We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay with a TAN property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed October 1, 2013

First let me say that my experience was with a TAN property . The complex it self and it's amenities are great . Beautiful views , nice pool area . The Jacuzzi is a comfort after a long day of hiking or shopping . Although it did smell like too much chlorine everyday. They had a very nice laundry facility on site .
If you go I strongly recommend you do NOT stay in unit #3302. It is deplorable . We had a three bedroom unit , which I later learned was a lease by TAN and not owned by them . The bed in the master felt like it was made of corn husks rather than a mattress. There was a large split in the bathroom floor that had been taped together . The handles on the faucets were striped , so you either had very hot water or cold water . The towel bar kept falling down . There was no screen in the window . The furniture was very worn and out dated . Looked like it had been purchased at a hotel liquidation sale . I would have passed it up on at a yard sale . The couch was so uncomfortable, sitting thru a movie was impossible .The cables on the TV ( which was nice and fairly new ) were not the proper type to allow you to watch DVD's with a quality picture ( everything had a red halo ) . The legs on the chairs to the dinner table were so loose I thought they would fall apart at anytime. The carpet in master bath was so stretched , that it causes a tripping hazard .
I can say that the kitchen did have everything you could need to cook all your meals if wanted .
I would strongly recommend to TAN members or anyone wishing to stay there , DO NOT book unit #3302. .

Room Tip: Do not book unit #3302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 181 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Where to start. First off i will give the only two positives about this facility. The view and the quiet outside of your room. Now for the rest. The night we arrived we checked in successfully and after walking into the room we noticed the fire extinguisher for the room, by the door, is completely empty, and had just been "inspected", this was not a deal breaker in and of itself but was a warning sign of things to come. We mentioned it to the front desk at the same time as our next adventure and to the maintenance guys we had the joy of meeting later, but alas it was never replaced and excuses were plentiful When your in your unit you have a front row seat for the audio show that is anyone else in the building as sound travels wonderfully between the units. This brings us to our second issue and that is the reception of a gift from the unit above in the form of water coming through our bathroom light fixtures and ceilings. We called up the after hours staff to report it and you would have thought i asked her to walk the mountain and not just from building four to the office. Once again, excuses and "i guess i can have maintenance look in the morning". Add on to this that the back porch is rotted, black mold in the edges of the bath that we discovered thanks to my son and the joy of a shower door that is self removing due to lack of attachment and the picture becomes clearer. Oh i forgot to mention that the shower door, when it decided it was time for its own vacation, also decided to take a small piece of my finger and some blood with it, who knows, it might get lonely on the trip onto my foot. I contacted my booking agent and they contacted the office as i got almost nowhere speaking to the front desk staff and they stated she (front desk staff) was refusing to issue a refund because i had not complained enough to her. Also the ceiling in the master bath shows definitive proof of this water issue being ongoing as the joints are separating and falling down. Save your money, time, and patience don't book here. Unless of course you want to experience the wonderful view from your own personal pseudo-slum environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank armora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I went down to The Summit and spent a great family weekend on May 2nd and our absolute favorite thing about The Summit was the breathtaking views of the Smokies, it was beautiful! The ERA staff were very helpful and friendly and the condo was very comfy and had a homelike atmosphere! The only thing bad I can say is that there was no elevator in the building so it would be hard for anyone handicap to access and the pool and hot tubs closed to early for us to enjoy when we came back in at night! All in all we had a wonderful weekend in the Smokies and loved The Summit and especially it's breathtaking views!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a beautiful place we love it . The view was excellent . It was hard to fine . The road was a bit dangerous but well worth the trip up once you got there. The staff was very friendly and helpful . The inside pool was small but hat to hot tubs, nice outside pool. We seen 3 bears. Which thrilled the children. We had a two bedroom full living and kitchen . Everything was clean and neat. . They even had grills for cooking out. which we used that were keep nice and clean.
I would give it 9.7 out of ten.

Room Tip: It would not be good for people with handicap due to steps at most every entrance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Building 6 had great views. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even saw a couple of bears. The drive up the mountain isn't bad after a couple of times. Rooms were clean. Condo was fully furnished. They are not brand new but they are nice and cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed at 2 different condos here and have enjoyed both of them. They were fully stocked and had everything we needed. The drive up is not that bad, you get used to it after a couple of times. The grounds of the condo are very well kept and clean as well as the pool areas. For all of the not so good reviews on here, I guess it depends on who you rent from. We rented from 2 individual owners and had a great experience with them. And as expected the view can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank puravida92797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The drive to the top is scary and dangerous. Do not attempt this drive at night or in bad weather unless you are very experienced with steep and narrow roads.
Only selected building units have a view. We were in building #3 and had no view. The only views are from building 7 and 8. The rooms were not very clean. The water pressure is very strong and painful when you take a shower. If you don't stay in the upper floor, you will hear everything above you. Missing dishes and silverware and a can opener that did not work. Finally, you are a good 1/2 hour from all the attractions in Gatlinburg. Stay in a good hotel in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 77 in Gatlinburg
479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 77 in Gatlinburg
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing