We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Beautiful view!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful view!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My entire family (kids, siblings, parents, aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, and grandmother have been staying at The Highlands for 8 years. We absolutely love it there!! The staff is wonderful and the the rooms are great! We have stayed in all 3 locations and we love them all! I think my favorite is room 505, the view from the balcony and the master bedroom is breathtaking! We plan on staying again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heart In Texas But Body In Central Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a great place to stay. During our visit we experienced a nice and quiet condo which two couples enjoyed very much. The pool and hot tub was available pretty much every time we wanted to use it. I would recommend this place if your looking for some peace and quiet. The staff there was very helpful to our needs. All you need to do is ask
The view from our balcony in the early morning was fantastic to absorb while drinking our morning coffee.
During our stay here it appeared that nobody else was there it was so quiet. However, during the day everyone would begin their journey in activities which are all within easy driving distance. 4 miles max.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family was looking for a place to stay away from the congestion of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Highland Condo's were great. We hike, shop, site see all day and had a place to relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Call and check for updated condos before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in Unit 309 the last week of June in 2013. It was a special trip for my mother who was diagnosed with Stage IV cancer prior to going. The Highlands is a wonderful treasure hidden up on the mountains overlooking Gatlinburg. Our Unit (309) was very nicely decorated and felt really warm and welcoming. The condos were only moments away from the Gatlinburg by-pass and getting to both the National Park and Pigeon Forge was a snap. We really enjoyed watching the aerial tram to Gatlinburg go up and down as we swam or sat on our balcony and we enjoyed the view back from the tram to the condos as we journeyed to Ober Gatlinburg. Wonderful place and so close to everything right in Gatlinburg. We will definitely be coming back and this place will always hold a special memory of our family and the time we got to spend with our mom.

Room Tip: The three bedroom units in the higher buildings offer an exceptional view of Gatlinburg and the grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family of 3 recently stayed at the Highlands in unit #410. The complex is built in different phases and the unit we stayed in had a great view of the Mountains and downtown Gatlinburg. We were very happy with the location, quiet with great views but close to the park and town. If you check out their website you can view pictures of the different units. The view is what sold me on unit #410 and it did not disappoint! It would have been nice to have a table outside to eat if you would like to but there are 2 chairs and an end table so we made it work.

#410 is a ground floor unit so we could access the yard, where my husband and son enjoyed throwing the football. The large walk in shower with 2 showerheads and body spray was also very nice. My son slept on the pull out sofa. The mattress was a little thin and springs were poking him in some spots so I just double up a blanket for him to sleep on which seemed to help. The master bed was pretty firm and comfortable.

The unit overall is very nice but did show a little wear and tear. Some burned out light bulbs, dusty wall fixtures, dings and scratches in the the paint. This by no means ruined our trip. When you are renting in such a busy vacation area these things happen. We did call the office to get a broom because I couldn't find one in the unit and we had crumbs on the hardwood floor after eating, which bothers me. We also told them about the lightbulbs and maintenance came to replace them the next day.

The staff in the office were friendly. We had no problems at check in and took advantage of their affordable 4 night special. We enjoyed using the pool a couple afternoons and it was never crowded. Overall we had a great trip and I would rent again off the Highlands. I might try a two bedroom next time so we don't have to mess with the pull out. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelltnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been coming to the highlands for over 20 years. Love the location. Quiet site in the mountains but close enough to everything. I love the views and the condo is always great. I will be back many more times!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I would like to give The Highlands a better rating, but it really did not measure up to our stay 2 years ago. The condos are individually owned so each is furnished and updated at the owner’s discretion, which means the units vary greatly. The condo we were in 2 years ago had not been updated, but was well maintained and clean. This time the unit we were in had a few updates, but was not as well maintained. There was something splattered on the bathroom wall, the bathroom fan didn’t work, the tub was dirty and most of the furniture was either older or well worn. On the plus side the kitchen was clean and the view was phenomenal. We go to the Smoky Mountains for the hiking not the resort, but it is nice to come back to a clean room where you can relax and get a good night’s rest. We just didn’t find it this time. I wouldn’t rule out staying at The Highlands in the future, but we would definitely choose a nicer unit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsehj4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 78 in Gatlinburg
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing