We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Greenbelt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Certificate of Excellence
MS Gulf coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very clean with all the amenities, including wired Internet. Adequate breakfast and friendly staff. There was even food and drinks offered on the weekday evenings. Greenbelt green metro station only a few miles down the road with 4+ dollar parking. Good place to stay in Greenbelt, but nothing in walking distance except a TGI Fridays.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfCoastBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Gulf Coast Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted that you were able to experience some of our latest amenities. Our evening social has become an even bigger hit with the addition of Beer & Wine during dinner. The next time you are here please stop by the Front Desk for a list of things to do in the surrounding area. I am sure we will be able to find something to peak your interest and ensure that your next stay is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
80
18
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This summer our family spent three nights here as we toured the DC and Maryland areas. When we first entered the hotel the staff was very friendly and professional. It was very refreshing after our long ride. The room was very clean and spacious. Their breakfast buffet was excellent. The food was hot and very tasty. Our son and the daughters of our friends who were with us enjoyed the pool! There was a full time lifeguard who helped to make us all feel safe. This was our third visit to the hotel and each time we have been very pleased. We will continue to use this facility whenever we are in the area. The Boyd Family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyddkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Boyd Family,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay here at the Residence Inn Greenbelt. We are always pleased to welcome back old friends such as you. Please let me know when you are planning your next visit so that I may have the opportunity to personally welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just came back from a two week stay for a family reunion. We chose the place because it was the only one around that had an outdoor swimming pool. It wasn't very big, but clean and great to cool off after a day touring DC.

The staff is very nice and willing to help, but seems to be lost at times, depending on the request...

Out one bedroom suite was roomy and comfortable. My only issue was cleanliness. I think the room was vacuumed maybe twice all the time we were there. And they probably use some sort of glue based cleaner for the kitchen floor... Although they knew there were four people in the room, everynight we had to ask for more towels - two was all they could afford everyday. I killed a spider on the window sill and left it there to see what was going to happen. When we left, the poor thing was still there, waiting for a proper burial... As for the bedding, they say they change it every other day, but it wasn't so. Overall, the room needed a good scrub. It looked like it had been renovated not long ago, but because of the lack of care it looked old and dirty.

There are two laundry rooms in the building, one of the washers was out of order all the time I was there.

Breakfast was ok, eggs, potatos, waffles, yougurt every single day. "Eggs Florentine" once a week....

It is a great place to stay, very handy to get to all highways and only 20 min from DC by car. Although it was very convenient for us, since we have family in College Park, I wouldn't stay there again unless there was an improvement on the overall maintenance of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the basketball court. They say there is a curfew at 9 pm but it is not enfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlommeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Bloome Family,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We are always interested in receiving feedback from our valuable guest on the many ways that we have exceeded their expectations and on how we may improve our services as well. I offer my sincerest apology for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your recent stay. If you will please contact me directly at the hotel, I would appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss the challenges you expressed.

Thank you once again and I respectfully look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel two different weekends in July/2012. Everything was great except the air conditioner would run for 10 minutes then the hot fan for 20mins!! I complained to the front desk who did not send anyone up the first time and the the second stay they did not send anyone to my room until it was time for me to leave:-(. Other than that, I would stay again:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate your insight and we are glad that you would still stay regardless of the minor inconvenience. Because of the extreme weather this past July, our AC units were going nonstop the entire month. It was so warm that I do believe the school kids were already praying for snow! But seriously, all of our AC units have been inspected and are currently in working order. Unfortunately during your stay, the excessive heat we experienced produced a high volume of service calls requesting everything from extra towels and ice bags to Tylenol and popsicles. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and I am pleased to inform you that should you return this month; the temperature is so much more pleasant.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great room for the price! Very modern & clean. At $99/night, we had everything we needed for our family of 4. Kitchen in our room was convenient. Complimentary breakfast was good, & pool, although small, was nice. 5min to college park train station (parking only $4), with a 23 min ride into DC. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzielizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. Comfort, convenience and quality service are qualities that make us stand apart from all the rest. We are very family orientated and are pleased to provide many of the comforts of home for our visiting families and single travelers as well. It is our sincere hope that you will make Residence Inn Greenbelt your home away from home whenever you are in the DC area.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night and am so upset by the hotel that I am writing this from the room. Got to the hotel at 4pm and went to the lobby. There was a gentleman in line who wanted to check into his two bedroom suite and was told to wait for at least another half hour before it was ready. I checked in and went to the room assigned to me and it was a studio not a one bedroom I paid for. After calling the front desk I was told that they had sold out all of the one bedrooms and this is all they had left. Unacceptable. I made my reservation a week in advance and they managed the hotel very poorly. Also there is only one towel in the room, incomplete bedding for the pullout bed and security at the hotel is nonexistent. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Traveler,
I want to personally offer you my sincerest apology for any challenges you encountered during your recent stay and I would hope that you will reconsider your decision and honor us with another visit in the near future. It is unfortunate but sometimes true that within the hospitality industry a guest will have to wait for a particular room type. Although seldom, this occurrence is usually caused when a hotel is sold out the night before and the guest occupying an assigned room, checks out late or decides to extend their stay for another night. I would love to discuss these concerns with you further. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,
Allen Davis, General Manager
Residence Inn Greenbelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were in town for a big academic competition. I made reservations 6 mos in advance, then mistakenly canceled them the week before. The desk clerk who answered my panicked call could do nothing to fix that, but gave me an idea of how to make the hotel work with what they had available. Very good service, even before we arrived!

We stayed here last about 5 years ago, for the same competition. The upgrade in the meantime has been wonderful! The apartments - I mean suites - are lovely, modern, and clean. The TVs are BIG. The laundry works too! Very happy with the room area. We stayed several days previous to this at the neighboring hotel of a different chain, and there was no comparison. This is prime!

The recreation area is in the area between the L shaped room wing, and the point of the square where the lobby and breakfast is. The sport court is well used by the young people, but did not bother me at all even with my room on that side.

Same for the seasonal outdoor pool. The pool is a big kidney bean shaped pool, and can hold 55 or so? There is a real lifeguard, who checks the chemical balance every 2 hours, and has the records there for you to inspect if you want. Dogs are not allowed in the pool. Dads are, and the ones I saw were having a blast with their kids. The lifeguard required everyone out for her breaks, which was a minor annoyance, but safety first! Pool did not open a minute before 10 am, maybe even a little after, and was closed promptly at 8 or 9. This was a big hit with my kids.

Meals M/T/W, breakfasts included our dr ordered oatmeal!

Shuttle within a couple of miles from hotel, includes the Metro Station. You do need to make a reservation for the trip 24 hours in advance, both to and from, and it must be back to the hotel by 7:30.

We ordered an airport shuttle online for here, and they worked great at this location and picked up one of us at 2:30. Desk clerk was cheerful at that time of am, but did seem surprised that someone would leave at that time of night. But when you have one of your number whose been bumped to a 5 am flight, well, you try to make the best of it. Goodbyes were said at 2:30, and every thing was all right in the world. :)

Location is great. There is a CVS, Chipotle, and Atlanta Bread Company within a mile, and a Giant food store and Staples just before those. There are two Revolutionary Ware soldiers buried in the far corner of this business park, overlooking the freeway, which was a great "hiking" trip for my city weary competitors. This is our place when coming to this area.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corn&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen d, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenbelt, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you sharing your very detailed and insightful comments. I must say, 5 years is a long time between visits, but we’re always pleased to welcome you back. We have made quite a few improvements since your last stay and from the sound of your letter, we did alright (smile). Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts with us and we hope that you will not wait another 5 years before your next visit.

Sincerely Honored To Have You Back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenbelt
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Greenbelt
Courtyard Greenbelt
#5 of 5 in Greenbelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenbelt Marriott
Greenbelt Marriott
#4 of 5 in Greenbelt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Greenbelt

Property: Residence Inn Greenbelt
Address: 6320 Golden Triangle Dr, Greenbelt, MD 20770-3230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Greenbelt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenbelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Greenbelt 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Greenbelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Greenbelt Hotel Greenbelt
Greenbelt Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing