We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! Clean, great view of the river!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I really dont understand the extremely mixed reviews on here. We knew this was an older hotel, but I had wanted to stay here for years for the nostalgic charm and the baclonies over the river. We saw a great rate posted and decided to go for it despite some of the reviews posted. We were not disappointed at all;in fact we loved staying here. Our room was in the original building, it was spotless, smelled great, the bed was super comfy. We literally had no problems- the tile floor in the bathroom was even heated!! We loved the balcony over the river and slept with the screen door open.- We were here during snow melt so the river was up and the flow was beautiful! We will def make this a part of our yearly stay! If you have any questions I will be glad to answer them through TA message, b/c I would def recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparklejoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 309 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

The first room we stayed in had moldy food in the fridge and on the floor,k they switched us rooms where the ceiling in the shower fell on me, the third room they put us in smeeled like sewer and the fridge didnt work at all, the manager declined any help and after speaking to the owner he agreed to refund saturday nights stay. after we left they
actually refunded the lesser of the three night stay. This is an awful hotel its dirty, outdated and falling apart.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was our second (and third) stay at Rocky Waters and it was as enjoyable as the first. It's a little outdated but that is part of the charm...getting away from the cookie cutter chain hotels. We spent 2 nights in a king/fireplace room in the building off the main street on the first leg of our trip and it was nice but doesn't compare to the charm of the main street building. We had to make a second stop in Gatlinburg at the end of our trip and got the jacuzzi/fireplace/king room in the building on the main street and we loved it! The rooms were clean and comfortable. With a nice fire and the window open over the river you hardly notice you are on the main street. We would definately stay again, if we can stay in the building on the main street. LOVED room 140. The off season rates can't be beat

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP2sAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

we booked a room 2 months in advance we arrived and microwave and fridge did not work...screen on back door was torn out ..back door glass was nasty had face prints and lip prints all over it ..carpets were so dirty our sockd were black...and the place just stunk then we found mold all over the wood under and around the fridge...called and wanted another room or money back at 11 oclock at night gave us a new room didnt offer us a sorry or a free night nothing for our trouble mind u had to move our sleeping 2 year old around thru this!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foxbryan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. The staff was very nice at check-in. The property is an older property but still in fairly good condition. Upon entering the room, it was clean. We checked the mattresses and there were no sign of bugs. The room is also a bit dated with minor maintenance problems, but again, very clean, which is the most important thing for us. I would describe the room as rustic. The walls are lined with wood, there is a private balcony, and I feel like it hasn't changed much since the 70's. The heat worked well, the wireless internet was quick and easy to connect to, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and well lit. The room is right off the main road, but once you get in the room, you don't hear much noise. It is a bit of a walk to downtown, but not too bad. Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicNonbelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Decor was outdated. The bed was unusually high and bouncy. The tile in the bathroom floor was buckled and uneven. Things just appeared to be generally not well maintained. The hotel is in a part of town where a lot of businesses have closed. You have to walk some distance to get to the heart of Gatlinburg's business district.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAS-PGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Rooms were outdated with vingcard locks and old furniture. Traffic noise was deafening, Staff was very rude and desk clerk made the comment that she could not believe that we got the room for what we did, she would have quoted us much more. You have to walk to a separate building for the continental breakfast which consisted of a muffin or a biscuit and was not worth the walk. The pool was gross. The hottub that someone had commented on before had been boarded up. The view over the creek was directly above the sewer line that ran along the side. For $115 a night, we could have done much better and we have before. We decided to sleep in the car next time before staying there again. lol

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annanbobbyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gatlinburg on the River
0.9 mi away
Belle Aire Motel
Belle Aire Motel
#68 of 78 in Gatlinburg
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#69 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Waters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Waters Motor Inn

Address: 333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4963
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $45 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Waters Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky Waters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Waters Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Hotel
Rocky Waters Gatlinburg
Rocky Waters Inn Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing