We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Affordable. Clean rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Affordable. Clean rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here on a summer trip to visit Washington D.C. This was a very affordable option and the drive into the city daily wasn't bad as long as you didn't hit traffic. The staff was friendly on our arrival. We checked in and went up to our room and the door was unlocked and open. My husband called down immediately and they apologized and gave us another room on the same floor (which was nice since we didn't have to carry our luggage up and down again). The room was nice, and clean. You could tell a half-reno had been done to the bathroom, showers still seemed older. The decor seemed fresh and new and clean.

Cons: The pool area seemed dirty while we were there and didn't have very long hours. There were no towels around the pool area like they said their would be. We saw many people looking around for them. Finally someone figured out that the guy sitting pool-side watching something on his laptop worked there and asked him for more towels.

Pros: Friendly front desk and cleaning staff, free coffee, hot chocolate and tea machine in the lobby (which broke during out stay, but the days it was working it was a really nice bonus!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintfp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Winter fp11:
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry that there were no towels for our Seasonal Pool when you were here. We have brought to the pool supervisor's attention.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and the service of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon, thank you for staying with us and posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    141
    88
    24
    11
See reviews for
103
65
43
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean hotel. the staff here was very friendly.. housekeeping was okay. the restaurant staff is very friendly. There is a shopping center across the street within walking distance. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. the shuttle guy in the morning was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear MissLaddy:
Thank you for such a wonderful review about our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked this hotel for a night while visiting my friends after a mud run. I got a steal for $56 on Priceline. It was really clean and affordable. The free coffee, friendly staff and nice bar were really impressive. I didn't get to eat at the restaurant but it looked nice and affordable. A woman was walking out w/ a plate she got from breakfast and it looked tasty! I would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Everytime I visit the DC area I stay at this hotel. They know me very time I stay there. The service is impeccable. Chris the manager is awesome. He is extremely accommodating and he always makes sure that I am taken care of.

The hotel is very convenient. There is a shopping center within walking distance or a short ride. If they don't have what you need, another mall is 5 minutes down the road.

The rooms are large and extremely clean. The pool is nice and relaxing. I have never had an unpleasant experience there. I cannot wait until my next trip down there. Keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghcutie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I got a great deal staying in this hotel. I booked this hotel through hotwire but wouldn't mind paying the full price and when my family comes in the fall, this is definitely where I would recommend them staying. I've lived in the DC/MD area for about four years now. The only reason I booked a hotel for the weekend is because I work in a hospital in DC that requires me to show up within an hour of calling me to come in (On-call). So, since I live so far away and can't make it to the hospital in an hour, I have to book a hotel whenever I'm on-call. This hotel is on the outskirts of DC but very close to the city and once more, you're also close to the beltway (495). I work with many people who live in this area and work in DC. The parking is free (which is very much appreciated especially when you're living in this area) and from what the website says, it's close to the metro station. I haven't been to the Greenbelt metro yet so if you're planning to take the metro going into DC I would check first if parking is available. Although shuttle service is also available through the hotel (I think). Anyway, once you're in a metro, you can go pretty much anywhere in DC/MD/VA area, see sites like the National Mall and even go to VA and airports like BWI and Dulles. These may take longer of course since it's pubic transportation.

Back to the hotel...The rooms are big, clean, and comfortable. The staff is friendly. Free coffee/hot chocolate/tea in the lobby. Easy check in. Internet works fast and very easy to connect. Cable TV in the rooms. My room had a king bed, desk, comfy chair with ottoman, fridge, microwave, and coffee machine (which I told is included in ALL the rooms) and a good-sized bathroom. Quiet and there's a restaurant downstairs in their lobby. There's also a pool downstairs and I was told that an Ihop is close by. Would definitely stay here again. It's a great room at a great price. Safe area too. and once more, the hotel is tucked away so although it's close to the main street and the I495, you need not worry about walking late at night from your car to your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiko_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn always seems to deliver. I have been lucky to get many times using hotwire and always its a positive experience.

Rooms are spacious and clean, staff nice and the buildings in good standard.

Its a safe pick, and this place also.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you continue to enjoy staying with us.
Thank you for being a loyal guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel about 4 times. This is the only hotel I stay in Prince George's County because of the questionable areas in the county. There may be better hotels, but my first stay was very good, so I continue to return. The beds and rooms are comfortable. My only problem with the room is the lighting. They need more lighting for those who are there on business.

I don't know if it is a language issue or not, but it's a hit or miss regarding the quality of service at the front desk.

I've eaten dinner at the restaurant during each of my stays. The food is good and reasonably. priced.

If you drive to hotel, be ready to be confused with the traffic circle. Although they have Holiday Inn signs, for some reason, navigating the last 1-1/2 is always difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLawyer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGreenbelt, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad that you enjoy staying with us and keep coming back. If you are having issues with the lighting let us know, and we can get you an extra lamp. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.4 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#3 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Address: 7200 Hanover Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-2246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt completes multi-million dollar renovation! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington, DC / Greenbelt is a full-service hotel conveniently located near many government and corporate offices: NASA, Verizon, IRS, FDA, USDA, Lockheed Martin, the University of Maryland in College Park, and New Carrollton Amtrak and Greenbelt Metro stations are within 5 miles. Corporate guests will appreciate the free high-speed Internet, and fitness center. Leisure travelers staying at the Greenbelt hotel will enjoy visiting Six Flags America and the Greenway Center Shopping Center, plus the many attractions in nearby Washington, DC, Baltimore, and Annapolis. Sports enthusiasts will be convenient to FedEx Field - Washington Redskins, RFK Stadium - Washington Nationals and DC United, Verizon Center - Capitals, Wizards, and Mystics. At the newly renovated Holiday Inn Washington DC/Greenbelt, our service is outstanding and our accommodations are superb. Kids Eat Free in Willy K's, our comfortable and recently renovated restaurant and lounge. The Holiday Inn Washington, DC/Greenbelt offers two meeting rooms and is located adjacent to the Martin's Crosswinds Catering Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Md Hotel Greenbelt
Holiday Inn Greenbelt Nasa
Greenbelt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing