We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rhino river camp meru kenya”
Review of Rhino River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino River Camp
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rhino River camp in Meru National Park North Kenyais a wonderfull camp in the shadow of old treesproviding always fresh air in the dry Meru , like a perfect oasis,and with a superb swiming pool close to clear water falls ,merveillous sound at night and delicious cuisine presented with art which may challenge the best 4 stars restaurants;
Excellent hospitalitywith an Italian touch ,staff always smilingvery attentive and most of game drives I could see a lot of animals particularly black and white rhinos so endangered and endemic species (lot of reticulated giraffes, lesser kudus , gerenuks , grevy zebras...).and spectacular landscapes,more ,Elsa's grave, lionness of Joy Adamson and climbing a crater with indigenous trees to contemplate vast wildernessworst a visit,
Perfect tents and gentle ambiance make this camp so invinting ;GO To discover one of the best camp I have experienced after 20 trips in Africa !!!!Formidable
Christiane

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trolard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I still dream about this place! Stunning, wonderful stay with some of the most delicious food I have ever eaten. The people made the trip all the more special, they were incredible-special thanks to our guide Benson and to the kitchen staff, as well as management for one of the most memorable trips ever. Oh, and animals galore, including the bush-babies that liked to catch the insects attracted to the lantern light outside my tent. Heaven indeed. Be warned-it is REALLY tough to get to if self-driving through Meru (rainy season didn't help our cause and we got badly stuck in "black cotton"--but help came when we realised how badly stuck we were and night was falling, the staff were truly wonderful)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowfatigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have lived in Nairobi for over a year now and try to get out most weekends. We have been to many tented camps and lodges around Kenya, but have to say Rhino River Camp in Meru is in a different league. The design is contemporary, but sympathetic to it's surroundings, comfortable and unpretentious. The tents are gorgeous, spacious and completely private and what luxury to have a wooden walkway from your terrace to your own private tented sitting room overlooking the river! Every detail has been thought about and there is nothing institutional or mass market in the design. Great beds and proper feather pillows.

The food was very good, particularly the lunches - not a usual occurrence in our experiences in Kenya so far! The staff were charming and could not have been more helpful. The ambience is one of a private paradise which the owner clearly cherishes and cares deeply about. Sitting by the pool at night watching the fireflies flicker over the waterfall is as close to being in the real "Avatar" as it gets and canapés with the bush babies in the evening a lovely bonus! It is a magical place - we loved it and will certainly go back.

Ours was a family outing with a relatively grown up child so we cannot comment on "Kids' Activities", but Meru, like all the parks and conservancies has its own particular charm and is well worth a visit. The drive back to Nairobi via Embu is glorious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagofferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otocione, Owner at Rhino River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you Mrs. Fatts for your fabolous review. We feel that you perfectly catched the spirit with which we designed and are running Rhino River Camp. I will pass your comment to the entire staff and we hope to be able to host you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Once again the luxurious room set in the magnificent raffia palms was incredible, the cuisine exquisite and the service impeccable!
We were there with our 4 1/2 yr old son and 3 1/2 month son and all of us were made to feel welcome. Mom and Dad especially enjoyed the romantic dinners at our own table under the starlit sky... Absolutely perfect - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarmaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to the team at Rhino River Camp for a truly unforgetable experience.It will forever more remain the place where we got the news of our first child.
The accommodation, food and setting is first class, only to be outdone by the staff and experience. If you are contemplating a visit to Meru be sure to call Andrea to guarantee an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end.This was our room but I guess all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed this luxury, tented camp enormously. Italian Andrea Maggi (owner, biologist, documentary producer, Africa expert, was a perfect host in a perfect environment and a good conversationalist. He was always at hand but also discreet. Christina, his manager was also super. The staff was attentive and everyone seemed genuinely friendly with sweet Meru smiles, but they were also discreet. The style was Italien/African luxury with attention to detail (leather water bottles), furniture made of beautiful local hard wood from minimal, necessary felling and designed by Andrea, perfect beds, duvets and pillows, tea and drinks bought to the very private tents with home made biscuits; very ecological, (Cinnaba Green bath products with organic essential oils and water heating by solar energy and for all of the time we had warm water and often too hot). We enjoyed the best food I have ever eaten in Kenya, (own organic vegetable and salad gardens) and some Italien wine (a rare treat). And that isn’t all. It was the setting too. I just fell in love with the camp as a Tarzan fan, living in and with nature and animals in the trees, the rushing river on two sides around our tent, and a wonderful pool with the waterfall beside it and lots of interesting books and magazines. We also saw lots of game close up on guided game drives and Rhino Sanctuary drives in our Land Rover; also Elsa's Kopje, Adamson's falls in the Tanu River, walked up a little caldera and had a marvelous view with aperitifs, a memorable bush breakfast and lunch and lots of reading and swimming in the perfect pool. It was a real change and a rest and we cannot wait to get back there.

Room Tip: There is a family double room tent which is spacious and has a big bath on the deck. My favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited in November. Lots of animals with their young in the park. The siting of the camp's tents next to the river and under the trees was spot on. They were private (we couldn't see our neghbour's tents), large and had comfy, king size beds. Beware, sleeping next to a river tends to make you think it's raining all the time and the bladder responds. The staff were amazing. From booking to arrival to departure. Nothing but courteous and friendly. My only complaint would be that the shower wasn't always hot. I guess the solar water heaters aren't that efficient. Beyond that, I'll definitelybe returning. Soon.

Room Tip: The 'Tarzan' tent or if you have the funds, the largest tent that has an outdoor bathtub ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
7.3 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
245 reviews
7 mi away
Ikweta Safari Camp
Ikweta Safari Camp
#2 of 6 in Meru National Park
197 reviews
7.4 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#5 of 6 in Meru National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rhino River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino River Camp

Address: Kindani, Meru National Park, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Meru National Park
Price Range: $251 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rhino River Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of six luxury cottages built out of sumptuous caramel canvas and sustainably grown wood, raised on platforms above the gently flowing Kindani River will turn your stay at Rhino River Camp into a quiet, exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rhino River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing