We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Appreciated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Customer Service Appreciated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here with two teens when visiting the University of MD. Checked into our double room and was immediately greeted by an odor that we couldn't quite identify. I thought it was mildewy but my kids thought it was something used to cover up cigarette smoke. It was an attractive room but I had an immediate allergic reaction and asked to be switched to another room. As there weren't any more doubles available we were cheerfully upgraded to a suite. We appreciated the hassle-less room change and fully enjoyed having two bathrooms and two tvs unexpectedly. Room smelled perfectly fine. Customer service was very friendly at breakfast the next day as well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    178
    75
    36
    30
See reviews for
221
83
41
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to the staff and management of this establishment for making our stay, which was short but very nice. We just dropped off our son at the University of MD, and we decided to stay over. All of our questions about the area were answered by the friendly staff.
Dinner in the restaurant was great, service was professional. This will be our hotel when we come to visit our son in the future.
Thanks again to the management and staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel with my family. My husband who is a stickler for customer service was Very impressed with the staff and management of this hotel. We had two rooms, both of which were very clean, the staff was always very helpful, the general manager was always around, I had to ask him if he stayed at the hotel of did he go home. We used the restaurant, and had great service, the food was great. Thanks to the wonderful staff and management, our stay in DC was worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The management and staff at this hotel are great. The greets and smiles, the welcoming in the restaurant. Managers stopping by the restaurant to make sure you are satisfied. Front desk staff was very welcoming. I happend to ride the elevator with the General Manager and I expressed my satisfaction with the hotel and that I have always stayed there and I have noticed how the hotel, restaurant and food have improved greately. He was very courteous and expressed thanks and appreciation of my comments on the improvement. He personally helped me get my suitcase off the elevator and walked me to my room door. Wonderful service. Now I know I will always stay at the Hilton Garden Greenbelt having met the GM and beautiful staff.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherineD660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The management and staff of this hotel was very professional to me on my business trip to DC. My room was clean, service at the front desk was excellent and above all the General Manager was very courteous to me, he answered all of my questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just returned from our overnight at the Hilton Garden Inn and had the most delightful stay. I've read so many negative reviews of late, I'm wondering if we stayed at the same place? Our room was clean & comfortable, had ample towels for all 3 of us, and was nicely appointed. The staff couldn't be nicer nor more accommodating from the desk staff to housekeeping to the wait staff for the breakfast buffet. We come down a few times during the school year to visit our child who's a student at UMD College Park and found the location to be ideal. Will definitely return and highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCityfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel staffs seems no knowledge on how to take care the the mistakes they made to the customrs.
I had a gov business trip to DC, booked through our gov agency, so I come in on time and checked out on time, they slided the reciept under my door on the day we ckecked out. In my case, they need to charge us less for State tax(we have filled an exemption certificate form for the tax exemption and handed to the front desk when we arrive). When we checked out in Friday morning, the amount to be charged was totaly wrong!!! And seemed no one know how to correct it. We have to wait for about 10 minutes for the front desk to find a way to correct that for me and my co-worker, it took the guy another 30 minutes to correct it. I thought it was taken care.
After I was back to office, I checked my gov credit card, found out that the front desk guy didn't do it right, I was over charged almost $400(the amount was not matched my receipt that I was given at the hotel). So I called the hotel, hope they will correct it, and the manager's name was Martin, he sounded polite and said will correct it asap. I trusted him the first time, after a couple of days late. I checked my card again. I was told there were another almost $400 were charged by this hotel. I was shocked. I called Martin again, and this time I was put on hold for more than 10 minutes and transfered to a lady, sounded fine, but my issue WAS NOT CORRECTED after a week. So I called my citi card and faxed my receipt to the citi cards, it was corrected by my card company in a week, not this Hotel. The Hotel really suposed to reverse the charge the first time, but what they did is charged again for the same amount instead of correcting the amount.

It took me almost a month to correct, and really frustrate. Will not recommend to any of my co-worker to stay there.

The hotel is not run by Hilton for some reason, you will feel like stayed at a motel, even not comparable to Holiday Inn. The service is not matching the Hilton Garden Inn level.

The breakfast was free for my rate, but was very limitted, dinner menu was very expensive for this level of Hotel, not great food, just soso or OK for such a high price.

Stay Away from this place!!!

Another thing want to mention is that the hotel manager is not telling the true, he replied on my co-worker's feedback, said we were over charged beacause we checked out early. That is not true, we checked out on time, we got the check out reciept under our door on Friday morning. He lied about that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Residence Inn Greenbelt
#3 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Address: 7810 Walker Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is conveniently located just off I-95 and Hwy 495 (exit 23) in Maryland. Minutes away from BWI airport and strolls away from the Washington, DC attractions. Above and Beyond: Each guest room or luxury suite at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt features complimentary high-speed internet access, a spacious work desk and two telephones with data ports and voice mail. Standard amenities in all of our rooms include a microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt, Maryland hotel features 155 oversized guest rooms including 10 two room suites and 3 700 square feet of meeting space, where events and meeting are your place to shine. Leave the details to our dedicated sales team. We offer On-site catering with high quality and varied menus to compliment any budget. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 300. Call our sales office for details. Why pay downtown prices when you can have all you need for a lot less? The Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt hotel is “Economy Friendly.” We recognize and understand that during these tentative times, a great deal is very important for you and your company. Our hotel has made and continues to make many adjustments to ensure that you are getting the BEST VALUE possible. Complimentary features at the Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt:• Complimentary parking• Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout entire hotel• Complimentary shuttle service to metro station• Complimentary 24 hour Business Center• Complimentary on site state-of the art Fitness Center• Complimentary faxes• Complimentary remote printing from the comfort of your room• Complimentary USA Today paper each weekday• Complimentary Stay Fit Kits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc / Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Hilton Garden Inn Greenbelt
Hilton Greenbelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing