We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Rhino River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino River Camp
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The setting is magnificent, the staff helpful and friendly and the food the best we had in Africa. Our host Andrea Maggi is charming and the perfect host. A lovely oasis of peace and beauty. Charlotte Lankard and Gene Rainbolt, Oklahoma City, OK USA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clankard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed here in early October. Only guests staying, but instead of using that to take it easy, the staff just tried to give us the best possible experience. And to us that sums up the ethic of the camp -- service without compromise. Rooms are by the river and furnished to exceptional standard: each also has a separate lounge accessed by an outside walkway. Safari trips are taken with knowledgeable guides in a custom Land Rover, with bitings, g+t, or breakfast on board. Wonderful -- a magical experience. Will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Beautiful place and atmosphere..we really enjoyed our stay over there...
it is like a dream...
congratulations to the staff and quality of food as well!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lautyta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A fabulous new find! The service was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. Food was marvellous, tents chic and a lovely location. Only one minor criticism - that it was quite a hike to get through the rhino sanctuary to the actual game park where there was more game. Super activities such as walking and bike riding included in the price.
Miriam and Ken Wood, Nairobi

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boutersem
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Rhino River Camp can only be described in superlatives. The location (Meru NP), the dedicated, friendly and professional staff, the superb tented rooms with annex lounge tents, the excellent food (simple fresh ingredients with an italian touch - super friendly waiters- they deserved this special mentioning! The gorgeous refreshing pool, the little extra activities (fishing, mountainbiking, sundowners etc), the always discrete presence of manager Andrea Maggi... My teenage boys loved every minute of our stay - they didn't miss their mobile phones, laptop or playstation for a second !
Following our 3 nights at the RRC, we stayed at Lewa Safari camp and Little Governor's. Equal rates but not at all the same experience. Do not hesitate to go to RRC, you will not be disappointed at all, it is a little gem waiting to be discoverd by the lucky few.
As for Meru NP, it beats Mara and Amboseli, you'll feel like you''ll have it totally to yourself !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBoutersem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

From the early correspondence with Andrea we knew we were going to be well looked after. On arrival, after a long drive from Samburu, we were truly amazed at what he and his staff have created at Rhino River Camp. The setting is beautiful, the camp itself stunning and luxurious although oozing simplicity which is quite a challenge to achieve. The staff are brilliant - thankyou to Lawrence, Jackson and all the others who made us so welcome and comfortable - the food sublime (that's quite a chef you have there Andrea), the tented structures so clever and comfortable. To top it all the owner has created this magical place, and will no doubt continue to do so, on environmental principles with solar hot water heaters and in the future aiming to install solar electricity generation.
Meru National Park is truly a gem and when we eventually get back to Kenya we will concentrate out efforts here and hopefully be able to stay at this wonderful place again. We were fortunate enough to go out with Rhino River's resident driver/guide/wildlife expert - he certainly knew his stuff and with his excellent english was great to talk to, knowledgeable and friendly. Thanks for the very close encounter with the elephants, Joel,
that was quite a sundowner!
We cannot recommend this truly wonderful place enough. Congratulations Andrea and good luck

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clays37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud Beijerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

"Augustijn Video Productions", specialized in Wildlife documentaries, travelled the world. Kenya was visited many times since 1988, occasionally even three times a year. We tend to take life as it comes, staying in top rated lodges as well as more modest places to stay. Never did we encounter a place like the Rhino Camp. Location is ideal, at the doorstep of Meru Ntl Park. Owned by Andrea, the staff appeared to be multi lingual, very helpful, and above all fitted with a good sense of humour. Andreas cuisine is probably the best Italian food we ever had. Even the lunch pack we took with us into the bush was more than complete, including cutlery and tableware. The quality of food would be difficult to match by many restaurant. Andrea is very knowledgeable in many ways. We spent several full day safaris into Meru Ntl Park. Andrea provided us with a 4-wheel landcruiser, suitable to film from a tripod. Filming the naked mole rat, which is exclusively found in Meru, would not have been possible without the expertise of the driver/guide made available by the Rhino River Camp. For repeated visitors to Kenya, Rhino River Camp provides a paradise, providing a combination of adventure and comfort after a long day working hard in the bush. The place to be!

Augustijn Video Productions
Ko Augustijn

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augustijnvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
7.3 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
235 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
171 reviews
7.5 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
228 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Camp

Property: Rhino River Camp
Address: Kindani, Meru National Park, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rhino River Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of six luxury cottages built out of sumptuous caramel canvas and sustainably grown wood, raised on platforms above the gently flowing Kindani River will turn your stay at Rhino River Camp into a quiet, exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhino River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing