We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Comfortable & Convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Convenient”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Highlands

My husband & I stayed in a two story condo for a week- unit 506. The first thing we noticed was the spectacular view of the mountains & downtown Gatlinburg. The balcony had a table & 4 chairs. It was mostly quiet, but we could hear traffic from downtown at times.

The condo was nicely decorated & clean, but not immaculate. The kitchen had a fair amount of cookware, etc, but there was only one oven mit & no pot holders. If you're planning on cooking daily, bring extra detergent for sink/dishwasher & trash bags. There wasn't a washer/dryer in this condo so we used the coin operated one in the building across the street to wash personal items. It was pretty dirty & needed some attention. On the bright side, we put dirty towels in a basket outside the door daily & they swapped them out for fresh ones. I don't think the other buildings have this privilege because they have a washer/dryer.

The master bedroom/ bathroom were lovely. The king sized bed was very comfortable & the hot tub was a treat after a long day of hiking. Really enjoyed the walk in shower also. It was quiet inside. A couple times we heard our neighbors goin up/ down the stairs in their condo.

The wifi isn't the best, but it'll do. It works better outside on the balcony.

Overall, we really liked staying there. It was comfortable & convenient. The positives definately outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babydoll1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed The Highlands very much. It was so peaceful and the view was fabulous from 402.The pool area was well maintained and our condo was emaculate. We will definetly stay at the Highlands again.
Dallas and Joanne Lilly

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Highlands for 25+ years. The location is great allowing a route through Gatlingburg and also there is a by-pass to Pigeon Force as well as thru the National park and on to Cherokee. We have used a one-bedroom condo when traveling as a couple, 2 and 3 bedroom condos when traveling with friends and numerous times traveled with our sons and their families for a Thanksgiving week occupying 4 three bedroom condos. The view is great, rooms are maintained, and the staff is knowledgable and very friendly. Needless to say this is one of our favorite locations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmickeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Condo was spacious, clean and location was convenient yet away from major traffic routes so it was quiet and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing said here can fully describe the view we had from our balcony. It was magnificent. We would definitely stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowRider57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved the location of the complex and spaciousness of our 2 bedroom condo. We were two couples sharing the unit and had lots of space. The amenities were great. While the unit could use a deep cleaning, over all it was clean. I am very fussy.  Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor for the best view. We had a room by the pool which was convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times going back at least 20 plus years. The owners have done a great job of maintaining the property. The view of the park is great. When the clouds roll in, you feel as if you are on top of the world.

Our unit was a single bed room. The coffee maker was used each morning as we watched the sun rise. Then it was a short ride down to Gatlinburg for breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rjrobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great stay! The room had a great view from of the Smokey's. The only complainant would be the sleeper sofa was not that great. Still a great stay nice Condo. You are close to the town but not in the town. If you go to town suggest you park at the Catholic Church as they are a couple blocks off the main strip in Gatlinburg for $5 and you have all day in and out privilege.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gatlinburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing