef Ruth serves up some of the best food one can find in Kenya. Best of all, Meru game reserve is (now) a gem of a place for seeing game, including Lion, Rhino, Elephant and Buffalo, as well as an amazing array of bird life.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNPSHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was my first experience in Africa and it will be very hard to top any where in the world. I traveled with my partner and 9 friends for the New Years weekend and this was amazing. The staff were forever helpful, servicing the 'tents' was invisible, each was very private and you felt like you were the only people in the park, laundry inclusive, nothing was too much trouble, the safari was amazing so was the bush walk and the fishing. A surprise was the amazing food and did I mention the staff? This is a highly recommended holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

The Rhino River Camp in Meru National Park was an excellent pick for a safari in Kenya that offered an abandance of wildlike and the comfort and relaxation of a well managed and beautifully designed luxury camp.

The service was impecable and the management was very accomodating to our needs. The rooms were private and beautifully designed. The room we sayed in was like a tree house in a tropical forest (the camp is by a river and has large palms growing along it). Each 'room' consisted of two tents one which housed the bedroom, bathroom, dressing table etc and the other which was a separate lounge/ reading area. It was perfect.

The food, which had an Italian twist was always delicious and very well made with fresh ingredients and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I'm recommending this new (about a year old) luxury option - it's actually just outside the park, next to the rhino sanctuary. It's small, sheltered by mature forest, overlooks Kilani River, has a swimming pool, wonderful staff and excellent food. Owned by Andrea Maggi who has spent a career in and around Meru NP. It's a top location for spotting rhinos and Grevy's zebra, that part of the park is quite swampy and different.

A highlight for us was a walk up Kilimakeiro, an extinct volcano surrounded by shambas, fantastic views all around. It doesn't appear on Google, we have to do something about that!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeoliansands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Recently stayed at the Rhino River Camp with my husband and extended family (6 adults total) and had a wonderful time. This camp is set on a very nice piece of land and the sleeping arrangements are wonderful. You have a large tent with all amenities and a smaller sitting lounge set in a different tent. Perfect for a late night drink without always being in your room.

The staff was excellent and the food was exceptional. We did a game drive and our guide/driver (Joel) was very knowledgeable. He knew all the names for the birds and we even got to see the big 5 in one day. Meru National Park is a totally different atmosphere than the Massai Mara and well worth it.

The pool was incredible and perfect to relax and take away the soar muscles we had after the long drive from Nairobi.

I will definately be back to this camp and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart_climb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulzberg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

In a perfect location, Andrea's luxury camp bears the hallmark of class. The rooms provide all one could possibly desire, stylish but inobtrusive, allowing the beauty of the surrounding nature to unfold and impress. We stayed right by the river, which was a little loud at night owing to the recent fall of heavy rains. All our meals were delightful; creative, light and fresh. We were thoroughly spoilt by Andrea and his warm, professional team, who treated us as friends from the minute we arrived. This camp is a "must" for visitors to Meru National Park who like to be pampered from time to time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

The setting is magnificent, the staff helpful and friendly and the food the best we had in Africa. Our host Andrea Maggi is charming and the perfect host. A lovely oasis of peace and beauty. Charlotte Lankard and Gene Rainbolt, Oklahoma City, OK USA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clankard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
7.3 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
11.6 mi away
Leopard Rock Lodge
Leopard Rock Lodge
#5 of 6 in Meru National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Camp

Property: Rhino River Camp
Address: Kindani, Meru National Park, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rhino River Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of six luxury cottages built out of sumptuous caramel canvas and sustainably grown wood, raised on platforms above the gently flowing Kindani River will turn your stay at Rhino River Camp into a quiet, exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Rhino River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing