We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Birthday Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Trip”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We always stay at the Highlands when we come To Gatlinburg. We have never been disappointed. We have stayed in stayed in 5 different units. This trip we stayed in 605 . Recently updated with a beautiful kitchen & huge walk in shower. The property is well maintained & the management is great. The free fire wood provided in winter is a nice perk. Looking forward to next years birthday trip to the beautiful Great Smokey Mountains .

Room Tip: Look at pictures on line to see which units have recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Collegedale, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great condo. We loved the mountain views and being in the clouds at times! Also loved the wood burning fireplace and the free firewood! The condo is nicely decorated and very clean. Plenty of room, kitchen is updated and well equipped. Not far from downtown, enjoyed the quiet. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: This unit has 2 master bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chjohnsonrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, tenn
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I loved the one bedroom. It was very clean and beautifully decorated and fresh. The Christmas decorations were a nice touch. We also enjoyed the three bedroom and it was our second year to stay in this particular condo. We stayed in 303. 303 does need some updating, however. The wallpaper is coming off in both downstairs bathrooms, and the upstairs bathroom needs a little freshening up. The master bath sink as well as the second bathroom shower were stopped up and this needs looking into. The condo could use a broom and a few more items in the kitchen to help with cooking, such as a cookie sheet. But we loved the view and the layout. Fix these things and we will want to come back every year. Thanks, Pat Glenn

Room Tip: The one bedrooms are the newest and cleanest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I are regulars at the Highlands going back to the early '90's, now we visit as a family of 4. The location and views can't be beat, quiet "away from it all" feeling of the property while being just minutes away from all the attractions (close proximity to the bypass is an advantage on busy weekends/holidays).

Condos are always clean and well equipped, some are newly remodeled and all offer excellent views of the mountains and Gatlinburg below.

Another wonderful stay (11/19 - 11/24), Thank you Highlands!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MattH129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Excellent highly recommend!!!! You will enjoy it. Great view overlooking Gatlinburg, good price, excellent customer service, & very close to all the Gatlinburg attractions. Great getaway!!!!!
If you require space it seem that a two or three bedroom would be best. However the one bedroom is quaint and perfect for two. You will not be disappointed with this property.

The fireplace & free wood is a good touch. The free wi-fi, cable & friendly service is unmatched. I would highly recommend the Highlands for your next vacation!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnewbern701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Thirt time @ the highlands. Although we were only two couples, we stayed in a three bedroom unit #308.The price including tax, $607, for four nights, Nov. 16-20, did not keep us awake. It was a very comfortable and spacious unit. The view was spectacular as usual. Howie, at the front desk, arranged for an earlier checkin since the unit was not occupied. The management better give him a raise soon before Marriott grabs him. The weather was ideal, sunny, 55F, and no wind. Every day was the same. After hiking, we would return at 3 PM and have Happy Hour in the hot tub till 5:30. The tub is a very comfortable 100F, so a long dip was not a problem. Just a little hint, when you get out of the tub go to the sauna to dry off and change. We ate in twice and ate out twice. The restaurants in Gatlinburg are of typical resort town quality, and when you factor in the cost, rate 2 1/2 stars out of 5, as far as I am concerned, and that includes the restaurant that claims to be the world's best bar-b-que. We will be back next spring, if the world does not end, as the Mayan calander predicts.

Room Tip: For view, 3 br 301-305, 308-310, 2br 201-205,209-210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyMichiganJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We travel to mountains about 3 times a year... I noticed this condo on our last visit and wrote down the number.. I wanted to stay where you could look over the city of Gatlingburg so we could see all the lights.. It was amazing. You are in the middle of all the mountains, you can see the Ober Gatl. Tram go by... The fireplace was so romantic.. They provide the firewood.. It was quite cold at night, but we got in the outside hot tub. It was super nice. It was my birthday, so we went to Tn. Vols game and Dollywood... The Christmas exibits were out of this world.. Would highly recommend. We are going to stay here from now on...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GROOVY143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.7 mi away
Gatlinburg Inn
Gatlinburg Inn
#6 of 78 in Gatlinburg
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Vista - DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing