We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Awesome in every way!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Highlands Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome in every way!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just spent a long weekend in a 2 bedroom/2 bath condo/townhouse at The Highlands. Just a perfect place to get away. The condo had everything we could have possibly needed; was very clean and has one of the best views in the area. Sitting on the balcony or in the living room, you see downtown Gatlinburg and the expanse of the mountains surrounding the city. It was cool so we had a fire 2 nights and really enjoyed that. There is nothing like a real fire burning in the fireplace. The location of The Highlands is convenient to everything and so easy to get to. The office staff is friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev51786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    102
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
230
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Third time staying at the Highlands Condominium and found it to be just as awesome as ever. We recently stayed in the three bedroom condo. The view is amazing. The condo itself is updated, clean and spacious. We took advantage of the equiped kitchen and the washer and dryer which was located in our condo. The only concerns we had were with the elevator going up to our room. The door closes very quickly and ended up hitting my daughter. After this incident we caught on and always made sure that the first person in the elavator would quickly press and hold down the "Open Door" button, which did work. After staying at the Highlands on three seperate occasions, this would be the only concern we've ever had. We will definitely return to the Highlands in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Highlands is excellent is all areas. The value is amazing, the views are incrediable, the rooms are clean and the location is perfect!

The rooms look exactly how they are portrayed on the website. There is no clever picture angles that make it look better than it is. You can't find a better value with a full kitchen, fireplace, private balcony and large living area. The views were more breathtaking than I imagined. On previous trips we rented cabins, and The Highlands views and experience were much better!

We found the location more convienent and much more pleasant than anywhere else. In addition to the condo, the grounds are clean and well kept. The staff is also very helpful and friendly. We didn't know what to expect and The Highlands exceeded our expectations. I would recommend The Highlands to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had a great stay at the Highlands last week. Having the convenience of a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and distance from the tourist congestion on the main drag made our stay terrific! Although the condo we stayed in could have used updating it was certainly adequate. The balcony made up for any short comings. Lousy weather slowed us down but by no means stopped us. The Smoky Mountains are beautiful. The park is well maintained. I would love to go back and wouldn't think of staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the condos lowest on the mountain to avoid seeing parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great value for your money. This condo is only two miles from downtown Gatlinburg yet from front door and back patio, all you see is trees. Condo was a little dated but had big flat screen TV, full kitchen and washer and dryer. We especially liked the patio overlooking the pool and the Smokies. The pool and hot tub were a perfect end to the day.

We will definitely stay there again. Very quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Talk with the manager, she upgraded us from one to two bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Highlands is a great place to stay. My wife and I took our two kids (both under 3 years old) here and we could not of been happier. We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with an amazing view. All units also provide a wash machine, free internet, and a fully furnished kitchen. It became our home away from home. The staff was nice and helpful. Everything we wanted to do was less than 10 minutes away. Including the National Park entrance, Gattlinburg, and Pigeon Forge. We stayed there for 4 nights at a very affordable special rate we found on their website. I also like how you can pick which unit you want to stay at after viewing them all on their website. When ever our next trip to Gattlinburg may be, we will be staying at The Highlands again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I hesitate to give this review just because I would like to keep the Highlands our own family "find". I really can't say enough good about this condo...good price, management, very clean, comfortable (even the beds), quiet atmosphere, location hidden right off the bypass, and way cool views! Such a wonderful place, we will never look for anything else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMNTTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.1 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 78 in Gatlinburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlands Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlands Condominium

Property: The Highlands Condominium
Address: 855 Campbell Lead Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4325
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlands was severely damaged in the Gatlinburg wildfires on November 28. We are now in the process of rebuilding the Premier Condominium Development. This will be a brand new property and will be reopened as soon as possible. Hopefully within 18 months. Bordered on three sides by the scenic Great Smoky Mountains National Park, this luxurious venue offers 64 one to three bedroom, fully furnished condominiums with romantic stone fireplaces, private entrances, private balconies with panoramic views of Mt. LeConte and the Great Smoky Mountains, fully equipped kitchens, relaxing whirlpools, and private baths for every bedroom. On site amenities include two outdoor pools, a large sun deck, two saunas, two hot tubs, and an exercise room.Why Choose Highlands Condominiums for Your Gatlinburg Vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains? Incomparable Views! Our name says it all! The Highlands Condos are located in Gatlinburg's most prime location, surrounded by the National Park and near Ober Gatlinburg with direct access to downtown. Our views are genuine; breathtaking from each private balcony, it is guaranteed not to disappoint! Our location makes it possible to avoid Gatlinburg traffic by following the bypass to your comfortable condo awaiting you. Two beautiful outdoor pools overlooking Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park make your vacation a delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Highlands Condominium Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing