We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We rented a 2 BD condo through our TAN vacation package and overall we were very please. Our 7 and 9 year old each had their own twin bed in one room and we had our own BD. The drive up was fun is you like slow, winding roads and beautiful roads. Once you get the the top it's nice to stroll around the property and see how high up you are. As for the condo, the bathrooms rented through TAN needs a little updating. They are both sound, but getting pretty ugly. The kitchen was small but totally workable. They didn't have enough utensils and could spend a few more dollars updating it as well.

We were on the first floor right across from the pool (which was clean) and although the indoor pool and hot tub had a bit too much chlorine in them, they were still FUN for a quick dip with the kids. Just remind them NOT to open their eyes under water.

The town of Gatlinburg was very nice. Busy enough that you weren't bored but quaint enough that it still retained some small town charm. Lots of little things for the kids to do for a day or two and then you can spend some time in the National Park that is right there. We did a horseback ride and some hiking. Also, check out the aquarium in town. It was surprisingly awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Was very beautiful views. We had 2 rooms that greatly accommodated our large family. The area was beautiful. The drive up the mountain was what you would expect for something all the way up in the mountain. Once you drove up the mountain you did not want to drive back down. But the condo had an excellent kitchen with dishwasher and a full size refrigerator. The pool wasn't huge but was accommodating for our family. Also there were 2 hot tubs and a sauna and bathrooms in the pool area. The 3 bedroom condo was nice but be prepared for a lot of stairs. As long as you plan for a drive up a mountain and lots of stairs it is a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Momof2gurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights there, it was ok, but old, fairly clean, Needs LOTS of money spent on it soon. We had a 3 bedroom unit, seems like it was 5301? rotten wood on the decks, the canapy over the decks was torn up, this place is showing it's age.

Bottom line, would we stay there again? Yes, the rates were great, and at night it was extremely quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank earlschieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here with a group of old college friends, one of whom has a TAN vacation package. We were in a two bedroom condo with pull-out sofa. Overall the place was nice, but the greatest part were the views! One of our last nights there we were able to see a bear who had worked his way up to a tree behind the office! We were all pretty excited as I had read reviews from other people who were able to catch a glimpse of bears and we had been on the lookout. One note to people considering the place, speak with some locals before heading up to the property on the best way to get there. Our GPS took us up some very steep roads the first few times until one of the people in my group spoke with a lady at the local arts and crafts co-op store who told us about the "easier for tourists route" up the mountain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JhFithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've read several reviews on this property before booking it. My family of 4 stayed in a studio w/loft. It was plenty of room. The two boys loved being in the loft and had a great time just playing on the spiral staircase. The decorations looked as if they had went to the goodwill and just got a bunch of nick nacks and put in there. The overall property was very nice, quiet and worth going back to. The only down fall i had was the 3 flights of stairs to get to our room. The drive up was steep, but not to terrible, If you want 5 star service and accomidations... this isnt it. But for a family on a budget, I would reccomend this property!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Spent a week on a TAN vacation. Studio apt was big enough for the two of us. Trips up and down the mountain were steep & windy but as bad as some reviews indicate. View was spectacular, weather great. Playing Gatlinburg Golf Course was challenging and fun. CON: traffic jams the norm and wall to wall people on the sidewalks. Oh, and we didn't get to see a bear.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrLarry920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the summit for new years. The drive up is a little scary but once you are there the view is worth it. The room was clean and was perfect for my fiance and myself. We are thinking of coming back with some friends next time. Overall it was a great trip!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcems327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 78 in Gatlinburg
471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#37 of 78 in Gatlinburg
497 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing