We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Meru”
Review of Rhino River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino River Camp
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What can I say, amazing stay at Rhino River Camp. Everything was perfect from our arrival into the camp at first being welcomed by the staff with nice smelling cooling towels and a refreshing drink after our journey from Nairobi.

The tents were great and really well thought out, very spacious giving you a separate sitting room to enjoy the views and nature around you. The river was quite full because of the heavy rains but it was very relaxing to hear the soothing sounds of it flowing in the room.

The pool area was nice and good size for the camp with a clean look and was refreshing to have a dip after a hot day.

Now onto the food - WOW it was fantastic, if I had stayed a few more days don't think would have been able to walk out of there. The chefs know how to make a truly inspiring meal, everything was so fresh and it all tasted awesome, me being a vegetarian, I found everything was so good you had to go for seconds. The Italian dishes were to die for, fresh lasagne, fresh pizza, fresh pasta, salads, bread, all would put any restaurant in Nairobi to shame.

The bush breakfast was a great surprise, after staying at other lodges in Kenya you expect to get a soggy sandwich and lukewarm coffee, but this was a feast with a full out breakfast in the bush experience - all the little details were thought off and it was excellent.

Alberto the manager was awesome and so were all the staff, they took extra good care of us and made us feel very much at home. They were very accommodating and so friendly that we even decided to stay an extra night. There was no pressure or rush to get you out and we felt welcome and free to spend some time at the lodge.

Wake up calls were right on time to be welcomed with one of the best coffees we've had in a lodge and some tasty home made biscuits.

The staff also went out of their way to wash my car after the safaris where it was full of mud and I didn't even know until I got in for the next safari! That is going the extra mile!

I can't thank Alberto and the crew for this excellent break from Nairobi and will definitely be back for another visit in 2014!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, no 3 is close to the main reception whilst the others are a bit more seclud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amar2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Rhino River Camp. The location was good next to the rhino sanctuary in the National Park.

The service was amazing with all the staff very friendly and attentive to detail. The food was amazing and would beat all the restaurants in Nairobi.

The tents were very spacious and designed well facing the river and was all kept very clean and in good order.

Unfortunately with the heavy rain we could not see much wildlife/game but we enjoyed the lodge with the manager Alberto and staff taking very good care of us. It was a perfect retreat getting away from Nairobi and would definitely recommend the camp to others.

One thing missing was lack of fresh juice during breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this camp for our anniversary. The place was perfect: the tents are very nice and clean, the staff was very good and very friendly and the food was among the best Italian food we had in East Africa (You have to try the lasagnas!). The manager Alberto was helpful and has done everything he could to make our stay the best. Our guide/driver, Paul, was very knowledgeable and, even in the awful road conditions (this was the rainy season, so it was expected), he never got stuck once! I wish I'd go back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pol819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

… may you find such a magical place as Rhino River Camp. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. We absolutely adored this camp and miss being there so much. The manager, Alberto, and the staff were so welcoming and made us feel right at home. The food was INCREDIBLE, the service was outstanding, and our safari guide (Joel) was top-notch. I actually cried when I had to hug Joel goodbye on our last day!

We stayed in the lovely tent at the end of the path and fell asleep to the river running and the sounds of the bush. Coffee was brought to our tent at the exact second of our wake-up call, and the post-safari afternoons were spent lounging by the pool before our evening activity. Treat yourself to something wonderful and stay here.

Thank you to everyone at Rhino River Camp for making our stay in Meru so memorable. I fell in love with Africa from the moment I arrived and cannot wait to return. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for an amazing holiday! We will be back and miss you all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I stayed in this lovely camp over the New Year and would like to return again. They gave us a fabulous tent with an outdoor jacuzzi and view of the forest. The facilities are clean and well-maintained. Service was superb and food was impeccable. The manager, Andrea Maggi, a very warm and friendly Italian guy, was there to see to our comfort. On New Year's eve, he served a traditional Italian dish and popped a bottle of sparkling wine not just for us but for all the staff as well, so we had an impromptu family-style celebration. If you want to have close encounters with wild life in the camp itself (such as bush babies and exotic birds), then this is the place! From the Martinez family

Room Tip: Don't come during the rainy season because the roads can get rather flooded. But the camp has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N Maricel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the ultimate example of "glamping" or glamorous camping. The setting, the staff and especially Alberto were warm, welcoming, efficient and so very friendly. The food for all meals was fantastic and the ambience was peaceful and interesting. The game drive in the rhino sanctuary and Meru National Park was exciting and offered a wide variety of animals and the drivers were experienced and very accommodating. I only wish we had been able to spend more time there.

Room Tip: All are equally great - it is the setting and the staff that make the Rhino Camp so excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thank you Alberto, Jacqueline for a perfect stay, hard to express in words ! We were treated with love. Hard to believe the former chef was even better !! Impeccable service from every single person of the staff ! You were our 6th camp and a perfect wind down after 2 weeks of safari in Kenya. Beautiful tropical green and relaxing environment. Great guides, authentic park and beautiful birds !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
7.3 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
241 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
179 reviews
7.4 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
#9 of 56 in Laikipia County
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Camp

Address: Kindani, Meru National Park, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range: $216 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rhino River Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of six luxury cottages built out of sumptuous caramel canvas and sustainably grown wood, raised on platforms above the gently flowing Kindani River will turn your stay at Rhino River Camp into a quiet, exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhino River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing