We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big dinner - good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Jade - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Jade
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Cheverly,MD,USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“big dinner - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

we went for early dinner on new years eve and had an enjoyable dinner with a very pan asian menu. we had a great sushi made to order as well as a variety of Thai and Chinese entrees. Our waiter was helpful and not discourteous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loyahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanham, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First and probably last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We went to the Royal Jade on the recommendation of a friend. The service was slow from the start. No one at the desk to greet us and when someone did show up they had to take an order for take-out first since no one else was there to help. This was followed be a single diner to be seated. The hostess did not return, rather wandered off to another part of the restaurant. When she did come back she dealt with an employee asking a question then searched under the desk for something. When finally seated we were place next to an Bose iPod player blasting Christmas music done by cover artists. Finally got them to turn it down.

Tea and water arrived promptly along with menus but it was 15-20 minutes before our order was taken. When I told the waiter we thought no one was working our section he simply said: "we had other things to do."

This place bills its self as Asian but is Chinese with a sushi bar. We had originally thought we would order off the Chinese menu but decided to try the sushi. We order a combo plate for two. Again, it took almost twenty minutes for the order to arrive. In the mean time a large office party had been seated in an area adjacent and it became quite loud.

The dinner included miso soup and salad. The miso soup was a salted fish base soup and wasn't even close to miso soup. In retrospect, since it was a Chinese restaurant, we should of ordered the hot and sour soup but that didn't seem right with sushi. The salad consisted of a bowl of seaweed salad which I like it in small quantities but a bowl is too much. The sushi/sashimi plate was well done and artistically presented as sushi chefs are trained to do. The sushi/sashimi was up to snuff with other sushi restaurants were we have eaten but then it is hard to mess up raw fish. The price was about what we would expect to pay for dinner for two.

Given the quality of service and over all noise level (even without the music and party) I doubt if we will return. There is a much better sushi restaurant nearby and we have a hole in the wall take out place we get Chinese food from that is excellent and fast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food in Royal Jade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a very nice place to bring your family and friends. The food is always excellent, with very reasonable prices. The place is huge for everybody. Parking is also not a problem. They just recently move to this new place. I believe, a lot of people like their food as can be observed from a lot of take out orders, as you enter the restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manuel1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst ever chinese meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Tasteless food General tso chicken was barely discernible from orange chicken slow inattentive service

Helpful?
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt
1 review
“New Jade is not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Royal Jade open up in the old Jasper location in Greenway center. Portions are alot smaller and the waiters are the same. I order Marcopolo beef it had hardly any sauce and the food was cold plus not even spicy like at the old location. I complain to the lady in front and she kind of like blew me off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CircusVolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Jade also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing