We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“The Highlands is the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Atmore, AL
1 review
“The Highlands is the best!”
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I have been to the Smokies several times a year since the 80's. In the last ten years we have stayed only at The Highlands. Though is is not an over-the-top elaborate resort, it has everything we need: Comfort, cleanliness, location and the absolute best view anywhere in the mountains. You can watch the Ober Gatlinburg tram go by, and enjoy the sunrise and sunset. We have stayed at fancier places, but we have never enjoyed ourselves any more than here!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiecatAtmore_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I would like to express how much my husband and I had such a wonderful stay at the Highlands. We have been to Gatlinburg numerous times in the past few years and have stayed at a different location each time...just wanting to experience it all and see who had the best accommodations. Well we have found the one place we will ALWAYS stay everytime we go....The Highlands...We will never stay anywhere else. The staff is wonderful...Kudos to Howie...he is awesome...My husband and I decided to get married in Gatlinburg and when we found the location we wanted it was at the Highlands...We were told that in order to get married there...with the wonderful view of Mt. LaConte...that we would have to stay there for at least one night...we ended up staying 4 nights...and didn't want to leave...The room was awesome...clean...comfortable...and boy, what a view...you felt like you could reach out and touch the mountains...they seemed that close...Just wanted to say "Thank You" to the Highlands for making a special day a VERY special day.....and an awesome stay... We will be back for more...and more...Lifers in Dayton, OH

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttzukoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This is absolutely the best place we have ever stayed in Gatlinburg! I have been coming
for years and have always stayed in hotels to be close to downtown. But after this, I
will never again!! The views are amazing, our condo was clean and decorated so nicely
with all the amenities I could want! Everyone was so friendly, and there wasn't alot of
noise, so it was like your own private oasis! I can't rave enough about this place! I am
ready to go back, and we will on our next trip!

  • Liked — The view, location and the condo amenities
  • Disliked — The steep drive up, but was worth it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lairehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We drove 10hrs and stayed at the Highland condos in a two bed, two bath from 8/25 - 8/29. Very friendly front desk staff. Our room was more than we ever expected. Very clean and smelled great too. Our unit was fully equipped with cooking utensils and appliances (baked my husband a birthday cake). We even had a washer and dryer. Did not get to use the pool due to rain, but looked clean. The view, in my opinion, was better than any view you could get in town. Location was perfect too. Very quiet and secluded , yet close enough to town, and easy to get to the mountains. We will definately be returning.

  • Liked — Modern decor, clean room
  • Disliked — dusty exterior.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BabblingBr00ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed at the Higland Condominuims for four nights in one of their two bedroom units. The unit was fabulous and more than they had promised! It was very spacious, spotless, and decorated down to wall decor in the giant master bath. There was more than sufficient storage. We were able to unpack and store all of our clothing and toiletries. What a treat that was. We found staying at the Highland Condos to be a very relaxing experience. Our huge balcony had the beautiful view they had promised of the Smoky Mountains. At night, the lights of Gatlinburg enhanced the view as they twinkled in the distance. We cooked in quite a bit, as one could see the Smokies while cooking and we ate at the outdoor table on the balcony. We swam and hot-tubbed several times a day in the very well-maintained pools and hot tubs. And, the condos were literally minutes away from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, where we hiked every day. I do not want to neglact to mention the very cordial and helpful staff. We are alrady planning a return trip and we are even considering ownership. This is absolutely the best place to stay while in Gatlinburg.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank drdonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Pluses

1. Very very clean accomodation
2. Nice family get away. Kitchen was very well equipped
3. There was a whirlpool in the bedroom. It seemed as bit rusty but its OK.
4. Excellent...really excellent view from the balcony.
5. Close to Gatlinburg downtown (around 2.0 miles)

Minus
1. Internet connection not available in individual rooms
2. Location was confusing - there was no sign board and the GPS / Google/ Map quest all indicated incorrectly.
3. Being a hilly road, expect a few more lights to be set up along the road.

  • Liked — View from the balcony
  • Disliked — No internet access in the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickles1NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighlandsCondos, owner/manager at The Highlands Condominium, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Although being bordered by the Great Smoky Mountains National Park has it's advantages, it also has it's disadvantages.
Thru federal law we cannot put any advertisement within the park boundries.
We apologize for any inconvience and hope that you'll return to The Highlands on your next visit to the Gatlinburg area.
Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

This was our first summer vacation staying at the Highlands, recommended to me by a friend who also stayed there recently. The condo itself was clean, roomy, comfortable,very nicely decorated.A full size washer and dryer in the unit was much appreciated.We had a large balcony with comfortable furniture that extended from the living room to the master bedroom with a beautiful view of the mountains overlooking Gatlinberg. Beautiful view both day and night with the lights in the distance. Was wonderful to have breakfast soaking in the morning view. Quiet - away from the hustle and bustle.A short drive down the mountain to the Smoky Mountain Natl Park Visitor Center and also to the Gatlinberg shopping area. What we liked best were seeing an occasional bear in this area and other wildlife, also enjoying the hot tub which also has a beautiful mountain view. The staff was very helpful and friendly.We spoke to other families there who commented to us that they have stayed there year after year. Would highly recommend as the perfect family getaway! We'll be back!

  • Liked — The view ! The view ! The view !
  • Disliked — I can not think of anything negative to say!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky1Cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Gatlinburg Inn
Gatlinburg Inn
#7 of 78 in Gatlinburg
891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing