We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Our anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We discovered the Highland's Condominium several years ago when we were looking for a honeymoon location. What sold us and why we come back every year is the terrific location in the mountains overlooking Garlinburg. It is a great place, the staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The price is very reasonable compared with the hotels in Gatlinburg proper. We would recommend it to all who are interested in the Great Smokey Mountain experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for The Highlands Condominium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 440 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have visited The Highlands at least 10 times in the last 20 or so years. We have always been
greeted by friendly people and have enjoyed out stay in such a beautiful location.

We just recently left The Highlands after a 5 day trip there. The man at the desk when we checked in was very rude. I tried discussing the fact that we were not in the condo we rented online and he basically told me if you don't like it here's your money and you can just leave.

Please understand our unit which was 209 was clean. The furnishings are comfortable but old and out of date. This is unit has nothing but your basic needs. There are no games, there are no movies, and no extra's whatsoever. The office was nice enough to give us some coffee filters.

We had to get a replacement toaster after making a breakfast for 4 and having to hold the button down for each piece of toast we made. The dryer in unit 209 does not work. I let the people know it wasn't working they said they would fix it and it never worked.

I used to love the Highlands and couldn't wait to get back for a visit. After my experience this time I am going to seriously look for a new destination in Gatlinburg, TN

Room Tip: Ask the staff what unit they would recommend. Ask about amenities. We have stayed in units that had...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wow! This place is so awesome. I have been coming to the Smokies for years and just found this place last year when planning our wedding. What a blessing! The staff is wonderful, the condos are awesome , and the view is unlike any. Gorgeous! We chose Highlands grounds last year for our wedding ceremony. Even thought it rained us out it could not have been more perfect. We decided to come back this year to celebrate and were blessed with unit 413. It just happened to be the unit that backed up to the wedding site. All we had to do is walk out the door and soak up the beauty of the Smokies. Absolute breath taking view. It is only minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. Be sure to take a trip to Cades Cove and the Motor Nature Trail ! You might get lucky and see a Smokey Bear :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I Honeymooned at the Highlands, more that 15 years, ago. We have tried to get back there, at least a couple times per year. We have stayed in many different rooms and have never been disappointed!! All of the rooms are current with great maintenance and housekeeping staff. We love the pools - and especially the indoor Hot Tub and Sauna!! We also spend some time in Gatliburg when we're there - although we prefer the quiet of the Highlands. Can't wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: Look at the Highlands website - where you can view all of the rooms and great views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We absolutely LOVE the Highlands Condos!!! We have been staying here for vacations for the last eight years and have always enjoyed every visit! The staff is very welcoming and friendly! All the condos we stayed in were very cleansed well furnished. I love waking up in the morning and seeing the view from the balcony, it is awesome! We were just there in August for our 35th anniversary and had a wonderful time. We are going back in October and I can't wait!!!

Room Tip: All units we have stayed in were wonderful!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ladybugsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

...so much we stayed a second time. We loved The Highlands so much 3 years ago when we went to Gatlinburg, we decided to stay there again this year. The condo complex and the condos were very well kept. What you see on their web-site as far as pictures for the rooms...that is what you get. Everything is clean! The views are AMAZING!!! The pool area and the locker rooms are clean also, and how much better can it get than to sit in the hot tub and look out at the mountains!! The staff is very professional and friendly, always there to answer any questions.This location reminded us of our home in Europe, so we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I chose The Highlands Condominium after reading several recommendations online. The property did not disappoint! The interior of our unit (#411) was newly renovated and perfect for 2 people. It was very clean, no bugs, and comfortable. The grounds are very well maintained. There were other guests around us but our stay was still quiet and serene. We loved that there is a nearby route (Gatlinburg Parkway Bypass) that bypasses downtown Gatlinburg for quick entry into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you want to be close to Gatlinburg but not in it and enjoy beautiful views at an affordable price, I highly recommend The Highlands Condominium.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julietelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#9 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $139 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing