We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - But Someone's Wearing My Shoes!”
Review of Greenbelt Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greenbelt Marriott
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at this Marriott over the weekend to join old friends and it's a very nice place with typical Marriott service, comfort, and amenities. You're about a 20-25 minute commute from Reagan National. There is a Metro station nearby for those interested in seeing DC sites. However, shopping/restaurants are 20-30 minutes away in either direction. Rooms clean and comfortable and staff very friendly. Only problem was I left a pair of dress shoes in my room (didn't realize it until my return home). I called hotel/lost n found immediately - who was very responsive - but after 48+ hours, no shoes!! In fact, i left hotel @ 4am on day of checkout and called b/4 housekeeping had a chance to clean room and/or room assigned to a new guest. They were a high end shoe and a size consistent with the average NBA player - pretty hard to miss. Well, these three things are certain: my fault for forgetting them, SOMEONE IN MD IS ENJOYING THOSE SHOES, and I'll probably not be a return customer. While GM promised to call if found/turned in, I don't expect to hear from her.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank bogeyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenbeltMarriottGM, General Manager at Greenbelt Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for your patience regarding your lost shooes. The Shoes have been found yesterday and our Front Desk Staff have been trying to get in touch with you. We would like to verify your address so we can get them back in your possesion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel would receive a much higher rating but for one incident (so I thought) that spoiled the experience. After a long day day of sightseeing we came back to enjoy a glass of wine by the outside pool. It was a beautiful evening. The sun was setting, casting an orange glow over the blue sky. We just sat down at one of the tables when a life guard (from the indoor pool) came out and said that we couldn't sit outside because he wasn't able to watch both the indoor pool and outdoor pool." Not going to swim" I said, "just enjoy the evening." "Sorry" was the reply, "you must come inside." Really, inside pool in the summer? Spoke to the manager, but no dice. Really disappointed in Marriott. Went upstairs frustrated. Jumped in the shower to retire earlier than intended and got out to find that the maids forgot to leave any towels and not one wash cloth!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Gray_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is located in a business park just minutes from the highway and a metro station. It is a clean, well kept hotel. There is an outdoor and indoor pool which is very nice. The weekend our family visited the hotel was booked with a prom and two weddings. The security was visible for the big events and they took care of making sure the hotel guests had adequate parking during these events. The staff was also attentive to the guests and the patrons of the events. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away for a weekend in DC.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were more quiet and up to date. Free laundry on the 3rd floor, what a perk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I recently returned to the Greenbelt Marriott for 2 night stay, having visited here last summer for a brief stay.
The location is fine, although you can hear road noise, even from high floors, and the AC unit has a loud click when cycling off.
The frontdesk staff was great, friendly, but the rooms at this hotel do appear to be in need of some renovations.
Worn carpeting, damaged bathrm. door, weird placement of showerhead in the combo tub/show that is in your face if about 6 ft. tall so you need to duck under it! A I hate the pillows used here, like a beanbag, fell like vinyl under my head....
I really expected more, would probably look to stay elsewhere next visit to the Greenbelt area as this property does not appear to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Seems like road noise is difficult to avoid, recommend earplugs if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed att he Greenbelt Marriott for three nights and found the overall quality of this hotel to be above average. The rooms were of average size and are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. The front desk staff was accomodating and polite. The concierge lounge was comfortable and well stocked. There is plenty of complimentary parking.

This hotel is primarily a business travelers hotel and as such caters to the business people. On the weekends rates can be had for as little as $109/night which is fantastic if you're in town on the weekend. The Greenbelt Metro station is about a mile away and offers ample parking. You can be in downtown Washington n about 15-20 minutes on the Metro without the hassle of traffic or parking. Overall, a very nice hotel and I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poncherello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for a Maryland football game, hotel is nice and staff very accomidating. The weekend buffet was included in our package is well done. One note of caution, this in a business park and you need a car. The second note is the local AMTRAK station in New Carroleton use caution, my friend was pickpocketed in the station. The police said this has happened before.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTTraveller441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through priceline and were very pleased with the friendly staff and overall cleanliness of the hotel. Only minor complaints were that they charge for wifi and the pool was way too warm. Overall it beats more expensive hotels closer to DC if you don't mind taking a half hour train ride into DC to get to the national mall. The Greenbelt metro station is less than a mile away. Our kids really liked the beautiful waterfall in the lobby also. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#2 of 5 in Greenbelt
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#3 of 12 in College Park
484 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Washington D.C. - Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbelt Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbelt Marriott

Address: 6400 Ivy Ln, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range: $100 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenbelt Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenbelt Marriott welcomes you with contemporary style and a convenient location. Settle into a well-appointed room at our hotel Greenbelt, Maryland, which offers both comfort and functionality; a marble bathroom, pillowtop mattress, and flat-screen TV are just a few of the perks waiting for you in your accommodations. Start your morning in Greenbelt with a tasty breakfast at our on-site Silver Moon Cafe, or gather with friends at M Blue Bar and Lounge after a busy day. Additional hotel amenities include a fully-equipped fitness center. With 10,000 of versatile venue space, we provide a wonderful setting for your next business or social event. And with both Washington, DC and Baltimore within an easy drive from the hotel - not to mention the University of Maryland, the FDA White Oak campus, and FedEx Field - we place the best of the area within your reach. We look forward to helping you travel brilliantly here at Greenbelt Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenbelt Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbelt Marriott Hotel Greenbelt
Marriott Greenbelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing