We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Great Match for our Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted the extra bathroom and the sofa bed offered in the two King bedroom condo #702, so our family of 5 booked with the Highlands rather than with a hotel for our 5 night stay in Gatlinburg. Unfortunately, the sofa mattress was HORRIBLE. My daughter slept on the floor one night and on the couch cushions the next 4 nights. The 2nd bath had a very nice jacuzzi tub in it, but it wasn't very practical for a family trying to get through showers and off to some of the local attrations each day. That bathroom had one door on it, and there was no door separating the bathroom from the master bedroom. Plus there was no shower curtain on the tub. So no one could pass through the bathroom to the bedroom; no one could be in the bedroom trying to sleep or dress or watch tv; and no one could use the sink or mirror if someone else was taking a shower. It hardly made that additional bathroom of use to our family. We've stayed in condos before, and just thought this one had a poor design. The sofa mattress should be replaced every so often, or it shouldn't be listed online as a place for 2 guests to sleep. Also, the two king mattresses in the bedrooms weren't in poor condition, but they were terribly soft and flimsy - not of very good quality nor very comfortable. We did like the kitchen and we liked the view. We were also happy to have a washer and dryer right in our condo, but they were the tiniest I've ever seen and we could only was 3 adult articles of clothing at a time! Not what I expected. It's not a terrible place to stay - it was a fair price and the staff was nice - but ask questions before you book. I would much rather have had an additional bed or blow up mattress, and a more practical 2nd bathroom for family use. Those were some of the family comforts we looked for in booking a condo over a hotel, and we didn't get them here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaA802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHighlandsCondos, Front Office Manager at The Highlands Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We always urge our guest to let the office know if there are any discreprencies with our guest unit.
We always strive to make each guest stay as enjoyable as we can.
We hope that you will visit The Highlands again.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 441 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at the Highlands and we love the place. We usually stay in the same 2 bedroom condo, but this time stayed in the 3 bedroom. I don't think we will ever be able to stay in the 2 bedroom now. It has lots of space. 3br and 3bath. The upstairs has its own quarters for watching tv and a table and chairs. It is very spacious. Some are decorated or updated better than others, but all are very clean which is most important for me, as I am a germaphobe!! The best of the best is the view. It is an incredible view of the Smokie Mountains and you can even see the skylift going up the mtn!
I highly recommend this property when staying in Gatlinburg. We will never stay anywhere else. To me it is much better than a cabin :)

Room Tip: They have each condo online, so you can look and decide for yourself. Book early though because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank annaw232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Highlands and we LOVE this complex for it's great location and views. This particular unit needed to have some updating, maintance and cleaning. We HAVE NOT had a problem in any other unit! The flooring in the kitchen was cracked linoleum which has seen far better days. There were EXTREMELY dusty fake floral arrangements that either need cleaning or to be replaced. 2 of the closet doors were off their sliders, 1 of the slidng patio door took serious effort to open. Several outlets in the unit DID NOT WORK AT ALL. We found this out the hard way after plugging in and attempted to charge our phones,laptops etc. There is NO tv in the 2nd bedroom which the owner wrote in the book maintance said can't be done but I'm sure it's a matter of expense. There is also only 1 hair dryer in the master. The bathroom floor was dirty the first day we got there. The first night I took a shower and picked up the bath matt to hand to dry the bottom of it was black. It was also very dusty and the mirrors were a mess too. Please know we have NOT had any issues in ANY other unit and will stay here again just NOT in this unit. We have stayed in 1 and 3 bedroom units and had nothing but positive stays but this unit was just not cared for as it should be.

Room Tip: Any unit but 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank inbevsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

These are the best rooms away from home. Fully equipped and lots of space.
We stayed there for 2 nights with another couple friend. It's located in the mountains and got a nice view of the park. Kitchen had all the appliances and utensils to cook and laundry was great too. The condo had some movie DVDs and books as well. It was just like home

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navdeepkapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our fifth trip to The Highlands. As always it was a great experience. The condos are clean, well stocked with everything you need. We started out with a one bedroom when there was just us, then moved up to a two bedroom as our family grew and this time, with grandchildren in tow, to a three bedroom. As always we were well pleased. The office staff is so friendly. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys stepping back and relaxing in a beautiful atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thompson757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHighlandsCondos, Front Office Manager at The Highlands Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about The Highlands. We strive to make sure that every guest stay is an enjoyable one. Thank you again.
The Highlands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The views were fantastic, the unit was very nice and the staff were extremely helpful. Even though we experienced rain, sleet and snow during our stay, we were still able to get around easily. I would highly recommend the Highlands!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely loved the complex, personnel was great. We stayed in unit #410. Great view! It was very nice and tastefully decorated, the only problem was the lack of storage and closet space. We were there for 4 nights so I had a lot of luggage and nowhere to store anything. I will definitely stay there again but maybe choose a different unit.

Room Tip: Most all the units in Phase III have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHighlandsCondos, Front Office Manager at The Highlands Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We apologize for the lack of storage space in your unit. These units are individually owned, so some of the furnishings are at the owners discretion. We will convey this issue with the owners and hope to remedy this situation. Thank you again for your feedback. We greatly appreciate it and hope you will return to The Highlands on your next visit to Gatlinburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg Historic Nature Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
10.7 mi away
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
Deer Ridge Mountain Resort
#8 of 52 in Gatlinburg
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Gatlinburg
Price Range: $139 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing