We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit of Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've read several reviews on this property before booking it. My family of 4 stayed in a studio w/loft. It was plenty of room. The two boys loved being in the loft and had a great time just playing on the spiral staircase. The decorations looked as if they had went to the goodwill and just got a bunch of nick nacks and put in there. The overall property was very nice, quiet and worth going back to. The only down fall i had was the 3 flights of stairs to get to our room. The drive up was steep, but not to terrible, If you want 5 star service and accomidations... this isnt it. But for a family on a budget, I would reccomend this property!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
92
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Spent a week on a TAN vacation. Studio apt was big enough for the two of us. Trips up and down the mountain were steep & windy but as bad as some reviews indicate. View was spectacular, weather great. Playing Gatlinburg Golf Course was challenging and fun. CON: traffic jams the norm and wall to wall people on the sidewalks. Oh, and we didn't get to see a bear.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrLarry920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the summit for new years. The drive up is a little scary but once you are there the view is worth it. The room was clean and was perfect for my fiance and myself. We are thinking of coming back with some friends next time. Overall it was a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcems327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

If you are looking for a great value property this is it! Condos are small but arranged well and views from the property are unmatched. Steep drive in winter but close to Ski area and accessible to downtown Gatlinburg with a short drive. Staff is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizbethann34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My family of 12 stayed in 2 condos at the summit for 9 days. Granted we stayed in 2 that were in our time share, so they did have some problems that didn't reflect on the Summit. First off, take the time to THINK ABOUT WHERE YOUR ARE STAYING! Your in the mountains. duh..soooo. the drive is straight up, scary, rough driving, and a longgggg way from town and the action..Now....That is what I loved about it. The serentity was awesome, the views from the parking lot and surrounding areas were breath taking and the bears came right to the side door of our condo. So word of advice, DON'T BE OUT IN THE PARKING LOT AT NIGHT! We stayed next to the outside pool and we watched them each night while we were there. I am 41 and thought this to be the most awesome thing about the trip except for the snow capped mountain top that jumped out at me when we got there. The pool was nice but it was terribly hot in there from the overly hot hot tubs. We had 6 kids with us and they had a blast. So if you want to be close to town, don't like rough driving or have a low powered or non 4x4 vehicle and don't mind it being dated in some units, then don't stay here. If you want peace, quiet, calm, nice breezes, privacy, and nice helpful people then this is the place for you. It is not the ritz, but we enjoyed it tremendously. My husband and I would stay again, although we will probably not due to the fact that we liked being more convienant in town with the kids. The only real problem I had with it was the drive, but we knew what we were in for and the onsite laundry facilities dryers didn't dry well and used alot of quarters to dry my clothes. Otherwise, great for honeymooners or for people that just want to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view but not far from the indoor pool. If you get a ground floor unit, most of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just returned from Gatlinberg and the fall was brilliant such beauty the view from the summit was fantastic. we have been staying there for our trips for about 15yrs and it is getting older but still very nice each unit is indivually owned some take better care than others, check your unit before unpacking and if not happy request another.

Room Tip: check your unit before unpacking if not satisfied request another, the staff is very helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eubank, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

My little family have come to the Summit off and on for the last 15yrs. It is a trade off. By no means is it quick and easy to get to. However once you are there all that you hear is yourself making a "Sigh or relief". You do not hear crowds or feel that need to escape that is often felt in touristy areas. The condos are smaller and older than what you see these days but they have a very "at home" feel. When you make your dinner and are sitting with your balcony door open watching the sunset over the beautiful smokey mountains you fall in love. You forget the little creaks in the door, small wear in your carpet etc. The indoor pool area has a smallish pool and two hot tubs that are indeed hot. There is an outdoor pool as well as a sauna. The club house has a laundry and small game room (small being the main word). Using your GPS to get to the summit will get you lost as it has us many times. Ask the main desk to mail you their directions as they truly are the simplest. This last visit in June, I videotaped a resident black bear on grounds. He seemed pretty at home and visitors are strongly urged to not feed them.
Pros: Beautiful grounds and scenery (building needs painted and some amenities updated.)
Super nice staff that are quick to respond, family atmosphere as most partiers will not
travel that far.
Cons: The drive up and down the mountain. In the dark it can be quite confusing. Get your groceries on the way up.

Recommendations: Pigeon Forge for breakfast at the Old Mill or The Applebarn.

Room Tip: I recommend Homeaway.com to book your stay. there are always specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank getaway_girl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
2.0 mi away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#44 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
2.4 mi away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Property: The Summit of Gatlinburg
Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing