We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, not so good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good room, not so good service”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

First time in a Residence Inn. Really enjoyed the extra room! It was a studio, but with a full kitchen/living room area. Great proximity to UMD College Park campus. Housekeeping service was spotty. We were 3 people and were routinely left with only 2 clean towels. My husband went to the front desk every day to get more. They promised to let housekeeping know we needed more, but this went on for all 5 days of our stay. Also, disappointed that they didn't make up the room until late every day - 5:00!
Other than that, we enjoyed the pool, the free breakfasts and the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltunick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Because we want your stay to always be a pleasant one, we will use your comments to enhance our service potential. Thank you once again and we look forward to a future opportunity to offer you quality service with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    63
    22
    10
    13
See reviews for
84
20
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We like to take an annual family summer trip to D.C. and we consistently stay at the Residence Inn Greenbelt where you get a lot of bang for your buck. Staying just outside the city saves us a bunch of money alone, but there are a lot of other reasons we choose this hotel over others:

1. Staff: The hotel manager, Mr. Davis, and his staff are helpful, friendly and willing to do "whatever it takes" to make your stay a good one. You can never beat good customer service.

2. Location: The Greenbelt Metro Station (Green Line) is less than a 5 minute drive from the hotel. There is ample parking (sometimes a rarity at Metro stations) and it's in a clean, safe, neighborhood where we feel good about leaving our car for up to 12 hours a day. We'll normally hop on the Metro, enjoy the 20min ride into the city and go about our day. We usually return late at night, but the station is always well lit, security is present, and the parking lot is also bright, open, and feels "safe". There are also several shopping plazas all within a 5 minute drive of the hotel that have everything you could possibly need.

3. Simple: This hotel is simple and serves its purpose; a nice, clean, quiet place to return to at the end of a busy day. The beds are comfortable, there is ample room in every kind of room (studio, 1 bdrm suite, or 2 bdrm suite), maid service is consistent. If you think ahead, fill one of those travel containers with some laundry soap from home and bring a roll of quarters with you; you can pack much less and do a load or two of laundry (located on the 2nd and 4th floors) during your stay.

4. Kitchen: Having a full kitchen saves us a TON of money. While the breakfasts served there are "ok", there wasn't always something for everyone. With a quick trip to Giant Supermarket just down the road, we are able to buy some simple groceries that allow us to keep some food in our room. $75 at Giant fed our family of 4 breakfast for 4 mornings, 4 nights worth of snacks, and drinks whenever we wanted. Compare that to feeding the family dinner at a local diner for $67.00 for ONE MEAL and you can't miss the advantages that come with having the kitchen. We even cooked a frozen pizza for dinner in the oven one night when we returned too late to go to a restaurant but too hungry to just head to bed! Perfection!


I'll end this with saying that we drive into the D.C. area and having either your own car or a rental would be best if you choose to stay in this hotel.

The Residence Inn Greenbelt is a GREAT place for families to stay while in the Washington, D.C. area.

Room Tip: There's a lot of families here, and while the rooms are well insulated, if you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mrs. B.
Because we are in the hospitality business, one of our goals is to WOW our customers. I must say, I have just been WOW'd by your wonderfully detailed compliments. On behalf of me and my staff, we humbly Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS Gulf coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very clean with all the amenities, including wired Internet. Adequate breakfast and friendly staff. There was even food and drinks offered on the weekday evenings. Greenbelt green metro station only a few miles down the road with 4+ dollar parking. Good place to stay in Greenbelt, but nothing in walking distance except a TGI Fridays.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Gulf Coast Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted that you were able to experience some of our latest amenities. Our evening social has become an even bigger hit with the addition of Beer & Wine during dinner. The next time you are here please stop by the Front Desk for a list of things to do in the surrounding area. I am sure we will be able to find something to peak your interest and ensure that your next stay is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This summer our family spent three nights here as we toured the DC and Maryland areas. When we first entered the hotel the staff was very friendly and professional. It was very refreshing after our long ride. The room was very clean and spacious. Their breakfast buffet was excellent. The food was hot and very tasty. Our son and the daughters of our friends who were with us enjoyed the pool! There was a full time lifeguard who helped to make us all feel safe. This was our third visit to the hotel and each time we have been very pleased. We will continue to use this facility whenever we are in the area. The Boyd Family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyddkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Boyd Family,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Residence Inn Greenbelt. We are always pleased to welcome back old friends such as you. Please let me know when you are planning your next visit so that I may have the opportunity to personally welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just came back from a two week stay for a family reunion. We chose the place because it was the only one around that had an outdoor swimming pool. It wasn't very big, but clean and great to cool off after a day touring DC.

The staff is very nice and willing to help, but seems to be lost at times, depending on the request...

Out one bedroom suite was roomy and comfortable. My only issue was cleanliness. I think the room was vacuumed maybe twice all the time we were there. And they probably use some sort of glue based cleaner for the kitchen floor... Although they knew there were four people in the room, everynight we had to ask for more towels - two was all they could afford everyday. I killed a spider on the window sill and left it there to see what was going to happen. When we left, the poor thing was still there, waiting for a proper burial... As for the bedding, they say they change it every other day, but it wasn't so. Overall, the room needed a good scrub. It looked like it had been renovated not long ago, but because of the lack of care it looked old and dirty.

There are two laundry rooms in the building, one of the washers was out of order all the time I was there.

Breakfast was ok, eggs, potatos, waffles, yougurt every single day. "Eggs Florentine" once a week....

It is a great place to stay, very handy to get to all highways and only 20 min from DC by car. Although it was very convenient for us, since we have family in College Park, I wouldn't stay there again unless there was an improvement on the overall maintenance of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the basketball court. They say there is a curfew at 9 pm but it is not enfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlommeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Bloome Family,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We are always interested in receiving feedback from our valuable guest on the many ways that we have exceeded their expectations and on how we may improve our services as well. I offer my sincerest apology for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your recent stay. If you will please contact me directly at the hotel, I would appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss the challenges you expressed.

Thank you once again and I respectfully look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel two different weekends in July/2012. Everything was great except the air conditioner would run for 10 minutes then the hot fan for 20mins!! I complained to the front desk who did not send anyone up the first time and the the second stay they did not send anyone to my room until it was time for me to leave:-(. Other than that, I would stay again:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate your insight and we are glad that you would still stay regardless of the minor inconvenience. Because of the extreme weather this past July, our AC units were going nonstop the entire month. It was so warm that I do believe the school kids were already praying for snow! But seriously, all of our AC units have been inspected and are currently in working order. Unfortunately during your stay, the excessive heat we experienced produced a high volume of service calls requesting everything from extra towels and ice bags to Tylenol and popsicles. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and I am pleased to inform you that should you return this month; the temperature is so much more pleasant.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great room for the price! Very modern & clean. At $99/night, we had everything we needed for our family of 4. Kitchen in our room was convenient. Complimentary breakfast was good, & pool, although small, was nice. 5min to college park train station (parking only $4), with a 23 min ride into DC. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzielizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. Comfort, convenience and quality service are qualities that make us stand apart from all the rest. We are very family orientated and are pleased to provide many of the comforts of home for our visiting families and single travelers as well. It is our sincere hope that you will make Residence Inn Greenbelt your home away from home whenever you are in the DC area.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.6 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Greenbelt

Property: Residence Inn Greenbelt
Address: 6320 Golden Triangle Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Greenbelt Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing