We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit of Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We rented a 2 BD condo through our TAN vacation package and overall we were very please. Our 7 and 9 year old each had their own twin bed in one room and we had our own BD. The drive up was fun is you like slow, winding roads and beautiful roads. Once you get the the top it's nice to stroll around the property and see how high up you are. As for the condo, the bathrooms rented through TAN needs a little updating. They are both sound, but getting pretty ugly. The kitchen was small but totally workable. They didn't have enough utensils and could spend a few more dollars updating it as well.

We were on the first floor right across from the pool (which was clean) and although the indoor pool and hot tub had a bit too much chlorine in them, they were still FUN for a quick dip with the kids. Just remind them NOT to open their eyes under water.

The town of Gatlinburg was very nice. Busy enough that you weren't bored but quaint enough that it still retained some small town charm. Lots of little things for the kids to do for a day or two and then you can spend some time in the National Park that is right there. We did a horseback ride and some hiking. Also, check out the aquarium in town. It was surprisingly awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
90
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Was very beautiful views. We had 2 rooms that greatly accommodated our large family. The area was beautiful. The drive up the mountain was what you would expect for something all the way up in the mountain. Once you drove up the mountain you did not want to drive back down. But the condo had an excellent kitchen with dishwasher and a full size refrigerator. The pool wasn't huge but was accommodating for our family. Also there were 2 hot tubs and a sauna and bathrooms in the pool area. The 3 bedroom condo was nice but be prepared for a lot of stairs. As long as you plan for a drive up a mountain and lots of stairs it is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Momof2gurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higginsport, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights there, it was ok, but old, fairly clean, Needs LOTS of money spent on it soon. We had a 3 bedroom unit, seems like it was 5301? rotten wood on the decks, the canapy over the decks was torn up, this place is showing it's age.

Bottom line, would we stay there again? Yes, the rates were great, and at night it was extremely quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank earlschieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here with a group of old college friends, one of whom has a TAN vacation package. We were in a two bedroom condo with pull-out sofa. Overall the place was nice, but the greatest part were the views! One of our last nights there we were able to see a bear who had worked his way up to a tree behind the office! We were all pretty excited as I had read reviews from other people who were able to catch a glimpse of bears and we had been on the lookout. One note to people considering the place, speak with some locals before heading up to the property on the best way to get there. Our GPS took us up some very steep roads the first few times until one of the people in my group spoke with a lady at the local arts and crafts co-op store who told us about the "easier for tourists route" up the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JhFithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've read several reviews on this property before booking it. My family of 4 stayed in a studio w/loft. It was plenty of room. The two boys loved being in the loft and had a great time just playing on the spiral staircase. The decorations looked as if they had went to the goodwill and just got a bunch of nick nacks and put in there. The overall property was very nice, quiet and worth going back to. The only down fall i had was the 3 flights of stairs to get to our room. The drive up was steep, but not to terrible, If you want 5 star service and accomidations... this isnt it. But for a family on a budget, I would reccomend this property!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Spent a week on a TAN vacation. Studio apt was big enough for the two of us. Trips up and down the mountain were steep & windy but as bad as some reviews indicate. View was spectacular, weather great. Playing Gatlinburg Golf Course was challenging and fun. CON: traffic jams the norm and wall to wall people on the sidewalks. Oh, and we didn't get to see a bear.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrLarry920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the summit for new years. The drive up is a little scary but once you are there the view is worth it. The room was clean and was perfect for my fiance and myself. We are thinking of coming back with some friends next time. Overall it was a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcems327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#26 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#50 of 84 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.3 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Property: The Summit of Gatlinburg
Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing