We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fire alert” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fire alert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Pros: Updated with excellent dining staff and chefs.

Cons: There was a burning smell of plastic in the lobby that suggested an electrical fire. Power went out on 4th and 6th floor of hotel. Fire panel in foyer showed fire pump fault. Management was very vague about what was going on. It seemed like they did not know. Later, there was another unrelated incident in the kitchen that set the fire alarms off.
Why wasn't the Fire Dept. on site to assist in diagnosing problem. Guests were sitting in the lobby with their coats on ready to run but had no guidance. We left and were welcomed at the Hampton Inn in College Park. Excellent transition and staff over there.

Room Tip: Average ratings are due to fire alert communication. Breakfast needs to start at 6:00, like the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    167
    69
    32
    27
See reviews for
207
77
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stay at this hotel for several nights on a quarterly basis and I always grab breakfast at the hotel. They have the best dining staff of anywhere I've ever stayed - hands down. They're friendly, courteous, and efficient and always willing to accommodate myneeds. The food is good and they always have a great selection and wide variety of items available. I am especially impressed by the warmth and personal service I receive from Africa - she is truly dedicated to deliverying exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel sits in a business park so the immediate area is fine but the closest shopping/dining area to the west (Beltway Plaza) is a little run down and I wasn't comfortable going there after dark. Drive a few extra minutes to the east towards Greenway and it's a little bit nicer. The rooms were average, a few stains on the walls but otherwise they were ok, no bugs. I probably wouldn't stay here again, there are better options a 10-15 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A1ManWolfPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter is a student at the University of Maryland and I came to visit her . I stayed for a number of days and marvelled at the excellent service and friendly staff. I want to highly commend the Dining Staff which is run by Chef Jonathan. Jonathan is professional, food was excellent and I felt like I hired by own personal chef. Jonathan even delivers the food so beautifully prepareed to your room. Jonathan had an excellent chef, Ms.S, also known as Justeen Banawbanay, along with my outstanding server, Joseph . During the day, I want to commend Aftica and Carol for their excellent breakfast service and big smiles. The front desk was pleasant and very helpful. I found the entire staff at the Hotel to be very friendly and welcoming. My room was very clean and comfortable. I truly appreciated the free Shuttle Service to the train. I will be returning again. I highly recommend this Hilton Garden Inn because of its excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff at the desk who greeted me were very warm and friendly . Room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was great, not the usual fare that's offered at most hotels. The hotels location was very convenient to local attractions. Who could ask for more than that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Couldn't find a hotel in DC for the inaugural events and was pleasantly surprised to walk into this Hilton property - it was light, bright, and the staff was very courteous and welcoming. There's a shuttle that takes you to the metro and I was in the heart of DC within 20 minutes. Joseph was kind enough to wait for me at the metro station after the last of the trains had left. This meant a lot to me as a single woman traveling alone. Special thanks to Africa (serving staff) who had my tea waiting for me every time I came down for breakfast. I felt so warmed and welcomed coming into the lounge area. She made me feel as if was the only guest at the hotel. She knew my name, what I liked to eat, etc ..... What a WOW feeling this hotel conveyed to me!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel, The staff at the front desk was nice, the room was okay. We were there for the inauguration so the availability for rooms were limited, the bed as well as the comforter was okay and could have been better (I believe in most Hilton brand hotels they have the plush sleep bedding which is normally advertised, this hotel does not have this. The carpet was a bit dirty, however it didn't bother us much because we dont walk barefoot around, we always have on shoes. The best part of this hotel is the breakfast. Made to order olmettes was a nice touch, the buffet was alwasy stocked with fresh fruit, pasteries, beverages and other breakfast items. The waits staff was supberb and made sure you left satisfied. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.6 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#3 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Address: 7810 Walker Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is conveniently located just off I-95 and Hwy 495 (exit 23) in Maryland. Minutes away from BWI airport and strolls away from the Washington, DC attractions. Above and Beyond: Each guest room or luxury suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt features complimentary high-speed internet access, a spacious work desk and two telephones with data ports and voice mail. Standard amenities in all of our rooms include a microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt, Maryland hotel features 155 oversized guest rooms including 10 two room suites and 3 700 square feet of meeting space, where events and meeting are your place to shine. Leave the details to our dedicated sales team. We offer On-site catering with high quality and varied menus to compliment any budget. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 300. Call our sales office for details. Why pay downtown prices when you can have all you need for a lot less? The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is “Economy Friendly.” We recognize and understand that during these tentative times, a great deal is very important for you and your company. Our hotel has made and continues to make many adjustments to ensure that you are getting the BEST VALUE possible. Complimentary features at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt:• Complimentary parking• Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout entire hotel• Complimentary shuttle service to metro station• Complimentary 24 hour Business Center• Complimentary on site state-of the art Fitness Center• Complimentary faxes• Complimentary remote printing from the comfort of your room• Complimentary USA Today paper each weekday• Complimentary Stay Fit Kits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt
Hilton Greenbelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing