We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blending the old with the new”
Review of Gatlinburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatlinburg Inn
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
South Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Blending the old with the new”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Spent four nights here over the Memorial Day weekend. The facility deservedly boasts about its historic past while adding modern amenities such as wi fi and wide screen tv's. Clean and comfortable rooms and beds at a good price. Only thing the room lacked was an alarm clock and possibly a few more electrical outlets. The staff is outstanding--very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is probably the best around; offering everything a person could want and it's available
a little longer than advertised which is great. The location is also very good as its centrally placed
on the Parkway -- easy, short walk to all the area offers (which is alot!) Definitely would recommend to those who appreciate history and the beauty of "old" buildings and furniture.
Very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonijmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
jonijmk,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family this past Memorial Day! I hope that you guys will come back and stay with us again in the near future. Hopefully you can make it a family tradition at your home in the Smokies!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    222
    72
    30
    18
See reviews for
306
396
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Hello trip advisor readers, We are Mark & Becky from Indiana and we want to take the time to tell everyone about our recent stay at the Gatlinburg Inn on June 1st and June 2nd.

A mentor of mine taught me the purpose of a memory is to replay the past, and that a dream is to pre-play the future. The next generation of the Maples family is doing just that!

We both love to see history preserved and I must say that the Maples family would be proud to the changes that are taking place at this wonderful old hotel.

Since 1937 the family has built a reputation and a landmark in the area, we met Jack, one of the owners/grandchildren in the parking lot today and complimented him on the outstanding service of the staff and the progress of the early renovations that are taking place here.
American owned and operated cannot have a price attached to it!
I remember walking by this place when visiting with my parents in the early and mid 70's and admiring it, I'm now 47 and reminisce of my earlier years to the area.
The decor is a great reminder of the years past as well as the pictures on the wall in the main hall of it's earlier years and changes been through.

For those of you that say it's dated you would be correct, however they have been adding modern touches, new carpet, drapes, bedding, flat screen tv's and wireless internet are a few early ones. We heard the bathrooms are on the list too and cannot wait to see them finished.

Those of you that might have read reviews that it's noisy, get over it, we stayed in room 127 and heard creaks in the floor, faint sounds from above or next door, but that's the character and charm of an older 1940 something hotel.

We had a nice view overlooking the Sky Lift and the river road from our balcony last night and had the best nights sleep since being on the road since Saturday May 24th.
We felt like part of the family around the staff and owners.

For those of you that visited years ago I have to tell you that they now have a great hot breakfast served up daily, my advice is get up early and enjoy.
Take some time, sit on the front porch and enjoy the view and hospitality.

The hotel has served the area for many years and has been well maintained and is now seeing a metamorphosis that will preserve it's place hopefully for the next seventy plus years as a true Gatlinburg landmark!

Mark & Becky Eldridge

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rudy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
rudy045,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! I see you did your homework on us! It thrills me to see guests get so involved in the history of this grand hotel. It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! I hope that you will come and stay with us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We wanted to see the Great Smokies and take a hike in the park. Gatlinburg seemed the right location, just on the eastern boarder of the park entrance.

What separates two completely different worlds - Gatlinburg and the National Park - is the last traffic light in town. And what separates the Gatlinburg Inn from the rest of town is a big lawn surrounded by a boarder of well kept blooming rose bushes and a nice pool set back 30 yards or so in this parklike yard. Well, there is the large parking lot as well. But none of it is quite enough to remove the guests from the din of carnival like activity that lines the 4 lane blvd and sidewalks crammed with cars and people checking out the Ripley's Believe it or not, trinket shops, Mansion of Mystery (which is open until 11 and blasting the Adams Family Theme Song among other scary tunes) and a multitude of other retail and amusement vendors.
The Inn is clean and comfortable. You might need a reservation for a seat in one of the front porch rocking chairs. Folks are nice here. It is dated. I wish I could go back in time when the Inn was young and no one new anything about a Ripley's Believe It Or Not

Room Tip: try to get a room in the center of the building on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Neil F,
Thank you for your review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It thrills me to see that you were satisfied with every aspect of the hotel. We try our very best to be that safe haven for you in the center of Gatlinburg. A place that you can retreat from all the is going on in town and relax. I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again in the very near future!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at the Gatlinburg Inn. We were very pleased! The location is excellent- it's beside of the sky lift, a block from old smoky mtn moonshine & winery, shares a parking lot with Puckers bar, and across the street from Crawdaddys Oyster Bar. This is where you want to stay if you are looking for a motel that is in the middle of downtown Gatlinburg.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is very good. The rooms are very clean. The corner king with wraparound balcony is awesome and I would recommend staying in it (room 243). It has a view of the strip and the mountain behind.

The motel is old, but very well kept up. It's very charming. It has a nice pool and tennis courts. We will be staying here again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hellzbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
hellzbert,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host your family! You are not the first to mention how centrally located we are. I do believe we have the best location in town. Hands down! I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We normally book modern hotels for our US trips so were slightly concerned by the oldie-worldie comments from some reviewers and weren't sure what to expect. Absolutely love the place! If you are visiting Gatlinburg and are fed up with standardised, modern hotel, decor then this is definitely worth booking. Staff are excellent, breakfast choice is good and location, location, location! Just 100m off the main shopping strip but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Only thing I'd change is the 60's hard edged, cheap looking, slab sided, counter style desk area - I'm sure that something could be done for not a lot of money - maybe a touch of Art Deco, perhaps?

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CleishPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
CleishPark,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We appreciate you choosing us during your recent stay in Gatlinburg! It was our pleasure to host you and your family! I hope that you will come back and stay with us again very soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming to Gatlinburg for years and always wondered what this inn was like...wonder no more. Yes, it is dated in some respects, but that's what gives it character and a Nostalgic feel. It is very, very clean, and the king size bed was so comfy. But the biggest selling point is the personnel. They were so accommodating to my unusual requests. Great customer service and southern hospitality! And In the heart of Gatlinburg. We will be back and recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Randall T,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! It was our pleasure to host you and your family during your recent stay here in Gatlinburg! It's the reviews from customers like you that let others know just how great of a place this hotel is! I hope that you and your family will come back and stay with us again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We booked one night at the Gatlinburg Inn for a place to stay on our way home from Disney and a Cruise. I get a little obsessed choosing lodging sometimes and spent several hours trying to find the right place for our short visit. This Inn was everything other reviewers said and more. The charm and history and uniqueness were what drew me to it and it lived up to that in a big way. The hotel was perfectly clean. Old and nostalgic (you get a KEY to your room!) definitely, but it had everything we needed. Just being there felt comfortable and relaxed. And the staff was absolutely wonderful! We ended up moving our reservation ahead one day and Bunny took care of everything very easily over the phone while we were traveling up. When we got to the Inn around 8 p.m. the clerk was so nice and friendly and so was the clerk in the morning and the breakfast attendant. The free breakfast was very good and far and away so much better than a typical free breakfast you get in mass market hotels like Fairfields, etc.... The food tasted homemade :) Our only regret was staying just one night but we will definitely go back to Gatlinburg for a real visit and when we do I won't have to research hotels at all - I know right where will stay. Thank you for the hospitality!!

Room Tip: Check out the website - it seems a lot of the rooms are different and unique. Pick what suits your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25years5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, General Manager at Gatlinburg Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
25years5409,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Historic Gatlinburg Inn! We greatly enjoyed hosting you and your family here recently and we truely look forward to doing it again! I am glad to see that you were completely satisfied with your stay! I will pass your commendations on to my staff! We hope to see you again real soon!

Thanks,
Gary L. Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Creek Lodge
Old Creek Lodge
#7 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Inn

Property: Gatlinburg Inn
Address: 755 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Gatlinburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing